Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, UK

At a loss of previous reviews of The Emily Suites

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Apart from the room which was as depicted on the Expedia website nothing else.
Cons: Accurate pictures of facade and of view from guest room would be a good start.
Location: Reasonably located with train station 10 mins away. Or you could wave it down from the bedroom window (only joking).
We booked the Emily Suites as it was reasonably located in Sorrento, had great reviews and the photos looked good. Well how disappointed were we! Firstly we were dropped off by our taxi in the Esso forecourt. Lovely beginning. Secondly, the pictures of the Emily suite were of a different location and hotel facade, so we spent another 20 minutes trying to locate the building. In fact the Emily suites are on the third floor of a residential block which backed onto the Circumvesuvious train line which gave us a wonderful nighttime serenade. We could not close the windows as the air conditioning/climate control was noisy and we could not drop it any lower than 18c added to which the room was south facing so we had the full blast of the Sun's heat into the room for the whole day. Breakfast was brought to our room and was a simple affair, synthetic toasted ham and cheese sandwich, croissant, coffee, orange juice and assortment of jams. The noise from one of our neighbouring guests at 4.30am had my husband knocking on the door telling them to shut up. The bed was comfortable, which was fortunate as we spent most of the time awake due to the heat, noisy trains, noisy traffic and arguing guests. All in all a wonderful time had by all!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2014 by emily suites, Hotel Management
Dear customer, I am really puzzled by this comment: > 1) you have arrived earlier than expected and we have met with immense pleasure with a welcome cocktail! In addition, the Emily Suites is located in front of the distributor and it is really hard not to see our plate exposed on the outside of the building as we are not the only b & b. > 2) photos on the web do not reflect our rooms and the facade of the building being a b & b and see ourselves in the middle of all the services that we offer because we want our customers trascorrino a wonderful holiday and all Emily Suites in Sorrento! > 2) we chatted for a long time during your stay and I have never communicated the disruption of air-conditioned trains during the night do not pass and we are also equipped with double glazing and electric shutters to ensure the best sleep of our customers! > 3) Breakfast is on request at check in, we organize breakfast with customers according to their needs (eg, celiac, gluten free, or taste preferences) putting into account, however, that we are in Italy! > 3) adjacent to your room (blue room) it was a mother and a daughter who stayed only one night during your stay which have informed me of the 'statement that does not happen and I fought but they were talking quietly among themselves ! And it was not the 4:30 am! > 5) I remember, however, that we organized together with the surprise party at the restaurant for "Gaetano Wine true" with cake gift for her sister to celebrate the 70 th birthday where you have gone several times under my advice! I remember that You had booked two rooms together where the review done by the other members of the trip came out in contemporary and in fact expressed 5 stars! 6) Remember that you have left a message in the reception of greetings and thanks and left a tip in the room at the time of your departure. I really do not understand! In any way they apologize if you have not spent a holiday at home, we could arrange to put it in a way that suits your needs if you had expressed your opnionione during your stay. We will always try to improve and do our best to garentire our customers a happy and wonderful holiday in Sorrento and Emily Suites Sorrento!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Clean comfortable suites

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Spacious clean and comfortable.
Cons: Hand rail in shower
Location: Close to station so easy to get to Pompeii Herculaneum etc.
Emily suites is centrally situated in Sorrento, so no time was wasted getting to station, buses etc. Emilea and her staff were very kind and helpful to us and we would thoroughly recommend her suites to other travelllers to Sorrento.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by EK from Nottingham, UK

Great base for Sorrento stay

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The rooms were bright, airy and spacious. Really helpful owner.
Location: Location was good, on the main road so traffic was quite heavy but only a short walk to the pedestrianized area. Restaurants and harbours were nearby
I booked this apartment after having looked at both hotels and apartments in Sorrento. It looked spacious and modern which appealed and had great ratings - we are definitely in agreement with what other guests had said. Emilia picked us up from the Train Station after we got the bus transfer from the Airport and drove us back to the apartments, she gave us loads of advice on trips and restaurants/bars that we should try and everything that she suggested was absolutely spot on and we enjoyed it all; highlights were probably the boat trip to Capri - definitely worth it rather than just getting the ferry across and only seeing the island from a distance, we had a great day out on the boat and the whole island is stunning. Trattoria da Emilia was a wonderful fish restaurant that was recommended and also a visit to Villa Rubinacci is also definitely worth it. Breakfasts were great and Emilia went out of her way to check that everything was ok with us every day and to help us with things like booking of sunbathing spots or travel back to the Airport. She even brought us some of her homemade Limoncello as a leaving gift. Can't recommend enough - a really nice place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tania from Warwickshire

Nice BnB with a personal touch

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Location is good if you don't mind walking a bit - ca 10-15mins leisurely pace to main square and all restaurants nearby.
Cons: Breakfast was a little average and wifi could have been a bit faster.
Location: Sorrento and the bnb are a good base for exploring the rich culture that surrounds you there. All bars and restaurants are within walking distance
We arrived for an 8 night stay, by Circumvesuviana (didn't know it then that the bus would have been the much more comfortable option). As it says on Emily's website that the suites are only 300m up the road, off we went...30mins later we still hadn't found the place. It is much further up the road but Emily kindly came to our rescue and picked us up in front of the Michealangelo Hotel - she offers that service which is great when you don't know your way around yet. The rooms (3) are on the third floor of a residential complex, there is an old world lift if you don't fancy stairs. We were lucky to have been given the green room (there is purple and blue) as it comes with a balcony. Noise from the busy road below but still great to enjoy a cold beer in the evenings. The room itself was nice, with a huge double bed, TV (albeit not showing many other channels than Italian), a large sofa and a wardrobe. There is a kettle and tea but you have to ask for coffee. 1 safe. Emily delivers breakfast to the room every morning which is a nice touch. The latte macciato is delish! Not a great variety of food maybe but she will go out of her way to get you the stuff that you want; if I was to go back I'd insist on prosciutto and mozzarella instead of the chocolate cornetto and dry toast. Emily keeps the rooms v clean and overall, she is a v helpful hostess and the rooms are good value for money. Sorrento is quite expensive so it's a great alternative to other hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Debra from Canada

"AWESOME HOSTESS"

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Emily Suites. Emilia who runs this lovely little gem of a b&b met me at the bus stop and actually took the time to return a second time as my flight did not arrive on time. I have absolutely nothing negative to say about Emilia and Maria (housekeeper). I carry with me a lasting friendship and great memories of my stay. Emilia you're such a warm, caring and passionate person, you give it your all to ensure your guest are comfortable, you take the time to greet each guest every morning so that they make the most of their stay in Sorrento. You are a great ambassador not only of your fine establishment but that of your country. I thank you and Maria for providing me a wonderful breakfast every morning and taking care of me while away from home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ChrisA from London

Home from home

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff
Location: Fairly central
Emily suites is a very comfortable place to stay and Emilia goes out of her way to make sure that you are happy with everything. The continental style breakfast is served in your room each morning and there was certainly plenty of it and each day was a little different with various croissants, yoghurts and fruit etc. If you like somewhere that is very homely with the personal touch then you will enjoy Emily suites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, VA

As advertised.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Excellent location, extremely thoughtful and accommodating host. This was just as advertised, and we will recommend to friends for future visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Danica from Saskatchewan, Canada

I can't say enough!

Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Emily Suites is a fantastic little apartment-style place run by an incredibly nice group of people. The rooms are clean, functional, larger than most places we stayed in Italy, and beautiful. Breakfast is delicious, and the lady that brings it is super friendly. Amelia (the owner) and the rest of the staff all speak english very well, and were willing to help us at a moment's notice. We had some problems with our rental car after leaving Emily Suites; it was Sunday (so everything was closed), and we called Amelia because she was the only one we knew in the area. She came and picked us up ( about 40 minutes round trip), called the rental company for us, drove us back to the car to wait for the tow truck, and then helped us re-plan the rest of our trip. I recommend Emily Suites and Sorrento to anyone and everyone, and really just can't express enough gratitude to Amelia and her staff and family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TL from Chattanooga, TN

Nice little convenient BB

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Owner/family, location-right close by the main square but not in it so quieter. 15 min walk to center of town.
Cons: Mattresses were a bit too firm but not a huge issue for short stay.
Location: Train/bus station are less than 10 min walk-very convenient. Plenty of stores (food, restaurants, clothes) right around BB and close by
Stayed here 5 nights. We walked from the marina to the BB but it was a big walk, only because we chose to follow the road up the steep hill from the marina. There is a lift that will take you from marina to main road but signage to find it is poor. The BB is in a condo and there is a small elevator but we always take the steps. My luggage was lost and upon arriving, Emily's mother and father immediately got on the internet and the phone to the airport and airlines in attempts to speed things up finding it. She got us some answers and ultimately the luggage was delivered to the BB on the next day. The housekeeper is a super nice lady and she also fixes your breakfast which we kept very simple but they will prepare whatever you like. We briefly met Emily one day. The whole family is just super nice. We actually got to sleep in 2 rooms. We moved after the first night so they could accommodate a family. The blue room was my favorite, very roomy, nice window in the bathroom. We kept the windows open a lot. The train goes right by the back of the condo but I didn't really notice it. There is AC which worked fine too. There is a futon in the room, a fridge and a safe and a hot water maker for tea. The shower was good sized and everything is kept neat and clean. The location is great, just on the edge of all the town action so it's quieter but very accessible. There are still stores right up until you get there. There is a laundromat downstairs but rather expensive.