Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Book directly with hotel.

Posted Feb 16, 2014
I paid $30 more per night by booking through Expedia. WTH. Hotel is very basic but is fine.
2 out of 5
by family from TX from Austin, TX

Posted Dec 30, 2013
This motel was recommended in one of the traveller's books, we also looked at the pictures online, the motel pictures seem to be very nice, so we went ahead to book it online.But it turned out to be a very disappointing experience. First, after we put all our luggage into the room, my kids took off their shoes in the room and noticed that their socks started to get wet. I touched the carpets with hand and found out them were all wet, and there was a bad smell coming from the carpet. We immediately called the front desk, nobody answered the call, so my husband went to the lobby. He eventually got the key to a different room, and the answer to the wet carpet was that they shampooed it this morning. This motel offered free breakfast, so the next morning we went to the breakfast room. The choice was very limited. The drink machine was broken so there was no juice or milk.
1 out of 5
by Bryan from Albuquerque, NM

Never again

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: Nice courtyard.
Cons: It seemed the room hadn't been cleaned since the '70s.
Location: Decent walk to the plaza. Across the street from a grocery store. Close to food.
The front desk attendant was not very friendly (we were inconveniencing her while she was spending time with her boyfriend), and she sent us away to our room. The room was less than clean. The heating system was falling off the wall, the curtains were duck taped where there were holes, the lampshades on the walls (the two mounted on the walls next to the beds) had melted and never been replaced, one of the lamps did not even have a bulb, and the smoke detector was detached, hanging from the ceiling. The main, free-standing lamp was covered in dust and cobwebs with scattered holes in the lampshade; every single pillow was covered in stains, so I used my sweatshirt as a pillow instead (picture included); the carpet was coming up from the floor--there were holes in the carpet along the walls. There were hairs on the floor in the bathroom; there were stains in the bathtub (we did not shower during this stay...). The walls had stains and badly patched holes. Disappointing would say the very, very least.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Better places in town for same price

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Location: Close to town, but not really a good thing. Traffic was a problem blocking the parking lot making it difficult to get in and out.
The exterior of hotel is dreadful, huge potholes in parking lot, difficult getting in and out of parking lot, rundown looking. Inside the rooms are okay and clean. No fridge or hairdryers, lights very dim making room seem dark at all times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sapulpa, OK

Convenient location, friendly staff.

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Pros: With one bed, room was expansive, not cramped. All personnel were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: No microwave or small refrigerator equals a nuisance. But, we could get ice in the lobby. Wanted to reheat coffee, and make popcorn, but could not.
Location: A grocery store is across the street, a favorite fast food 2 blocks away, shopping at Taos Plaza is 5 blocks away. Good restaurants within 6 blocks.
Stayed in Taos as a "home base" this trip. Took day trips to Chama and Santa Fe. Beautiful area for photos at dusk and dawn, especially. Love New Mexican style Mexican food throughout the area.. No "Tex-Mex". Just like "left" and "right" in a car, I am used to to the same in bathtubs/showers. However, the hot/cold in the bathtub seemed backward to us. We even changed rooms, but finally discovered it was "operator error". (Cold, left; hot, right.) As with much of Taos, parking can be a little challenging. Finding the Indian Hills south driveway after dark requires close attention. It is near a traffic light but has no access to the side road. Not a problem, just a little odd. I learned after missing the turn only once. And driving to/from parking to lobby requires slipping around the corner on the shoulder of the road. There is room, and it is safe, just drive slowly. Rooms are in the process if being updated, and it shows. Our room was clean and fresh. Staying at Indian Hills is a good balance between convenience and cost. We will consider staying there next year, as well.
3 out of 5
by Laura from Colorado

Great Location - Old Accomodations

Posted Oct 19, 2013
This hotel is very old and run down. Really needs renovations, but the location is ideal. Only a short walk to the Plaza (some of it on sidewalk, some of it not). It was "liveable", but not nice.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Needs Cleaning

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location was nice but needs a major cleaning. There was boogers on the wall near the bed and the toilet seat was cracked and pealing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big room, very comfortable king size bed, views

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: location, big room comfortable king bed, view of mountains
Cons: work is under way and adressing previous areas of concern, daily up grades and repairs
Location: walking distance to Plaza de Taos and historic downtown Taos many shops, galaries, and resturants and entertainment
check in was easy professional and very helpful aquainting us with things to do during our 4 day stay in Taos
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by jimmy from vermont

Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
great location, good price, though it seems as if there is a disturbing "resident" welfare population with many dogs and lots of smoking and sitting around.