Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Good staff, good location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Great happy friendly staff happy to help you! Hotel very clean, comfy beds! Would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Jessica from London

Lovely stay in Venice

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness and staff
Cons: Breakfast was very basic and the decoration was pretty old fashioned but it all worked fine!
Location: Fantastic and central to everything.
It was easy to find, close to San Zaccaria boat stop, friendly greeting from all staff and helpful tips and directions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by G man from Cheshire

Hotel Doni - location,location,location!

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing - given its price
Location: the square, bazilica church, the main departure zone for the vaporettos which are the big boats and the main way to get around venice
Really good location for the price. Go in with low expectations and you'll be pleasantly surprised. It is only a 2 minute walk from San Marco square. What more could you want at this price? The staff are very nice, breakfast is good.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Terrance from London

You pay for the location...nothing else

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was easy to find and in a great spot, although due to complications with reservations and little help from the staff made it a difficult pill to swallow. When we arrived our reservation was already booked by another couple and claims that one of the staff was waiting all evening for us to arrive even tho the reservation was not made till 2in the morning the evening after. Since we arrived past sundown we didnt have much choice but take option of a more expensive room than what we had booked. Relatively creepy place but well cleaned. Nobody said venice was cheap, but your money can be better spent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Olga from Ukraine

Budget hotel near San Marco

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: breakfast
Location is just perfect - 3 minutes from San Marco square. The hotel is situated in a little quite street on the canal. The furniture is quite old, but that makes the hotel kind of Venetian style :) Pleasant staff, photos in breakfast room make you feel in a real family hotel. Breakfast is quite simple (no yogurt, cheese, eggs), but the hotel itself is perfect fot its value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, a bit disappointed with breakfast however already knew from other's review before. In general good accomodation for value of money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laura from CA

Good location

Posted Apr 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
You get what you pay for and Venice is expensive! In comparison, Doni hotel was good for the price. The bath towels were a little too far on the small side, but that's obviously not a huge deal. When we walked in, we overheard the man behind the counter speaking with others about renovating the place. It does need some touching up, but was fine for us. It is a little difficult to find, as people have already mentioned. After you go past the basilica, cross two bridges and turn immediately right after the second bridge (along the water). You'll see the Doni sign. Would stay again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by PaulSP from Budapest

My mistake, should have looked harder!

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
There is a racing expression "horses for courses" meaning, choose the right horse for the right race. I did not choose correctly when selecting the Doni because I normally prefer 3*/4* hotels. The Doni is exactly what it claims to be - a budget hotel. In fact, a more accurate description would be a commercial traveller's bed and breakfast. There are areas which they could improve, decoration, breakfast, etc. but for a cheap accommodation in a prime position it is perfect - just not for me!
2 out of 5
by Couple w/child from Edinburgh

Couple with one child

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Cons: The interior and cleanliness.
Location: Excellent location in the middle of town.
The only good thing about this hotel is the location. We stayed in the annex building and were not located in the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by David Axel Kurtz from Kennebunkport, ME, USA

the best little albergo in Venice

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
LOCATION: Perfect. Five-minute walk to San Marco, but nestled into a quiet little canal. Two-minute walk from a vaporetto stop, so it's super easy to find - which, in Venice, is saying a *lot*. HOTEL: Friendly staff 24/7, clean rooms and facilities. Cozy, quiet, charactered - a real old-fashioned European traveler's hotel. WOULD STAY AGAIN!