Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by LynIan from Perth, Western Australia

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Unfortunately, this beautiful hotel is well past its use-by date. The bathroom was old with cracked tiles, rotten skirtings and it flooded each time the shower was used. The air conditioner roared like a jet engine but did not give cold air and the overhead fan clicked loudly. In saying that, the staff were extremely efficient and attentive and could not be faulted. A la carte meals were nice however the buffet was not. Beds were old, very hard, inner spring mattresses.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michael Matuskey from USA

Posted Feb 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The best part of Elephant Hills was the staff. By far, the friendliest, kindest, and helpful staff I have ever encountered. The Wi-Fi was weak and spotty, but that was a minor problem. The breakfast and dinner were very good and enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from California

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Good enough stay although the service when ordering food was very SLOW.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Glad we choose Elephant Hills

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: Great Breakfast, Beautiful grounds and atmosphere, Friendly, nice golf course with wildlife everywhere. comfortable.
Cons: Update the rooms.
Location: Not far from Victoria Falls and the town. Gambling at the Casino was dead. Nice river cruise and hiking the falls. Safari's near. Elephant safari.
Very friendly staff. Good food. Great breakfast. Reasonably priced drinks. A little disappointed in the wear and tear on the room. Peeling wallpaper and had to ask for a new shower curtain that wasn't moldy. Beautiful setting and relaxing atmosphere. The shuttle was convenient and taxi's back and forth if needed weren't bad. Golf caddies were excellent (Thanks for the tips Clifford and Isac!) Considering the remoteness of this area, Elephant Hills exceeded my expectations. Don't expect internet and 5 star atmosphere in the middle of nowhere!
4 out of 5
by tahoe from Nevada

Interesting Hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: The views from some of the lounge areas were great.
Cons: Service
Location: We had transportation arranged for everything we did so I can't really comment on this area.
We had a wonderful view. Getting attention paid to something that was a problem -- like a broken balcony door fixed -- was a problem. In fact communicating with some of the people at the front desk (the women) was extremely difficult. I wasn't sure if they didn't understand what we were saying or if they didn't want to bother with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kim from Wiesbaden Germany

excellent location

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay at Elephant Hills Zimbabwe is the place to see Victoria Falls. The Zimbabwe customs was slow and airport not well equipped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Clarice

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Susanne from England

Overall we had a lovely time at the hotel.

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: The staff made the hotel and because of this and the excursions we had a fantastic time.
Cons: For me its the rooms that are in desperate need to be improved, one of the pools were being upgraded while we were there.
Location: The location of the hotel is excellent close to all the amenities, nothing is very far away and a courtesy bus is available all day.
The hotel is looking very tired and needs refurbishment, after a disappointing start at seeing the hotel, we had a lovely time, a lot of the facilities were unavailable due to refurbishment. The rooms are very poor in that all the soft furnishings look very old and worn. However it was very clean, linen and towels were bright and white, this made up for the initial first glance. The staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and went out of their way to help. Room service was efficient and prompt, as was housekeeping. The restaurant/bar staff were also very helpful, discreet and efficient. The views from the hotel were second to none and the grounds were vast and well kept on the whole apart from where there was work going on. I would only recommend this hotel for its service, location and things to do, but would make sure anyone going knew the overall 'look' of the hotel was tired. If the refurbishment continues, as i'm sure it will then the hotel will soon be back to the beautiful hotel it once was, when we last visited 20 years ago. A courtesy bus is available all day to go to town and the falls, and there are taxi's recommended by the hotel for all other needs. The falls are spectacular, Walking with Lions an unique experience I would recommend as is the helicopter ride. The sunset cruise was truly amazing. Excursions aren't cheap but are well worth it, once in a lifetime stuff. Prices are pretty standard and never felt ripped off. This area of Zimbabwe is a must.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ocean Palmer from Denver, Colorado USA

Excellent for groups, golfers & escaping downtown

Posted Jul 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff is fun, the shuttle efficient, and the setting quiet and peaceful -- unless a tour group comes in, in which case everything changes. Elephant Hills is tour group central in the Victoria Falls area, so it's a fun place for groups. The staff is friendly, courteous, professional, and reliable. The golf course is watered and the greens putt true. There are no tricks on the course, it's a Gary Player design that's carved out of the flat woodlands below the hilltop hotel and certainly fun for a visiting golfer. I enjoyed my stay. Food is mediocre, which is the only downside.