Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1.6 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
1.6 Room cleanliness
2.1 Service & staff
1.7 Room comfort
1.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to where I was going

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms need to be completely redone. They are a mess.
Location: Located near the highway and restaurants.
Condition of the room was very poor. Telephone didn't work. Could not pick up most TV channels. Overpriced for what I got.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by David from Jackson

WORST EVER

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
There were drunks and just trashy people lingering by the front door. The entire place smelled of disinfectant. It was overwhelming and the A.C. had a broken button so you either had to turn it off (90 degrees out so not an option) or let it stay at 60. It's located conviently but its a hole! Never again in life wil m I stay at an American Inn
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

DON'T STAY HERE

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Main entrance door to the wing of the hotel that we stayed at was broken. The door didn't have a lock and didn't close tight. Anybody off the street could walk in. Room was filthy. Room smelt of smoke even though no smoking is allowed. Cigar butt on the floor, cigarette burns in the bed sheets, stain on a pillow, smoke detectors not hooked up and didn't work, leaky faucet, peephole in the room's door was removed and filled in with tissue paper, holes in the bathroom door and walls, the buttons on the a.c. Unit were broken, no continental breakfast was provided..... I could go on but hopefully you get the idea. Hotels.com will not provide a full refund either.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Important: Dirty motel with BED BUGS

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Everything.They do not care about health codes.
Location: We stayed there because it was somewhat close to Silver Beach in St. Joseph......big mistake.
I am not one to be picky about a motel room for the night as long as it is clean, but I must say I have NEVER had an experience as terrible as this one. Not only had the bathroom and carpet not been cleaned for a very long making the room unacceptable for renting out, but we found BED BUGS on the sheets. We were completely disgusted and packed up as quickly as possible. When we got to the front desk the man working did not seem surprised at all about our story and just told us to have Expedia call them for a refund authorization. Several days later, I am still completely disgusted at the thought of the place even being open.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Jackson

plug in the tv/refrigerator

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
condom on windowsill
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Zurich, IL

Very Bad hotel, never seen like that.

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: I do like to erase everything about this hotel from my memory.
Cons: That hotel should be destroyed.
Location: The town Benton Harbor is absolutely awful.
I was there just for 1 night. I have terrible impression about that lodging.. everything was below 0 from 0 to 10. That hotel stinks, management was awful and helpless. They even did not change the bed sheeting, everything was dirty and not fresh. The bedroom was disgusting, and also stinks. Not recommended to anyone to use even for free. TERRIBLE!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

It is not worth to rent a room

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: n/a
Cons: everything starting with customer service people
Location: close to the express way
Customer service is so bad, they never checked if the coffee maker is working, we had to ask about refilling milk and there was so small donuts and toasts, the plastic spoons they did not have kids could not eat their cereal. When the customer service person was asked about spoons he said we don't have any and walked away without even offering that he might go and get some at the gas station which is located in the same parking lot. Rooms smelt so bad. On top of that dirty walls and carpets.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel exeprience in 40 years

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
This was the worst hotel experience I have had in 40 years. I was looking for a clean no frills heap hotel. What I received was a lousy room with aa musty smell an holes in the wall. Based on conditions and clientele, it appears to operating as a worn-out homeless shelter. ( I have worked at homeless shelters but do not intentionally seek to bring my family there on vacation.) I called the front desk to fix TV remote. They installed a new cable box and told me it should be working in 20 minutes if it was not working. I called 20 minutes later and they said someone was on the way. After it was too late to pursue., I went to bed. I called front desk several times with no answer. Free breakfast was offered but it did not seem to be ready in the morning. ( I wouldn’t have eaten it any way due to sanitary concerns.). No one was at the desk for over ten minutes when it was time to check out. This was a father son trip. If I thought I could cancel my reservation without a major hassle, I would have. This made my question the quality of hotels available at hotels.com,
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Absolutely horrible

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
It was the worst hotel ever. Customer service was ridiculously bad. The rooms had an odor. Manager was very rude. Bugs in the room. I cancelled reservation for second night and he still billed my card. I tried to resolve the issue with hotel manager he argued with me and acted as if he didn't know what I was talking about. I finally had to contact my bank to get some resolve. I do not recommend this place I would rather drive to Kalamazoo or Chicago if there are no other hotels available
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rachel from Chicago

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
Very dirty everything was gross