Ratings based on 619 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Balboa, CA

Close to center.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Cons: Better access to third floor. Room and bathrooms. No laundry area available it was "just out of service" A bit dirty around common areas.
Location: nice location
The price was right, not a great hotel but you can't complain for what you pay. Breakfast was sad :( but again, fair for the value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Placerville area

Super Spot

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Staff are Wonderful...location great, price great...nice rooms
Location: Located with lots of food available...live music...the marina area is a short ride, as is central Berkeley & the university
Always a pleasure when visiting Berkeley...love this spot
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Fine for a short stay

Posted Jun 28, 2017
For the price this was about what I expected in Berkeley. The mattress was rather difficult to get comfortable on. You feel like you are going to roll off the bed. Whenever either my wife or I moved even a small amount, we would wake each other up. However, the room was reasonably clean and sanitary and having a refrigerator was a big plus. San Pablo Ave is busy street and is not known for being one of the nicer areas of Berkeley. Despite, this the noise level was quite acceptable in the evenings and hotel's parking lot and grounds were kept clean and well lit. Our biggest complaint was that our neighbors repeatedly smoked outside our window and the smoke was drawn into the room very quickly. We were there in May and the room was always much hotter than the outside temperature during the day so having some air flow was necessary to be comfortable.The room did not have air conditioning (just a ceiling fan) so having the window open is essential to getting decent air flow. Unfortunately, I got sick during our stay so I spent significant time in the hotel room rather than being out doing other things. I can see how this hotel might be just fine if you only sleep there for a night or two but I really didn't find a comfortable place to spend a lot of time each day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sparks, NV

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Stayed for two night in June 2017. Room was clean, comfortable, quiet. Close to many restaurants as well as public transportation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good price and location. Older motel with fan.

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Fine for an old motel. Granddaughter was bitten by bugs and had allergic reaction. Adults were fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

disappointment

Posted May 21, 2017
Cons: fix the all the broken lights, more thorough cleaning.
Location: next to a busy intersection. Some interesting shops on Los Pablos.
room was dusty, lights didn't work, very noisy due to location.We were given a room near the intersection, While I requested a quieter room which might be in the back row , farther away from the streets. Didn't get much sleep. There was no hair dryer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

NEVER AGAIN

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: No idea about the location, and things to do nearby. There was nowhere to eat when we awoke to leave.
We arrived late, and the hotel staff had turned in for the night. Our key was left under the mat. Very secure... Turned on the light by the sink, in order to brush our teeth, and a cockroach ran down the wall, behind the coffee pot. The bed was VERY hard, and the pillows were VERY small. Between the hard bed, small pillows, and fear that cockroaches were going to climb over us, we did not sleep well. Got up early, and left the hotel, before the hotel staff arrived to work. Terrible experience all around. I'll never stay here again, and I'll tell everyone I know not to do so as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

older facility- well maintained,close 2 campus

Posted May 15, 2017
Its an older facility- but well maintained and very clean. A good price for the quality.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fareham, UK

Not the best place I've stayed

Posted May 12, 2017
Room wasn't as nice as the pictures made out it to be, walls very thin and noisy traffic and close to the train track. Light wouldn't switch off in the bathroom & the bathroom wouldn't close properly. We paid £276 for 3 nights which now looking back we feel we were ripped off with the price.
5 out of 5
by Grazyna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels