Ratings based on 701 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Clean and convenient

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Clean and recently renovated. Pleasant staff. Good location to shopping on 4tb and restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: dog friendly, cheap
Location: Berkeley Marina has nice morning walk near the cove.
peeling paint, cracked tile, coffee but no coffeemaker, cold and I could not figure out how to turn heat on
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Camada

Great place to stay.

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Check in was quick and easy. First impressions when we walked into the room were that it was clean and inviting. It was a cool evening, so we turned on the heat and it didn’t take long for the room to warm up. There’s a pizza place right next door, which was delicious. The grounds were clean and There was ample parking. Wifi worked Great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thanks Juli for the nice comments! We hope to see you again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palo alto

Nice enough

Posted Dec 15, 2017
My overall experience was great. Susie,whom worked on Monday the11th was awesome and very very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nothing fancy, but great value

Posted Dec 11, 2017
The hotel is a simple place, but for the price you pay you get surprisingly well-kept rooms with a desk, wifi, a TV, microwave, fridge, ironing board, etc. For a 1-night stay it's a great value!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant and affordable

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Great place to stay and lots of places within walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location and low price

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Location and price
This motel's location is ideal for our purposes, and the price is excellent. My wife and I come to Berkeley often to visit our daughter and grandchildren, whose house is too small to accommodate us. The location and price of the Golden Bear are ideal for our purposes. The rooms are very basic, but they have everything we need. We will continue to stay here when we need to spend the night in Berkeley.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Not what I expected

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: clean and pleasant. had the amenities I needed.
I was not expecting a motel from the picture more of a hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Its an OK Place to Stay

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: The vintage feel and the look with the pop-corn lights.
Cons: make the rooms more comfortable and clean better.
Location: Lots of great places to eat and drink. Also just a nice place to walk around during the evening.
The hotel has a vintage charm. They light it up with pop-corn lights. So at night it really sparkles. Its old. You can see that they have tried to update the rooms. But with that being said the furnishings are not great. No heat or at least mine didn't work. The walls are thing and the floors creak a lot so you hear noises all night. The linen is old and it looks it. They could do a better job in cleaning the rooms. But for what I paid and seeing that I was there for only a few days I could live with it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salen or

Modest but convenient

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Let us check out and leave our car parked while we were at Cal football. Really friendly. Thanks you!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
You're welcome! Thank you for staying with us!