Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to downtown

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: I needed help with DirectTV channels
the hotel was fine, but the excessive Expedia fees that are not disclosed when we book is not acceptable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best cheap hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Quality for the price!
Cons: The floor creaks a bit.
Normally cheap hotels stink. Surprise, this one does not. The staff is also good. Location is great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DuPage County, IL

A one night stay was sufficient.

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Conveniently located.
Location: We were just passing through.
There was a motorcycle group staying there at the same night we were, so, there was a lot of noise until they were all back from partying. Other than that it was fine. The lady who was the manager was pleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to where I needed to be

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Management was great. Would do anything to make your stay better. Window air conditioner loud but cooled off room. Clean and quiet. Hot water. Just very very old. Adequate but for price I think I could have done better
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Value and Convenient to Bloomington

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Location: It's a good 20-30 minutes away from IU.
It was a nice stay... fine accommodations for an overnight occasion. Very reasonable rates, given it was a home football game weekend. I would not necessarily recommend it for an extended stay, because it is a retrofitted sort of facility in a 100+ year old building, but it was quite good for the purpose that we had. The staff were very friendly and helpful. That alone makes it a good reason to go there.
4 out of 5
by Beverly from Hot Springs National Park, AR

For the area good price

Posted May 31, 2013
Pros: convenient location..price
Cons: very little space to put things and no hand towels
Location: Location is very convenient to town of Bedford...easy to get to.
this is an old motel but well maintained and kept clean. We had good cable TV, microwave, small refrigerator and coffee pot and coffee provided. Bed was comfortable and clean. staff was very friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Uncharming

Posted Apr 8, 2013
Not very interesting motel compared with rates, and taxes were added after the Expedia payment. And while there were vacany I couldn't be downgraded from the double bed room, I was assigned to at first.
4 out of 5
by Carolyn from Bloomington, IN

Historical charm with old style customer service

Posted Mar 5, 2013
Pros: Historical aspect with friendly service
Cons: No bath tub but due to age of the house (turned hotel) it is understandable the space constraints on the bathrooms.
Location: Outskirts of a small Midwest town but close enough to get to any major venue within minutes.
I booked this hotel for a mini-vacation to get rest and it was no disappointment. This is not the Hilton. This is an experience of being invited as an honored quest in a family home of the early 1900s. At least this is the feeling I had after checking in. If you read other reviews then you have saw mention of Jay. He manages the hotel and goes above and beyond the call to welcome you, assist you with checking in, showing you around the room and property - he even carried my bags in for me. At first check-in, Jay informed me that my room had been upgraded to a king room in the original part of the house (built early 1900s). See the pictures and historical photos page, which is also accredited to Jay, on their website for more information. I would suggest to ask for one of these rooms. There are modest amenities, so take your hairdryer and such if you need all the extras to be satisfied. My room came with TV w/ satellite, mini-frig, microwave, and coffee pot (ask Jay for one). The hotel sits across from a large cemetery but I think that added to the charm and view of the property. There is a Salon & Spa within walking distance but you will need to call ahead and reserve for the spa services. There is also a diner with decent food within walking distance. Do not expect luxury and fineries but do know that historical charm and friendly customer service can make for a very pleasant stay you would not have gotten elsewhere.
4 out of 5
by Pastor Dave from Richmond, IN, USA

Throw the theory of "you get what you pay for" out

Posted Jan 30, 2013
Pros: Front Desk staff
Cons: nothing
Location: Great we go every year.
My wife and I travel quite a lot for our ministry in the USA and abroad, For the cost this hotel was surprisingly nice and clean.The front desk help went above and beyond far better than other big chains we have stayed at in the past.I have to say this is one hotel that actually ruins the theory of you get what you pay for by bringing great quality service for a great rate. Would recommend it and will stay again when we travel to Bedford area again.Pastor Dave
2 out of 5
by jane from dayton ohio

give it a miss

Posted Jul 14, 2012
The motel was right out of the 50s. The staff was friendly , but the overall appearance was shabby and very dated. The bath was very tiny. It was quiet, had a comfortable bed, but kind of creepy.