Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place to Stay in Walnut Creek

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Everything! My room was clean, comfortable, great wifi and within walking distance to lots of restaurants and shops.
Cons: Nothing
I checked into this hotel after a horrible experience at a nearby location. Upon check-in, the staff was very friendly, entertaining, professional and helpful. I love my room (remodeled King), and even though it was a motel w/ cars parked outside, it was very quiet. I will 100% stay here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Close to downtown, also close to highway

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Super friendly staff, fast check in. We booked one of the renovated King rooms. True to pictures and clean. Ten minutes walk to downtown. 20 minuets drive to North entrance to My Diablo State Park in Clayton (our main reason to book this motel). However, also next to/under busy highway (check on map), and room was not soundproofed. So if you have noise issues, this might not be the place for you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware - Pics Online Lie

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
The room was so old, dingy, and gross! The carpet, chairs bedspread were stained and disgusting. But, yet we were required to leave a $50 deposit in case "we" trashed the room or stole anything. We were treated as potential criminals instead of welcomed customers from check in to check out. The entire electrical socket in the bathroom pulled out of the wall when we unplugged the hairdryer. This alone is Unsafe! There was mold all over the shower ceiling. Overall, the room was NOT decent, safe, or sanitary and if the health department was to inspect today, we feel they would NOT pass! The people were friendly but, friendly does not make for a restful night or comfortable stay. The bed was so aweful that our backs are hurting still, two days later. They NEED new matresses and/or boards between the box spring and matress, to stabilize, as they are so squishy and move so much that if one person makes the slighest move, the other feels it. No stability whatsoever. We booked through Hotels.com (third party) and feel we were stuck in the worst room on the property, on purpose! Just beware and be smart when booking here. The freshly painted pics online look nothing like the room we were given. Unless and until they bring this hotel into 2016, we won't be booking here agian, either directly or through anyone else.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
This motel was clean and convenient to local shops. It's under a freeway, so very noisy. We had a remote room, so we did not hear the noises from the freeway. They had a very nice breakfast selection.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

One star quality at a three star price

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The room was clean. The cleaning staff is obviously doing a good job.
Cons: Noisy, horrible bed, cheap pillows.
Location: Close to downtown Walnut Creek
First, the good: my room was spotlessly clean. Everything else was disappointing. The front desk clerk had an awkward and abrasive personality. When he handed me the patronizing list of do's and don'ts, requiring initials and signatures (a first for me), that was my clue that I had chosen the wrong accommodations. He made me feel like a disobedient student checking into a college dorm. His authoritarian attitude was unnecessary and extremely annoying. His behavior might have been understandable if I was paying $39 to stay at a Motel 6. Which brings me to the room; while it was clean, it was no better than a Motel 6, and indeed I have stayed in many Motel 6 rooms that were as good or even better than this and paid far less than $149 a night. The bed could only be described as a medieval torture device. It was hard as a rock and really no better than sleeping on the floor. The pillows were awful as well. Between the constant din of traffic roaring by, and the terrible bed, it was impossible to get any sleep. I chose this property because of its proximity to where I needed to be the next day, however that proved to be a bad decision because I was awake all night, unable to sleep due to the noise and the uncomfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sweet little inn near downtown Walnut Creek

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Friendly, independent, reasonable rooms
Cons: Better pillows
Location: Downtown Walnut Creek: shops, restaurants, theater
Always appreciate staying at this independent little inn! They keep everything very clean and the staff is incredibly friendly. The rooms could use a refresh, and it looks like they're upgrading several of their rooms. Excited to see them with newer rooms!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old shabby

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Convienent location and price.
If you just want a bed it is ok. Could be upgraded with nicer linens and decor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel for walking to eateries/mall

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, quiet, centrally located.
Cons: No complaints
Location: In Walnut Creek - within walking distance of the mall, restaurants - perfect.
We stayed at this hotel while visiting Saint Mary's College in Moraga (student orientation), but the hotel is centrally located to so many other places as well - the mall, restaurants, free-standing shops. The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer, and the room was clean and properly stocked for our needs. Parking was easy, and there was a very nice continental breakfast waiting at 7:30. Free wifi, nice TV - we will definitely book this hotel again for our future Saint Mary's visits.