Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South East of England

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: The room was very comfortable and the food was delicious. The staff were really helpful and could not do enough to help us.
Cons: Non slip mat on the bathroom floor and regularly top up the tea/coffee facilities in the room for people staying longer than a couple of nights.
Location: Bus tours around the city are a must for travellers, there is so much to see and this is the best way to see it all.
We had a lovely time staying at this hotel. The room was extremely comfortable and had all the facilities you would expect from a higher star rated hotel. The staff were lovely, nothing was too much trouble for them. Despite the troubles the hotel had from recent storm damage, we could not fault them on anything. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to others and will definitely be going back there again ourselves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bury St Edmunds, UK

Traditional Irish Experience!

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: the hospitality, charm, food, location
Location: Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery
I booked my stay and then realized that my flight would be arriving in Dublin well after reasonable check in times. I emailed their staff and they responded quickly with a reply saying that they would make arrangements for someone to be there even though I would be coming in late. The pub downstairs was full of charm and everyone around the bar was very friendly. The live band was amazing and created a lively atmosphere. We had breakfast downstairs the next morning which ended at noon (perfect for us because we had stayed up late in the pub enjoying the traditional Irish Jameson all night). O'shear Merchant is located almost perfect between both the Jameson Distillery and the Guinness Storehouse. The lady at check out said that they are in the process of some renovations. I will definitely be booking another stay to see the final results!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hayley from Wiltshire, UK

Lively & friendly with great food .

Posted May 21, 2013
Pros: Food
Cons: Noise at night
Location: Great close to everything,but far enough from main bars
A lively pub with great food and lovely staff,you are on a very busy road even at night and bands play untill 2am so not a quite place .its close enough to walk to all main areas like temple bar and shops and places to visit. The rooms are basic but clean.would suit a long weekend for couples and groups not really for families and breakfast doesnt finish untill 12 so great lie ins .i would stay there again .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by secondsite from UK

Good hotel for value and instant nightlife.

Posted Dec 3, 2012
Pros: Comfortable rooms and epic breakfast
Cons: chilly dining room at breakfast time.
Location: over looking the river on a busy intersection, not quiet, but central and convinient
O'Sheas is a lively traditional pub on the edge of Temple Bar. There is live music nightly til the early hours and a busy friendly pub atmosphere. Rooms are small and basic, but clean, comfortable, warm (its December) and serviced daily. Breakfast (included) is epic. Overall fantastic value and definitely somewhere to go again. Go if you want to be right St the heart of things, don't mind staying up late and don't expect Jury's Inn luxury. Recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarah from Toronto ON

Perfect Irish Experience

Posted Dec 1, 2012
I always stay here when in Dublin, wonderful place, wonder atmosphere and wonderful rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cole from New Zealand

Low cost and good accommodation.

Posted Sep 7, 2012
Overall a pleasing experience in relation to the low cost of this accommodation. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. The room was clean (although the bathroom could really do with a make over) and serviced well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Santino from London

Good stay, I'd stay there again.

Posted Jun 7, 2012
Pros: Breakfast, location, space in the room
Cons: bed not perfectly comfortable, but ok.
Me and my partner had a stay in the O'Shea's for three nights. The Hotel is not a luxury, but is quite clean and nice. The staff will help you in whatever request you may have. The room was quite big and confortable, the bathroom as well was nice, probably they refurbished recently. The cooked breakfast as well is very rich and will certainly leave you satisfied. Is true that you hear noise from the street and from the pub downstair as well (which play every night music) but in my opinion you go to Dublin to enjoy the city, and you're not going to sleep at 10pm, but probably later. The music always finish at midnight, and in any case trust me is just a bit of noise, but will not make impossible for you to sleep, especially when you're tired after a full day of walking and visiting. The hotel is also conventionally located very close to the centre where you can walk to most of the attractions, including the Temple Bar, Christ Church and Dublinia, O' Connel Street, but if you're really tired you can use the buses which stops just a few meter from the Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robbo from Glos., UK

Go stay - Great Craic !!

Posted May 1, 2012
Pros: THE GUINNESS - plus Great Breakfast, staff, traditional music, and the power shower
Cons: The rooms are a little jaded, but what the heck, you are there for the Craic , not to stay in your room !! It was clean.
Location: GREAT - Right on the Liffey, close to the 747 bus stop for the airport, ideal for UK visitors.
Excellent Value for Money. Great bar , great bar staff Fantastic breakfast The rooms aren't like, say, Jury's or the Hilton, but you are paying only 1/3 of the price, so accept it for what it is , a GREAT Dublin Hostelry, with a great bar, great staff, great traditional music. We will definately go and stay there again, and we will recomend it to like minded friends, but not to any tight fisted snobbs.. ( not that we know any..! ) Thank you O'Shea's Merchants, we'll see you soon. Added bonus - the 747 bus direct from the airport drops you just 200m away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by jimmy from California

Great Dublin Value in a traditional setting

Posted Apr 3, 2012
Pros: Traditional Irish pub with music and locals that love talking with the tourists
Cons: It has a traditional Irish pub downstairs so i drank too much
Location: On the Liffy River just a block from the heart of Temple Bar - close but not too close
A great value! Great price to stay right in the heart of Dublin. If you plan to go to bed at 9PM this is not the place for you - music plays till 2 am on weekends and you can hear it in your room - but this is trure with most traditional Irish hotels with a pub on the ground floor. This is for those that like to enjoy the nightlife - you can pub hop Temple Bar or just stay in at the bar downstairs and listen to Traditional Irish Music. The breakfast is just as good as any 4 star hotel in Dublin - It actually has great hours so you can sleep in and still enjoy the free breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Garvan from Galway, Ireland

Fantastic Value

Posted Oct 14, 2011
Great value budget hotel. Old fashioned but spotless. An excellent freshly cooked full breakfast available anytime between 7am and noon - so it becomes a fantastic 'brunch' option.