Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I "paid" for convenience

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Very close to the Duomo and Accademia which means extreme crowds and noise. Additionally, this room was absolute bare minimum - tiny shower, tiny closet, tiny spaces to move in. I am a small woman and could hardly move in the shower. Bedding is old and worn. Staff are helpful but only on site part of the day so if you need anything after hours (moonfish) you are on your own. And I had poor cell phone service within the walls which meant I stood outside on the steps or street to make phone calls. If I ever return to Florence I will stay somewhere else - either a newer or updated room or further away from the city centre.
5 out of 5
by Peter

Florence for fun and history.

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
Close and convenient location that allows you to drop in for a rest or drop off shopping! Very comfortable and quiet with shutters and glazing. You can see the Duomo if you lean out. Florence is so much fun with excellent good and wine, particularly away from the piazzas. Ask the locals
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Beautifully located near the Duomo.

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: Location! Location! Location! And ambience that says "This is Florence!" And Ciara and Simone made it even more special.
Cons: I mentioned the stairs, but the stairs are a part of the ambience of the building, just like the stairs in the Tower of Pisa are part of its ambience.
Location: A block from the Duomo, about two and a half blocks from the Academia and Michelangelo's David, the Medici Palace. Great restaurants and gelato!
The stairs were a bit daunting for elderly guests. However, Ciara and Simone were most gracious in helping us with our luggage, getting around Florence, and always ready with a fresh cup of espresso. The room said "late 19th century Italian", and the bathroom was 21st century spic and span. Ciara was delightful, spoke excellent English, and she made us feel most welcome to the Hotel and to Florence! We would not hestitate to recommend this place to family and friends, and we would love to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Pleasant, centrally location Florence

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: Walking distance to all major tourist sites.
Cons: Negatives: bath linens are changed only every three days, this needs to be changed to daily.
Much can be cited in reviews about a hotel’s location, room & amenities, however it is the hotel’s staff that make the visit welcoming. The staff at Relais Campanile is genuinely warm, friendly and welcoming. Positives: an 8-minute walk from the train station; located on a quite pedestrian-only street; walking distance to all major tourist sites (no need for public transport); in-room safe; generous breakfast offerings, served in the room; good WiFi connection.
4 out of 5
by Nicholas

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
Great location for the Dumo with plenty of bars/restaurants etc within walking distance. 10 mins walk from train station. room large and bed good but let down by the cleanliness of the shower room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 2, 2015
The hotel was ok, it just never felt clean. Toe nails on the floor when we arrived, the towels smelled dirty. Also, when room service came to "clean" our room, they only made the bed and obviously pilfered through our things. No clean towels and didn't take out the trash. Although that left us with a mostly negative feeling, the staff was always helpful and did answer any questions we had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from qatar

Close to dumo

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Location: Duomo and academic museum is 2 minutes away
It's basically a small hotel, but the staff are the best for such a small hotel. We asked for breakfast at 7 while they serve starting at 8 and Bang on 7 we had delivered it to our room. There is no staff at the hotel 24/7 but you are give a set of keys to the whole building.
4 out of 5
by Michelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Amber from Oakland, California

Central location

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels
Relais Campanile is ideally located just a block from the Duomo. They had one of the most comfortable beds out of all the places I stayed in Italy! I was in touch with Chiara and she made sure someone was there to meet us when we arrived (they have limited reception ours, but will arrange to meet you anytime, as long as you let them know). He also helped us bring our bags upstairs (no elevator)! The only negative was that some days there was a horrible smell coming from the ground floor entryway. I think it's just because the building is hundreds of years old. The same smell occurred in the ground floor of the Uffizi, so maybe it's a Florence thing? Luckily you couldn't smell anything in the rooms, just coming and going.