Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stourport-on Severn

Dependable

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Cons: Supply of tea/coffee makings was, to be polite, minimal; but I suppose supplying more would invite larceny. Great shame, it appears penny-pinching.
Location: Not applicable, location conenient for a family christening.
If you book Holiday Inn you know what to expect and Fareham didn't disappoint.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Flat pillows and no safe

Posted Jul 12, 2016
The pillows were very flat. There was also no safe in the room. Wifi only allows 2 devices per room. If you need more ask for vouchers. Breakfast was ok. They claim to use Starbucks coffee but we saw them mixing instant Nescafé when refilling. You could tell it was not Starbucks.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Convenient Chain Hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: Convenient location, plenty of parking, comfortable room & nice swimming pool.
Cons: Nil
Location: Convenient for Portsmouth & Southampton. We did not visit local attractions as we were attending a wedding.
We stayed at the Holiday Inn Fareham while attending a wedding close-by. There was plenty of parking. Check-in was welcoming & straightforward. Our room was clean and comfortable and, between events elsewhere, we enjoyed using he hotel swimming pool.
5 out of 5
by Fiona

We will come back again and again

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
We were so happy with our stay here. Couldn't fault it. Facilities are great, staff very kind and helpful, room was perfect. We had a one night stop so we could enjoy Portsmouth for the weekend. The health club is great too. We had fun swimming on Sunday morning and Dad went in the gym. Everyone was happy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Fire alarm went off 1a.m. There were no people with high visibility vests. We received no apology whatsoever for this inconvenience the saving grace was that the weather had warmed up
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2016
Hotel experience was a good one. Staff very friendly. Shame the rooms are a little dated. We had paid for a room with breakfast which didn't show on their system but they happily sorted it out for us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Very noisy

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Very good breakfasts and evening meals. Pleasant staff.
Cons: Room servicing standards and restaurant plate hygiene. Difficult to solve the problem of the noisy and inconsiderate guests, though.
Location: Ideal for Portsmouth and surrounding area. We visited Portchester Castle before crossing to the Isle of Wight in the afternoon.
The room itself was reasonable but attention to detail with servicing was lacking. There were bits on the carpet, the litter bin still had an empty takeaway drinks cup and hair, from previous occupants, in it, not what one wants to find !!, and the tissues box in the bathroom became empty after using the one remaining tissue. Not a major issue but there were paint splashes on walls and a big black mark on the lower wall of one. The noise along the section we stayed in, room 102, was bad - due to inconsiderate guests talking very loudly whilst walking the corridors and banging doors. Fortunately , we were only staying one night before crossing to the Isle of Wight. The breakfasts were very good but it was third time lucky in finding a clean plate in the stack !! Dried on fried egg on two !!!!!!!
2 out of 5
by Vibeke Favish from Oslo

If you have to

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
THe hotel is ok, but that is it. It is a time typical structure-late 80's or early 90's is my guess. The room was on the small size. I ordered a room for three, and specified that two were children. THe room I got had a small double bed, and a pull out chair! So I could either sleep on a 90cm wide chair, or share a bed with a child. I did the latter, and it wasn't great. I asked for a pull out bed and was told that health and safety did not allow for it as the room was too small. The same thing happened in Reading, but they gave us a bigger room and were very accomodating. They were not in Fareham. The hotel doesn't have an elevator. This means you have to carry your bags up one flight of steps. It isn't great. There is no value for money in this place. It is overpriced for what you get.
5 out of 5
by Sue from St ives

Great hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable and relaxing.
5 out of 5
by John S.

Relaxing weekend break visiting friends

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Ebookers
Hotel was fine. Like many hotels, could do with a freshen up of paintwork etc. Barman Joao (think this is right) was very friendly, polite and helpful.