Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: The Oasis park zoo is great, although a little expensive & a long day. Also the dune buggying is worth a go.
Hotel staff are very accommodating. Hotel is basic & outdated but fairly clean. Pool is nice. Facilities are poor. Food is basic & you get the same food daily. If you are looking for a cheap get away & just somewhere to sleep, whilst you check out the island, then I would say the hotel is OK.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bucks

Global costa tropical

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: The staff worked the best they could to keep things rolling Very friendly and helpful
Cons: The room standard
Location: Appalling Airplane spotting!!!!
The hotel was somewhat 'tired' and the rooms have seen better days There was rust on appliances, very scuffed, in need of updating. Beds felt like camp beds thrown together.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisey hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2016
You can hear the noise from the outside street with traffic, also hear people walking by and talking, too far away from town, we stayed all inclusive but had to buy our own water, no tea or coffee in the room so bring your own, don't expect to much from this hotel, more like a 2* food very basic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They prioritised on the wrong things for me

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: I stayed here in 1999 and I found it extremely friendly then but it had just been reopened, it didn't give me the same feeling this time unfortunately
Cons: Provide the basics and the nice touches of toiletries & beach towels would actually mean something
Location: If you expect to be in a resort then you will be disappointed but it is only a short taxi or bus ride away or about a half an hour walk
Beach towels & toiletries provided which was a nice touch however I don't think I have ever stayed at a hotel without any hangers in the wardrobe or not enough plates or bowls even for two in a self catering apartment. Generally a basic set up, cleaning could be a little better, broken tiles around the pool and in the bathroom both areas you are likely to be bare foot! I do still think it offered good value for money however the price does reflect what you get. Would I stay again? probably not I've been to Fuerteventura 3 times this year and on the two previous occasions I stayed at the near by Elba Hotel which again on a budget stay offered a little more in my opinion.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NE England

Winter escape booked last minute

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: Pool area and availability of sunloungers. Towels nice and thick.
Cons: New mattresses. More entertainment staff and better entertainment programme
Location: May not be to everyone's liking as not much else there but if you are prepared to get out and about its fine.
Pool area excellent. Entertainment disappointing. Food adequate. Booked early November for some last minute winter sun. Due to the tragedy in Sharm el sheik during the previous week a lot of people had re-booked to anything still available in the Canaries so the hotel and resorts were quite busy and there were some places caught on the hop in that they weren't operating with enough staff. Although we would have preferred to stay in Caleta De Fuste we opted to stay in Costa Antigua which is about 2k away and is a nice pleasant 20 minute walk along a coastal walkway or about 3.75 euro by taxi. We split our week between the two resorts to have some variation from the all inclusive selection and found the prices in Caleta very acceptable. On the evenings we stayed at the hotel to eat, we didn't hang around for the entertainment much as it was a one man outfit and although he was a lovely guy the entertainment was predictable: men v women, parrot show etc. There were a handful of bars around the corner to the hotel which were acceptable for alternative entertainment. The hotel itself is well maintained but the rooms could be updated. Wifi in room was 25 euros for the week but we seemed to only be able to use one device at a time. Were unable to get late checkout as the hotel was full but this wasn't a problem as luggage room and washroom were available. Overall we got what we came for...sun and relaxation so as long as you don't have high expectations I would say give it a try.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great 3 star hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2015
The hotel was clean and tidy, the food was good and overall the whole experience was good! The staff are so friendly and so helpful! The pool is lovely and facilities are great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2015
An excellent place for relaxing week. Food good and staff always helpful and smiling
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from morecambe

great winter break

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: the very friendly staff and atmosphere
Cons: the food is a bit bland but plenty of it
Location: within walking distance of very nice town with great bars
third time at this hotel great value for money the staff are all brilliant simone ,Sebastian,omar,begonia to name a few even the manager they all remembered us which was nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Another enjoyable year at Costa Tropical

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Just returned for our 2nd year at Costa Tropical. Always clean good food and lovely staff. We had a small issue when booking in with rooms available which could have turned into something else but the staff were helpful. We had 1 night at another hotel but didn't spoil our holiday as they did everything they could to help. Will definitely be back again next year.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Refused a room nearer to facilities, due to broken foot. Beds uncomfortable and apartment very old, tatty and dirty. Food good but reception staff need customer care training. Would never stay here again.