Ratings based on 643 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Generally clean but bath tub was not clean. Bed was comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Melissa

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was dirty and not comfortable. We slept on top of the sheets because we were so uncomfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elmendorf,Tx.

Fair hotel. Not too far from beach

Posted Mar 20, 2017
We wanted a non- smoking room. I had no idea smoking rooms still existed. Staff wasn't very helpful, and we were out of bath towels, for hours, on Sat! For the price, the room, was OK.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth Texas

The worst!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Has to be the worst hotel I have ever been to, don't count on the the breakfast bar in the lobby. Nothing there and no room for more then 4 people at a time. The rooms were horrible, beds were worn out, rooms were not clean, mold all over the windows. The door had a 1/4" gap between the frame. The blankets had stains and cigarette burns in them. You cannot talk to the manager until after 10:30, the last that is there before then cannot access anything. So hopefully your room key works, which was another issue we had, every time we tried to go into the room we had to go to the office and have them reset the key.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff ruins the experience

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Poor owners of this decent hotel. They have a front desk clerk named Todd who has an attitude problem and lashes out at customers and other employees. He made a few mistakes that included putting us in a smoking room(we have a 2 & 4 yr olds), charged us for the room even though it was prepaid(2X), didn't care that he made mistakes and blamed them on Expedia even though I purchased a non-smoking room and prepaid. Hotel was empty when we checked in but he put us on the second floor. ALL of this happened after I asked him a few simple questions he didn't seem to like. DONT STAY HERE. Spend your money somewhere you won't have to worry about stuff like this. TODD won the day, but every time someone reads this review and decides to go somewhere else I win the war.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
The hotel is right next to the railroad so we heard the trains a lot threw the night. The pillows were really flat and there was not a iron or ironing board in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: It was clean and comfortable
Cons: Needs more electric outlets...we had trouble finding enough for our phone chargers.
The bed was comfortable...the room was clean. We had a comfortable stay. We had a problem with our toilet flushing, but that was reported. The motel is near a train track and you do hear the train, but if you turn on the fan, that helps...we slept ok.
1 out of 5
by Geraldene

Howard Johnson Galveston--Filthy! ; STAY AWAY

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
The stay at Howard Johnson Galveston was a nightmare for myself and my family. First of all, the Hotel was extremely filthy; it smell terrible. The sheets looked as though someone had just left the room and the sheets had not been changed or washed for a week. The sheets had multiple stains and bugs on them. The chair was also badly stained. We couldn't sleep well with high water from the bayou that surrounds the hotel, because there were mosquitos in the room. The train passed behind the hotel blowing the horn several times during the night. Forget about the free breakfast, there was nothing to eat ; we left and ate at the I hop. I wouldn't suggest to anyone even if that's the last available Hotel on the Island to give them your hard earned money. It would be safer to sleep in your car and not put your kids and your health as risk. The Howard Johnson-Galveston needs to be inspected and closed down. They are ripping people off!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Close to Cruise ship

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Easy to get from hotel to cruise port. Staff friendly.