Featured Image

Reviews of Rothschild Mansion

Rothschild Mansion
Hagalil, 41, Haifa

COVID-19 alert: Travel requirements are changing rapidly, including need for pre-travel COVID-19 testing and quarantine on arrival.

3.2
Rating 5 - Excellent. 3 out of 32 reviews
5 - Excellent 9%
Rating 4 - Good. 12 out of 32 reviews
4 - Good 38%
Rating 3 - Okay. 7 out of 32 reviews
3 - Okay 22%
Rating 2 - Poor. 7 out of 32 reviews
2 - Poor 22%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 3 out of 32 reviews
1 - Terrible 9%

3.8/5

Cleanliness

3.6/5

Staff & service

1.0/5

Amenities

3.5/5

Property conditions & facilities

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Comfortable, clean and well equipped
A brand new building, comfortable mattress, well equipped and very clean. The balcony has a great view looking to Haifa bay. A few issues - 1. the smoke detector was broken and the apartment had a strong cigarette smoking smell. 2. Although promised, there was no housekeeping visit during our stay.
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2019
Response from iris on Jan 10, 2020
Thank you for the positive feedback. We were delighted to host you and hope to see you again in the future.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2018

1/5 Terrible

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
there were cockroaches in our room, spider webs in our shower, thats enough!
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2018

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2017

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Decent hotel near public transportation
Nice place, relaxed personnel. The street of the hotel does carry some traffic, but the good news is that there is also a bus-stop nearby that goes to downtown Haifa as well as up to the Technion University. Overall the place was fine, except for the fact that the hotel claimed that credit card was needed to finalize payment. The price they charged ended up being about 5-6% higher than booking price on hotels.com website, and doesn't appear to be a currency conversion issue.

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
If This is a Mansion, I'll Take a Tent
Name was misleading. I could not find any Rothschild connection. No breakfast and in a residential neighborhood half an hour from down town, German colony, restaurants and stores. Not convenient for a tourist. On several bus lines and manager was good with info on buses. But despite the location no view and no balcony, Not as advertised. I don't recommend it unless manager lowers price. Probably worth $20 a nite less than what Rothschild charges. The building is an old historic landmark restored with help from govt. but a small building with 4 small rooms. Definitely Not a mansion.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
nice hotel close to the bus stop
The hotel facilities is not bad,but compare with hotels in other better locations, the price is little bit higher. The other problem is restroom, which is outside the room, even though it is private. The rest are nice
Response from iris on Nov 22, 2016
Dear We would like to thank you that you have chosen to stay at Rothschild Mansion Haifa. We were pleased to receive the positive feedback and the wonderful score, and thank you for that. will be happy to to see you again among our guests, Sincerely, Hotel

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, room comfort
In an Orthodox Jewish neighborhood
This hotel is in a residential area, a good distance from the center of Haifa and tourist sites. It is an Orthodox Jewish neighborhood, and I did not feel comfortable as I walked outside in shorts and t-shirt. Non-Orthodox strangers are apparently not welcome here.
Response from iris on Sep 6, 2016
Dear Elizabeth, we want to thank you because you chose to stay at Rothschild Mansion Haifa and thank you for taking the time to write feedback on the site, We will be glad to see you again among our guests. Sincerely, hotel staff.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Room comfort
A helpful conversationalist runs the place and she is very easy to get a hold of by phone (be able to call her!!!). Neighborhood full of apartments and apartment noise. Street isn't too busy. Free private parking consists of two or three spots practically on the sidewalk for four or five rooms of potential guests. Rooms and bathrooms are tight for American standards, but if you've travelled abroad in hotels not related to Marriott, Hilton, and Starwood, you won't be very surprised. Short drive to Louis Promenade, excellent for viewing Bahai Gardens and German Colony at night.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, room comfort
Basic but if you need to be in Neve Shanan it's OK
Very simple and basic place. You have to go up the street for breakfast which is a bit inconvenient. My room had no real hanging space ( a hanger on the back of the bathroom door) but the wifi worked well and the TV had ample channels. The woman who takes care of the place is very nice. You have to time your arrival carefully as the desk has limited hours and you have to be careful as to price. This time around the rates were much lower than usual and therefore proper for what you get.

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Staff & service
Family visit
Place may be charming, but our room was barely adequate....although clean and place is welcoming and maintained. Booked it on family living nearby recommendation for location. Do not think we would stay again.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Decent pricey rooms in Haifa boutique type place
Nice place - a bit pricey and we thought we would be more downtown than where we actually were.

3/5 Okay

pleasant but not ideally located
It is a pleasant little hotel nicely furnished but far from eating places. Not much there in terms of stores or restaurants.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Inexpensive yet comfortable hotel in Haifa
The title says it all. Luxury, no. But if you want to pay a lower cost for a hotel room while still getting a nice room, this hotel will meet your needs in Haifa.
Response from iris on Sep 8, 2016
Dear guests, we would like to thank you that you have chosen to stay at Rothschild Mansion Haifa and thank you for taking the time to write feedback on the site, will be happy to to see you again among our guests, Sincerely, hotel staff.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Gem but inexpensive
Was looking for inexpensive and found it. Bed comfortable. Nice neighborhood. Not far drive from Haifa U & Technion. Building is a historic gem.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice boutique hotel
Just fine!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
It is really nice place to stay
It is not a big place, just 5 rooms. You get to know the staff if you take the time to sit down with them. They will give you an inkling of what it is like to live in Israel. Really appreciate personal service which is so rare nowadays.
Response from iris on Sep 8, 2016
Dear Gottfried, how much fun to read such feedback! Glad you enjoyed and even more will be happy to to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely, The staff

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Staff & service
Not a mansion
It's up on the hills, you have to follow a tangled route to find it. The room we had was very dark and the fixtures were tacky. The walls were thin and we coild hear all the goings on in a neighboring room. The breakfast up the street at CafeIn was fabulous.

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Amenities
We hebben deze locatie gekozen omdat er een ontbijt mogelijkheid was. Op de foto's staat ook een restaurant/Cafe plaats vermeld onder "Accommodatievoorziening" Bij aankomst bleek dit niet te kloppen. Er was geen Accommodatievoorziening waar we ontbijt zonder genieten. Ze bood het wel aan maar bij een koffiehuis 1,5 k/m verder?! En naast/tegen het Hotel zat nu een bloemenwinkel. Dat is gewoon de boel belazeren. Niet tof
Stayed 5 nights in Apr 2019

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Staff & service
Wojtek
Nazwa tego hotelu jest bardzo myląca. Składając rezerwację byłem przekonany, że za nazwą kryje się dobry ( solidny) hotel. To co zobaczyłem i czego doświadczyłem - ja bym nie nazwał hotelem. Miałem odwołany lot, w wyniku czego z zaplanowanych trzech noclegów wykorzystałem tylko jeden. Do tzw. hotelu (tak będę go nazywać) hotelu przyjechaliśmy pomiędzy godz. 7- 8 rano. Zastaliśmy drzwi zamknięte. W rozmowie telefonicznej poinformowano nas, że możemy otrzymać pokój dopiero ok. godz. 10.oo. Dostępny parking - dla nas to była fikcja, musieliśmy poszukać wolne miejsce na ulicy. Udało się, ale 500 m od tzw. hotelu. Na plus dla właścicielki tzw. hotelu (sytuacja nie związana z tzw.hotelem, pomogła nam ustalić dla nas ważne emocjonalnie miejsce w Hajfie.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2017
We were happy to host you and wish you all the best We regret your feelings. You talked to us on the phone before you arrived and you know you made an order for 3 Nights and you have delayed your flight. You have indicated to us that you are informing that you are supposed to pay for the entire reservation. You announced this on the day you were supposed to arrive. Your original order was for a standard room with external private bathroom. We upgraded you to the Comfort Suite. You got private parking, we helped you get anywhere you asked.

3/5 Okay

Personale disponibilite
Stanza al primo piano di una villetta con lato riservato agli ospiti. Arrivate di venerdì sera durante lo Shabat Shalom, parlato tutto al telefono chiavi trovate in camera.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2017

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
צימר ממש נחמד עם אווירה טובה ואנשים נחמדים.
צימר ממש יפה באזור שאין מה לעשות בוא, נטו לנוח עם האישה!
Response from General Manager on Nov 22, 2016
אורחים יקרים , ברצוננו להודות לך כי בחרת להתארח במלון אחוזת רוטשילד חיפה. שמחנו לקבל את המשוב החיובי ואת הציון הנהדר ומודים לך על כך . נשמח לראותך שוב בין אורחינו , בכבוד רב , צוות המלון

1/5 Terrible

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
היינו פעמיים, פעם ראשונה ופעם אחרונה,
השהות היתה מינימאלית, כיוון שלא נעים היה בחדר כאשר על החלון חנות פרחים, ומהצד השני קבלת המלון, כך שהפרטיות נפגעת מאד,

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Response from General Manager on Sep 6, 2016
Dear guests, we would like to thank you that you have chosen to stay at Rothschild Mansion Haifa and thank you for taking the time to write feedback on the site, We will be glad to see you again among our guests, Sincerely, hotel staff.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Good memory
We had good experience at this hotel. The manager was very nice and friendly. The room was clean and very big. The hotel is located in a good community, very quiet, and has good seascape. Few restaurants and a supermarket are close to the hotel. hotel is next to a bus stop, which is very convenient to go hof-carmel beach, train station, bahai garden, mall and techanion.
Response from General Manager on Sep 6, 2016
Dear Ching Wan, thank you for the wonderful review We were delighted to read. We were pleased to meet you dear people. Looking forward to seeing you again and provide the best service we are accustomed. Regards, hotel staff.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Bra boende i Haifa
Väldigt fint boende i Haifa. Trevlig personal. Bra område.
Response from General Manager on Sep 6, 2016
Dear Jan, thanks for the feedback. We were very pleased to read your review. We will be glad to welcome you back and give you the best service we are accustomed. Regards, hotel staff.

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Je me suis fait voler mon téléphone portable dans la chambre pendant la journée alors que j'étais absent . La responsable de l'hôtel était complètement indifférente.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Rapport qualité prix acceptable
Nous avons été très bien reçus. Le seul bémol est que la salle de bain n'était pas séparée de la chambre du rez de chaussée. Sinon tout était parfait.
Response from General Manager on Nov 22, 2016
Dear We would like to thank you that you have chosen to stay at Rothschild Mansion Haifa. We were pleased to receive the positive feedback and the wonderful score, and thank you for that. will be happy to to see you again among our guests, Sincerely, Hotel

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Room comfort
חדר. ומחיר "בוטיק"
החדר שבו התאכסנו ( חדר לילך) היה קטן מאד,ממש קלסטרופובי.אני נמוכה מאד ונאלצתי להזהר מאד כשקמתי מהמיטה.מעליה היה מדף בטון.כדי להתקלח נאלצנו לעלות על משטח מוגבה,מעין במה.הירידה די מסוכנת לאנשים מבוגרים.המחיר היה גבוה מידי (450 ש"ח ללילה) בהתחשב בגודל החדר ובמיקום שלו.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Good stay in comfy place with good service
Very nice lady. They also have a room with a jacuzzi I should have known. No elevator but there is only 1 upper floor. Very good coffeeshop and OK Italian restaurant in the street. Perfect for business. I would go back there...
Response from General Manager on Nov 22, 2016
Dear We would like to thank you that you have chosen to stay at Rothschild Mansion Haifa. We were pleased to receive the positive feedback and the wonderful score, and thank you for that. will be happy to to see you again among our guests, Sincerely, Hotel

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Room comfort
לילה לא מלהיב באחוזת רוטשילד
המלון עצמו חמוד ורמת התחזוקה שלו טובה. גם השרות היה סימפטי, אם כי לא אופטימלי. לצערי, החדר ששהיתי בו היה קטן וצפוף והשירותים היו מחוץ לחדר, מה שמאוד לא נוח. בנוסף, כשהגעתי הייתה בעיה עם הפעלת החימום, למרות שביקשתי בעת תיאום הגעתי למלון שהחימום יודלק כחצי שעה טרם הגעתי למלון. כמוכן, אין אפשרות לאכול ארוחת בוקר במלון אלא יש ללכת לבית קפה המרוחק כ- 400 מטרים מהמלון, דבר הפוגם משמעותית בנוחות, בעיקר בימי חורף קרים וגשומים.