Ratings based on 390 Verified Reviews

2.3 out of 5
31% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingston, ON

This place should be shut down!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The ladies at the front desk kept a straight face while handing me my key upon check-in and deposit back upon check-out. The place is embarrassing.
Cons: Everything. But a little would go a long way. Bleach the sheets, paint the ceiling, cover for the plug in, and plug the holes in the walls to start.
Location: It wasn't too far from First Ontario Centre, which is the reason I was there. There were lots of restaurants around the hotel.
This place was disgusting. First, it's no longer the Howard Johnson. It's Airport Inn, changed in January and I wasn't informed of the change so it took forever to find it (bad on you Expedia!). Once I did, it looked like this run-down abandoned building. The front desk area was okay but old. The room was horrible. The one bed looked broken and sunk down when you sat or laid on it. There were stains on the ceiling, stains on the pillow, bite marks in the Styrofoam cups beside the coffee maker as well as coffee splashes, and one of the wall outlets didn't work. When I moved the pillow I saw an exposed outlet with no plate on it and the table lamp and alarm clock plugged into this hole-in-the-wall plug. The bathroom was the only nice thing about the room except that the water pressure was so low for the toilet that it wouldn't flush and the shower was designed for hobbits since my 5'5 sister had to crouch down to get under the spray. Once I moved the towel from the rack I saw holes in the wall behind it. Even though I booked for 3 adults, we were given 1 towel. Took 30 minutes for the front desk to deliver another 2. After experiencing the condition of the room, I wasn't about to try their continental breakfast. This place is a dive. Tear it down and start over.
3 out of 5
by Marguerite from Toronto

Average hotel in Hamilton, good price

Posted Apr 3, 2015 on Hotels
This is a cheap hotel but for what we paid ($70) we got a big room, free continental breakfast and late checkout. It's not the best hotel I've ever stayed in, but I felt the reviews online were very misleading. It was fine, a big room and cheap! However it is no longer called the Howard Johnson hotel - it is called the Airport Inn.
1 out of 5
by yvonne from Toronto

Not happy

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
We drove around for 20 minutes trying to locate the hotel only to find out we passed it a dozen times. The hotel changed names from Howard Johnson to Airport Inn but no one bothered to inform us. We checked in to nasty large bloods stain on the carpet. We later found out what it was from and were not happy at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Hotel has bed bugs, would not recommend to anyone

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Hotel was a dump, not clean at all. Very bad case of bed bugs Hookers and drug deals all the time. Worse experience I ever had Would not recommend to anyone to stay there The place needs to be torn down, period!!!!
3 out of 5
by Annette from woodstock

ok

Posted Dec 20, 2014 on Hotels
it was for only one night, it is on a busy street and not that easy to get to from the highway, but the room was clean and comfortable. we did not stay for the breakfast as we had other things to do that day but it smelled nice
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely old building.

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Puke in the hall. Strange smells. Boncey beds. Not a good experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Okay just to sleep at

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Not enough to pillows, ground was dirty, outside doors didn't lock... If you're going to be spending time in your room I don't recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

disappointed

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: continental breakfast no charge for parking
carpets were dirty shower did not have any pressure
1 out of 5
by allyson from sault ste marie

worst hotel experience

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels
I was not expecting a 5star resort for the price of this hotel...but I was expecting cleanliness. This is the only hotel stay that I have ever heard of where the guest changes their own sheets because there was long black hair in the bed. The rooms were cold, ceilings were so water damaged that they looked as if they might cave in and I was bit by bed bugs. I would not recommend that anyone stay here. It is not only unsavory, it is unsanitary.
1 out of 5
by wanita from Fort Erie

very disappointing

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels
Very disappointing, the first night we had very little heat even though we had it on and set to very high. The next night (new room) my husband and grandchildren woke up to some kind of bits on them. I will never stay at this location again. The continental breakfast was very limited and some food was old i.e. muffins. Also waffle maker was filthy the 1st day and didn't work on the second day.