Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Front office staff were very warm, friendly & helpful. We hired Mr Vu, their driver, for a half day tour. He was a great tour guide. Brought us round Danang, gave us precautionary tips and recommended good & inexpensive local food. Hotel room amenities can be improved. There was no tissue paper in the room & no shower curtain in the toilet bath. Breakfast can also be improved. Only the omelette was good. The rest of the spread was so-so. Pots of coffee & tea were not hot enough. Service staff had a couldn't-be-bothered attitude. So different from the front office staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Good hotel in ideal location.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Clean and comfortable with friendly staff.
Cons: The rooms are very close to needing updating without losing their charm.
Location: Quiet location on the river. Only a few minutes walk over the bridge to the old town centre.
We were looking for a comfortable hotel, nothing fancy, and this is what we experienced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LT from Melbourne, Australia

Excellent location, reasonable price

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Location. Swimming Pool. Breakfast at the restaurant beside the river.
Cons: Proper coffee without the vanilla taste.
Location: Fantastic location. Hire a bike around the island. Walk to the market, tailor BeBe, and shops.
Excellent location - it's located only the other side of the bridge. 5 mins walk to the market. It's not right in the centre of town. Hence, not that noisy during the day. Right beside the river, with riverview from the restaurant during breakfast. Having said that the breakfast, the coffee has vanilla taste with it. Really not nice. Food is soso, enough to fill up the tummy til lunch time. However, heard from other guests that the hut could be noisy as there're 2 rooms in a single hut separated by a thin wall. Reasonable price including breakfast. I paid USD$35 per night for what I wanted. For that price, I didn't expect luxury facility nor service. Staff not friendly, but then again, didn't top dollar for excellent service. It comes with a swimming pool, which is great during the hot day. Spent about 30 mins per day to unwind. Stayed on second floor, the water pressure could sometimes be a bit low. I'm not too fuzzy about it for the price. They provided 2 bottles of drinking water per day. Mini fridge works ok. Air-cond works ok. Hire a bicycle from a shop opposite. Arranged private transport from the shop opposite as well.
3 out of 5
by Fabian from Zurich

Lovely place, but not the main part

Posted Feb 13, 2014
We actually booked a bungalow room next to the main building. In the end we stayed in the main building which was a bit old fashioned. The beds were very uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Harry from Singapore

Great location

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Its location
Cons: Facilities.
Location: Best location to explore the old town of Hoi An.
The hotel condition turned out didn't reach our expectation. It doesn't have clear river view, and its facilities were too old and really needed replacement. However, we didn't spend much time staying in the hotel. Its location is very good in my point of view: right next to the old town, but not inside it. So, it was very easy for us to wander around the town and have a good rest at night. Cross the road is a bicycle/motorbike rental service, which is very convenient for us to take one or two bicycles and explore Hoi An.
3 out of 5
by Jayne from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Pho Hoi Resort

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: Pool very refreshing on a hot day
Cons: Bathroom very poor
Location: Great location to the Old Town
Pretty typical of 3 star Vietnamese Hotel, could do with a complete refurb both inside and out. Bathroom in particular very poor. Great location close to the Old Town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by grant from Australia

lovely hoi an

Posted Jun 12, 2013
Pros: Swimming pool and friendly staff
Cons: Water smells
Location: Great just across the bridge from everything
We were originally booked into deluxe room we upgraded to be closer to the pool
2 out of 5
by Sandrfa from UK

Not the best but OK

Posted Jan 24, 2013
Hotel 2 of 4 on our tour of Vietnam. Very much a personal opinion but the hotel didn't live up to our expectations. We had booked one of the bungalows facing the river. What we didn't realise is they are split into 2, with a connecting glass door and curtain. Great for families but not for us. We could hear them and vice versa.They are also very dark inside. We couldn't get the shower to stop flooding onto the bathroom floor, so there were always puddles. The kettle and hairdryer are in the bathroom, you plug them in but they didnt work We thought they were broken but the kettle worked fine at reception. Breakfast was an internation buffet and pleasant. Good location, just turn right and walk across the bridge into town. Plenty of shops, market stalls and cafes/ restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Go somewhere else - or up your budget

Posted Dec 9, 2012
The pictures are not representative of the quality of the hotel. We were very disappointed and chose not to stay and found another hotel. The non-smoking hotels smelt like smoke, the matresses are foam and the sheets thin and horrible. We received the wrong room no checkin, had to change, and then received a room where the lighting did not work, smelt again like smoke and there was a powerline hanging over the balcony door. If you are on a budget go ahead, but it is not representative of the types of hotels you get in Vietnam for the price.
1 out of 5
by Jack from Melbourne VIC, Australia

DO NOT GO TO THE Pho Hoi !!!!!

Posted Feb 24, 2012
Pros: good location to the old quarter
Cons: smell, service and transport
Location: awful location for the beach good for the old quarter
The room that we stayed in although clean had a horrendous moldy smell which at first we fought through but by the second night we had both started to feel ill. This was the main reason for our early check out. The staff we not totally unlikable but were untrustworthy, especially with the fine details of types and quality of transport and food on trips. There are a lot of reasonably priced resorts along the road between Da Nang and Hoi An. I would highly recommend not going to any resort or hotel with anything less than four stars in south east Asia!!! Three star hotels in the west are not at all the same as in Vietnam.