Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jamie

Hidden gem in kerkrade

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Nice old monastery with good dinner. Room was as basic as it gets but I actually enjoyed that. Brewery on site.
5 out of 5
by stephen

thank you for a gteat stay

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was amazing this was my 2 stay here.We will be coming back again,all my fellow riders agreed with me as well
5 out of 5
by Neil from California

Sleep Like A Monk, And Eat Like A King

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel is housed in a 900+ year-old abbey, and has a great deal of character. The location is near the borders of Germany and Belgium. Many of the rooms are very simple "Monk Style" 2-single-bed with a sink accommodations, with bathrooms and showers "down the hall". The buffet breakfast was EXTREMELY generous and comprehensive with multiple kinds of meat, bread and rolls, cereal, eggs, coffee, tea, milk, fruit juice, yogurt, fruit... I doubt anyone could have left hungry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A wonderful site

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The site ti wonderful and, as other reviewers mentioned, the breakfast is plentiful and delicious.
Cons: Air conditioning?
My spouse and I stayed at the hotel for one night. The staff was friendly and helpful. The site itself is worth a visit, with its art installations, beautiful architecture, church, and surrounding forest. The comfort room was appropriately comfortable, with a large shower and modern design. Unfortunately for us, we arrived in the middle of a heat wave. The rooms do not have air conditioning (I can't imagine how often they might need it) so we could not fully enjoy our stay. Note that this very little to do with the hotel itself. Other reviewers have pointed out that the heating might present a problem on very cold days, so mind the weather when planning your stay here.
4 out of 5
by Marian from Kilkenny

Review by Irish lady

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel has a beautiful ambience because of its history as a religious abbey. The building is monumental and has all the character of a monastic house. One could imagine the priests walking the lofty corridors and singing vespers. As a Catholic I am delighted that the church is preserved and not used by the hotel as another function room. We recommend that you have a meal in the hotel restaurant as it was good value and most appetising. The breakfast exceeded our expectations in that a wide choice of food was available. The hotel is safe for car parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Unusual but recommend a stay

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Character, staff, good food and value for money accommodation.
Cons: If we went again we'd probably opt for an en-suite room (which they do have) which wasn't available as option when booking via Expedia.
Location: Weather and only stopping overnight stopped us exploring.
We were travelling back towards Dunkirk on route to UK after a stay in Austria. We came across this establishment on Expedia and chose it predominantly on location and cost. We knew the room was not en-suite (not something we usually do) but the description tempted us as it was only a one night stop. We were not disappointed as the building and it's history is amazing. The welcome at reception was great (we'd had a go at local language in Belgium, Germany and Austria, but Dutch was a step too far and English speaking was a relief.) The room as we expected was fairly basic Two single beds and a sink was pretty much it. The room overlooked a courtyard and the Abbey which was great. Ceilings very high giving a sense of space. At 60 euros including an excellent breakfast it was very good value. The only down side was our neighbouring room were up very early and due to the wooden floors and maybe the size the sound travelled. They weren't being very noisy but this could be an issue for some. We ate in the restaurant as weather was poor. Wonderful tasty food and attentive staff. However it is not cheap. The Abbey beer was very pleasant.
4 out of 5
by Rune from Sola

Nice to live in a real monastery

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
It was a surprise to see this BIG monastery as a hotel, lots of history in those walls. ok room, breakfast was superb. Restaurant at evening ... well with lots of people there it simply didn't work, so after 20 minute i took a quick stroll down into Germany and had a wonderful PUB dinner
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Va. USA

Loved the historical impact!

Posted May 25, 2016
Great stay with wonderful meals. Loved the history of the Abbey u
4 out of 5
by Martin

Beautiful picturesque hotel for a fantastic price

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful building, the old Abbey is fantastic to walk around. Very friendly staff and comfortable room. Only negative is that the en-suite could do with a bit of modernisation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2015 on Hotels
wooden floor is noisy