Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Great staff and fun time

Posted Jan 18, 2017
I just spent 5 days at Fun Appartments and I really recommend it. It is clean and easy to walk around as it is close to downtown. The place is quiet and safe. There is a cool rooftop with chairs, a cabana bed and a hammock. The rooms have all the basics (had soap, dish soap, towels) but don’t forget to bring some paper toilet as they provide only one roll for your stay. The staff is great: Jacqueline gave me good tips and Dereck was always super helpful and happy to help. On Thursday night don’t miss the BBQ night, it is a great gathering for the hotel guests. All the guests I met were friendly people, some couples, some friends traveling together and other solo travelers, most are between 30 and 50. I understand now why other hotel guests are returning always to that hotel as it is a good price quality but the service is good and it is close to the beach without having to pay the high prices of the beach resort. I totally will recommend it to my friends.
5 out of 5
by elizabeth

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
Our room was very simple and clean, Had small kitchen with everything we need for cooking, great internet and lovely private patio. Had great view on second story lookout. Employees were very nice and more than helpful. Very secure entry. Also have area for cleaning up dive equipment. We really enjoyed our 3 days here!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun at the Fun Apartments

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Price and location
Cons: They should leave extra trash bags in the rooms - ours was overflowing.
Location: Great location but not really 'walking distance' to town, but it is a short drive. Bonaire is all about the scuba diving!
We got a studio apartment at Bonaire Fun. It was small but totally functional. The room was quiet, the Aircon worked well, the water pressure was decent. The kitchen is small but worked for us - after all, we did not come to Bonaire to cook! The personel were great and the location was good.
4 out of 5
by Brent from Medellin, Colombia

Cheaper but not great location

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels
This is not in the center of the city, its on the edge of the city. There are other places that are far far away and and located much worse but you need a rental car or truck to get around. It is not near the beach. You are not walking to any shore dives. However, the price is much cheaper than anything on the shore so you pay for what you get. Wifi is somewhat decent but may go down. All in all it is not a bad place but it is not for a honeymoon. This place is for backpackers with money meaning if budget backpackers frequented Bonaire they would stay here.
4 out of 5
by SALLY from WISCONSIN

like going to camp

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels
if your looking for the minimum this is it. 2 glasses,2forks and so on. old mattresses,and pillows,linens, only air in modest bed room., porches are very dark due to plant life, staff is great,food is ok..
5 out of 5
by Christy from Queens

Diving vacation

Posted Jul 25, 2013 on Hotels
We had a great stay at Bonaire Fun apartments. It was two blocks from our dive shop (Dive Friends), and within a ten-minute walk to the downtown area with restaurants, shops, supermarket, etc. The patio and roof area were great for having food and drinks, or for reading. There is a local cat who patrols the area and is very friendly. We loved his presence while outside. The staff were very accommodating and were able to point us to a local fisherman on the block who sells very inexpensive, freshly caught fish. Overall, great experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Be very careful-place not helpful in an emergency

Posted Jan 3, 2013
Pros: Place was very clean.
Cons: Owners were not at all helpful when we needed them to be.
Location: Looks ok, but this place is target for car theives and fair amount of noise by locals with fireworks and barking dogs.
We checked in on 12/25/2012. No other cars in the parking lot. We had a Toyota Yaris. No mention was made to us that there had been at least 2 prior incidents at this location. Sometime on the night of 12/26/2012, our rental car was stolen. We discovered it the morning of 12/27 about 7:30 AM. When we reported it to the apt. complex, they did not want us to go to the police. I asked why we would not contact the police and they said that the rental agencies were used to handling this issue. We went to the dive shop to return a tank and they told us to go to the police and they drove us there. When we got to the police, another guy was there to report his personal Toyota Yaris had also been stolen. We filled out a report and walked back to the apt. complex. Upon return, I asked the owner if there were security cameras on the site, his response was, "Why would I?". I told him that the police had asked us a couple of times. He almost yelled at me, "That is not proof.". Then he asked what kind of car we had. I told him a Toyota Yaris & he said it is always that car, usually a battery or tires, not the whole car. The apt. complex did nothing to help us in a very stressful situation. The owner was only worried about how it was going to affect his business, not at all how it affected us who were on vacation to have 'fun'. Avis brought a replacement vehicle &they told us that if they had known we were at Bonaire Fun Apts., they would not have rented us this car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for an affordable price.

Posted Nov 25, 2012
Nice hotel for an easy stay! The room had everything I needed. It was in walking distance to the center of the city and from the price perspective it was very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MT Snorkelers from Montana, USA

Bonaire Budget Vacation

Posted Mar 26, 2012
Pros: It was budget friendly, very safe, and the location was great for access to snorkeling.
Cons: There was a slight odor of urine in the bath room.
Location: You can walk to town and snorkeling sites. It worked out great.
These apartments have a good location even though they are not right on the beach; you only have to walk about two blocks to a great snorkeling site. We saw most the same fish there as we did at the other sites we visited. We were in a studio apartment that was very adequate for our needs. We cooked most of our own meals and were able to get some great fresh fish from the a fisherman just a couple of houses from the apartments. You do need to bring some matches to light the four burner cooking plate. These apartments are very secure and we felt very safe our entire stay. These are apartments so you need to bring most of your own essentials towels, plates, cups, silverware, and pans for two were provided.The sheets are changes once a week and fresh towels are provided twice a week. There was a coffee maker that was great along with the air conditioning. You need to bring insect spray as the mosquitoes are very active especially at night. Conservation is stressed with the water and air conditioning because of the high cost for both. The people that run the apartments were very accommodating and helped us get a rental car delivered. We purchased dive socks to access the water. There are few sandy beaches; most are corals and the socks provided foot protection. A visit to grocery stores can help with meal and drink costs. The apartments are budget friendly. If you are looking for luxury you may want to choose some place else but they worked out great for us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Nicolas

Fun Apartments - Bonaire

Posted Feb 23, 2012 on Hotels
Our stay at the Fun Apartment was very nice; we loved the location just out of town. The apartment was very clean, no noisy neighbors. i could have used heavier pillows or maybe two. The bathroom and toilet were just fine;hot & cold water.The kitchen have sufficient cookware; it's also roomy. There is a fridge but no micro-oven( needed)