Ratings based on 798 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Levittown, NY

Online Photos Are Nicer

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: It was close to where I needed to go for work. Parking was easy.
Cons: Better beds, better bathroom.
I was a little disappointed about the hotel in person. The online photos make the property look nicer - especially the rooms. The room was very dated. I was supposed to get 1 King Bed but instead got 2 Double Beds. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. The pillows were very small. The toilet and shower were in a small closet-like room, you could barely shut the door behind you. The sink was outside of the room which I find very disappointing. Got room service and the food was not very good. It was okay for my 1 night stay for a work trip but I wouldn't stay here again - everything just looked very dated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out to us. We happy to learn that our convenient location proved to be useful for you, as well as our parking. On the other hand, we sincerely apologize that you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. Also, we are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the cleanliness and accommodations of your room at that time, particularly, the beds, pillows and the bathroom facilities. Moreover, it is with deep regret for us to learn that our service and food was not to your expectation. Our team is working hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and are receiving our best service and we are saddened that we fell short this time. Your feedback will be forwarded to the hotel management to ensure hotel facilities and guest rooms are up to Radisson Hotels standards. We hope for another opportunity to make a more favorable impression in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Dirty and uncomfortable

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Room appearance, bedding, room service
Location: Nothing up in the mountains
Room was dirty, bed uncomfortable,muggy smell,carpet disgusting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out to us. We sincerely apologize that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room during your stay, particularly, the smell of the room and the carpet. Also, we are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the comfort of the bedding at that time. This is not the kind of experience we want our valued guests to have. Your feedback will be forwarded to the hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson Hotels standards. We hope for another opportunity to make a more favorable impression in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Room not thoroughly cleaned on arrival but housekeeping did excellent thereafter
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from louisiana

Very nice!

Posted Jun 29, 2017
We were visiting friends nearby. Stayed a couple of nights. Saw a few sights. Wonderful stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
The only thing was that they had a room balcony but was closed off which was a big disappointment in my book
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not get room type reserved.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Beds too small 12 floors up kept up early am by pool party outside. Restaurant good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. It is truly rewarding to know that we succeeded in providing you a great dining experience at our restaurant. However, we are sorry to hear that your stay was less than perfect due to the room you received, the size of your bed and the noise at that time. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like for our valued guests to have. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will be forwarded to the hotel management for further improvements. It is our hope that your next stay would be a pleasurable one.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for casino visitors.

Posted May 26, 2017
Considering the size of the hotel, they didn't have enough staff at front desk. The staff they had were trying there best to help guests. Food in there restaurant was good. Also nice pool area for handout.
5 out of 5
by Kellon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great little get away...

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
When we got there there were only double beds available which I understand being booked but it was requested. Also they said they were a full house. The amount of people walking around the hotel area didn't show a full house. When we got to the room the floor was dirty. There is no way it was vacuumed prior to our arrival. The beds sunk in when sat on and it stayed that way for a while. Very uncomfortable to sleep in. This is a shame because we came back to the hotel after a wonderful stay last year.