Ratings based on 842 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north carolina

trip to see family

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Many things
Location: Not important
The hotel is run down and getting worse. The carpet was split in our room and you could see the sub floor. Housekeeping couldn't get the number of linens correct. The place had a strange smell like some air freshener.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Silver City, NM

Repeat customers, disappointed

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The beds are still super-comfortable.
Cons: Pretty much everything - see above remarks for details. I would suggest that Wyndham/Hawthorne Suites stop selling underequipped rooms to customers.
Location: On corner of 2 busy & loud arterials - 101/Price @ Southern. Very good Mexican restaurant within walking distance; many others plus med. ctr. nearby.
We've stayed here for years because it's so convenient to what we do when visiting the Phoenix metro area. Unfortunately, during the past 5 years we've experienced a gradual decline from "lightly maintained" to "almost ramshackle." The staff including housekeeping are pleasant and professional, and the beds are still very comfortable. Water still comes out of the taps and the toilets still flush. HOWEVER, our 3d-floor room (a former smokers' room) was missing most of the equipment we've come to expect from Hawthorne: alarm clock was broken; phone was missing; coffee maker was missing; desk lamp was missing; and 1 of the 2 TVs (which make it a "suite" instead of a "room" was yanked out of its mounting. The remote for the remaining TV was busted & it took management 2 separate attempts to find a replacement remote that (1) functioned and (2) had batteries. The functioning remote we were eventually provided was missing the cover to the battery compartment. The room's carpet was badly frayed and stained, and the latches to the closet door and to the free-standing safe were both broken so the doors could not stay closed. Not sure if their agenda is to allow rooms to deteriorate to the point it makes economical sense to them to remodel; versus driving away customers with a view toward selling the property...but in any case we would be embarrassed to recommend Hawthorne Suites in their present condition to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from carlsbad nm

Sorry I booked 2 nights

Posted May 3, 2017
Old out dated, fridge did not work, called someone to fix it, he came saw and said can't fix, asked to be moved they made no effort. Electric outlets did not work. The ice machine ran out of ice. Room was left with all the trash after cleaning
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everthing complete remodel
this hotel needs a complete remodel the carpet was so dirty that when i walked across it the bottom of me feet was black . The sleeper sofa was all torn up and should of been removed from the room . The dishwasher front was falling off the closet door was broken .Furniture was filthy ac unit was so load we couldn't sleep . I think sleeping in the car would of been better.This is disappointing from wydham
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Only stayed one night, clean, would stay again.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Great rate, king bed, mini kitchen, sofa bed, more than I needed. Used the gym and like the included breakfast. Staff was very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not great

Posted Apr 25, 2017
There are some dishes etc but no detergent to wash. Half empty roll of paper towels not replaced. Didn't always replace towels etc. Worst free breakfast ever. Over all clean and staff was helpful when needed, friendly.... Not the worst but not fabulous either
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs ipdated

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Hotel is old and needs a severe remodel. Looks like bandaid repairs for years. Carpets were old and filthy. Didnt walk around without socks on.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
New name on the outside, old on the inside. Stayed here 4 years ago and it has gotten worse. Paint peeling off doors, overall not clean. Needs lots of updating. Close to the highway, very noisy at all hours. Booked for 6 nights, only stated one. Will never stay at this hotel chain anywhere ever again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Nice suite with kitchen. Good hot breakfast
Cons: It is old. Plumbing doesn't work very well. They have these automatic lights you can't turn off that come on in the middle of the night when you move.
Nice suite with kitchen. Good hot breakfast. Somewhat dated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Home away from home

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Most of all is how convenient it was to everything.
Cons: The jacuzzi
Location: Great restaurants, shopping and freeway access. One shopping center has a man-made lake with trees, grass, tables and benches for sitting. So lovely
This hotel is very conveniently located. All amenities are close by. It was great having a living area as you walk in to your room. The gym equipment was well maintained. Breakfast was great, and so was the coffee! The staff were all friendly and helpful. The pool jacuzzi looked dirty, although I'm sure it was just stained.