Ratings based on 292 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Never again!!

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Worst experience ever! Don't waste your time and money!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hote !

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Excellent hotel, great food, close to the beach and the pool. Highly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Fun experience with family.

Posted Jun 24, 2015
First time visiting this resort and we had such a great time. The service was good and we felt like home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great staff, excellent location

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Pool, beach, food, staff
Cons: Breakfast can be extended until at least 11am. Update the equipment at the gym and add sanitizing equipment. Allow internet to used throughout the day
Riu Merengue is great. The staff is excellent and very friendly. To an extent you get what you pay for. Cons - Breakfast is over by 10am, not too good if you are on vacation and want to sleep late. The gym is a bit small with older machines and no towels or napkins to clean oneself and disinfect. And the club has some great music and is spacious however, alcohol is not included. You are given 90 min of free internet however the time is consecutive and must be used at one. Other than that, had an excellent time and would def recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staten Island, NY

Okay hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2015
The rooms were outdated. The beds and pillows were very uncomfortable. The food was the same everyday. Very little entertainment. You had to go to another hotel for shows.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Disappointing

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: only positive was plenty of pools, and nice clean beach
Cons: start by having staff very trained, rooms need to be updated, and better food selection
Location: hotel complex is actually 35mins away from local places, expect to taxi back and forth cause it a long walk.
Very disappointing experience, hotel need major rehab. I am a frequent traveler, am its been a long time I am welcome with a key to my room. That was left in the 90's. Even local motel has access rooms with cards pass. Rooms don't look as in pictures. Food quality poor, fair to say I am not a picky eater, but the menu was the same every day. After 11pm no food available even to purchase, or not even vending machines. If your a late owl, you better have a late dinner.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by FRANK JULIO

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JOSE MIGUEL from santo domingo

hola

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
tuvimos que salir un día ante pues había una peste muy fuerte de mosquito y porque el aire de nuestra habitación nunca funciono y los servicios de toallas en la habitación no era eficiente colocaban menos de la cantidad que necesitamos.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange, CA

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Everything was good except the food, it was really bad. I think they need to put a little more effort in that area.