Ratings based on 1,133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Le Mars, Iowa

Top Notch!

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Clean, great food and friendly staff.
Location: The Tulum ruins and Jungle Maya tour was excellent.
Great experience. All of the staff were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bologna

Ottimo resort

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Piscine e estrema cura di ogni particolare
Cons: Assurdo fare pagare il collegamento Wi-Fi,ritengo stupido far pagare un servizio che anche i bar danno gratuito.E assolutamente da .........
Location: Ottima posizione non lontano da rovine Maya è abbastanza vicino a Cancun
Splendido resort,personale attento e gentile,le splendide ed immense piscine permettono un piacevole soggiorno nei casi il mare sia mosso. Spazi enormi e perfettamenti attrezzati ad ospitare molti clienti
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Renovated since our last visit

Posted Feb 5, 2016
We love the Barceló!! We have stayed a several hotels in Mexico and we arrive at the Barceló my husband says "Feels like home!" Our last visit was in 2013 just after the dolphin aquarium was completed. To our surprise, the spa was renovated, a new mall area was constructed that was complete with mini-casino, bowling alley, additional shopping, restaurants and even putt-putt was added at the Caribe end of the resort. The restaurants in the Caribe were also renovated. It sort of feels like Vegas at that end of the resort. Lots and lots of activities and less reasons to have to go "off resort" for anything. New beach chairs and another pool area was added by the bar at the Palace. I'm a hotel-snob and I was very happy with our experience. I will be talking my brother and his wife into joining us for summer vacation (and will bring all the kids!!) Xcaret is close by too which is another fun day!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Terrible service

Posted Jan 18, 2016
The all inclusive detail states clearly that the room service is included but they trick you and charge extra fees and when you try to explain it they don't understand english so terrible
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: La comida, las instalaciones y en general la atención.
Cons: El show del 31 de diciembre, aunque le echan muchas ganas, considero que pueden mejorarlo.
Location: Lugar muy bien aunque algo alejado del aeropuerto sobre todo por el tráfico de Playa del Carmen. Recomendable rentar coche para aprovechar alrededores
En general muy bien. En general muy bien. En general muy bien. En general muy bien. En general muy bien. En general muy bien.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Beach

Amazing family Hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: All amenities, Water Park, the Spa is absolutely Amazing!
Location: You will have a lot of things to do just inside the Hotel complex, this is like a City Complex, all you need is inside de Barceló Complex
We went for NYE and I just have to said... that was incredible! My 10 years old son was so happy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Well appointed and maintained junior suites

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Spacious, well-maintained rooms. Good meal options. Access to multiple resorts. Friendly staff.
Cons: Guest assistance should be offered via phone vs requiring guests to wait in long lines at main bldg. for dinner reservations, resort questions, etc.
Location: Xcaret (awesome park, and 20 mins away). Chitchen Itza (fantastic ruins) Tulum ruins (less than 1/2 hr away. Visit early before crowds and heat
We really enjoyed our experiences at this resort. The junior suites were very comfortable and spacious enough for a family of 4 to enjoy without getting in each other's way. Grounds and facilities are well maintained. We liked our ability as Barceló Maya Palace guests to use the resort amenities across all of the adjoining Barceló properties. The pools are large and don't feel crowded even at max resort occupancy. Requested resort improvements: 1) Offer guest services via phone rather than requiring all guests to walk to the main building and wait in long lines for things like making/changing dining reservations, asking resort questions, etc. 2) Offer an optional resort tour rather than just providing a resort map. Alternatively, a resort guide book should be offered in each room to answer resort questions, amenities, and offerings (restaurants, kid's club, pool hours, resort transportation, shows, special programs, etc.). Currently, this information has to be found by walking around the resort and reading signs or by waiting in line at the regular or premium/VIP customer service desk. 3) Offer more vegetarian options on the buffets. Most buffet offerings have seafood, meat and/or meat stock in the preparation. NYE buffet = no cooked veg options 4) Find a way to monitor and disallow guests saving pool loungers when they are not using the pool facilities. People reserve chairs at 7, 8 and 9 am even when they are not actively at pool-- leaving no chairs for pool guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Great activities, Restraunt and almost everything are great. Except the beach has lots of sea weeds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Great trip

Posted Dec 20, 2015
This resort is wonderful. The staff is so friendly & helpful. If we needed anything, the staff attended to right away. The food was great, the rooms are large & very clean, and the pools are wonderful. The pool entertainment staff is very friendly. Luis played almost daily with our kids in the pool! The complex does have "the Pirate Pool & surf", which is an additional $20/pp. The resort does give you a $5 coupon, so make sure you have it with you when you go there, otherwise they will not deduct the coupon later from your bill. The boys loved the slides & surfing at that park. There is a dolphinarium but we did not go to it. The beach is rocky in some spots but there is quite a bit of marine life to see (turtles, sting rays, tropical fish). Bring your snorkel gear! We had a wonderful time & we can't wait to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Staff and Facilities

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: Clean and updated facilities, helpful and friendly staff, beautiful location, lots to do.
Cons: The volume of the shows in the evening could be reduced.
Location: So many wonderful archaeological sites and natural wonders nearby - a great location to start day trips from.
My husband and I stayed at the Barcelo Palace this November/December for our honeymoon. We had a garden view room with no upgrades. This has been our third time to the Barcelo Maya resort (first time at the Palace) and every time has been excellent. The biggest upgrade that we noticed was in the a la carte restaurants. They really are amazing at the Palace. The food was varied and of great quality at the buffets and snack bar. The facilities are clean and updated, with something for everyone from couples to families. The staff are always extremely friendly, helpful, and courteous. The beach off of the resort is also amazing - white sand for those that like to swim and bob and some areas with wonderful reefs for those that like to snorkel. There activities throughout the day to engage those that don't care to leave the resort and fun shows in the evening. I think our only complaint the whole stay was that the volume of the speakers in the evening shows was too loud - painful to the ears in fact (my thought: the trumpets probably do not need microphones). We had to leave several shows due to the volume and feedback being so loud (and we seated ourselves at the back of the theater). It is a disservice to the performers who are working really hard and whose work cannot be appreciated. I would recommend Barcelo Maya to anyone.