Ratings based on 1,237 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chile

Maravilloso lugar para ir en familia

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Todo
Cons: Tienen un teatro maravilloso que me hubiera gustado ver quizás clases de baile o algún espectáculo musical...
Location: Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Chichen Itzá, Cobá.
Cuando viajamos con los niños ( 10, 12 y 16 años ), aspiramos fundamentalmente a la entretención , mucha comodidad en un lugar lindo. Escogimos bien , y llegamos a este hotel que camina cercano a la perfección. Habitaciones hechas a tiempo bastante cómodas, buenos restaurants, muchas cosas para poder hacer y divertirse, pero sobretodo una playa maravillosa , tranquila , con muchos peces y tortugas que nadan al lado tuyo , maravilloso... Una estadía grata y entretenida .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Had an amazing time with my family.!!!

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: so close to the beach and beautiful pools
Cons: the beds could be a little bit more comfortable.
First time going to Cancun and It was the best experience ever! It was more than what I expected. I wanted to surprise my husband and my two girls and I for sure reached my goal!!. Everything is so elegant so nice and the staff will do anything to make you feel comfortable. The restaurants were good, and the shows were truly quality, not to mention the beach is paradise. I will definitely return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice hotel - a lot to do

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: We felt comfortable and safe in the environment. Never felt pressured to spend extra on other services.
Cons: Light switches in the room appeared to be mis-wired. A switch labeled with a picture of a fan actually turned off/on all the lights instead of the fan
Location: We went to Xel Ha - which is a very cool eco park. The kids has a blast snorkeling, riding the bikes up to the top of the lazy river.
The complex was very large with a lot of activities to do. Staying at the Palace Deluxe allowed us access to all other connected Barcelo properties. The food at most buffets was similar, though nights we didn't have reservations, we tried out buffets at the other properties. If you have reservations at one of their restaurants, men have to wear long pants (they will provide you some if you don't have any). Others in your party have no noticeable dress code. Boys are not subject to the long pants rule. The Maya Mall was nice to have on site, but beware you can find most of the stuff sold there other places for less - sometimes much less. The pool area was great. Signs are around that you cannot save chairs, though everyone did. You'll find some guests that adhere to the strict rules and get upset that people save chairs. If you aren't out by 8am (when pool towel service opens), you may be hard pressed to have chairs available for you to use. Bring extra shirts/undershirts - you'll sweat a lot when not in the pool or in an air conditioned restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Jul 24, 2016
It was an awesome experience great facility, excellent food and friendly educated staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Everything ....pools ...beach..wonderful!!
Cons: It is unrealistic to expect male adult guests to bring and wear long pants ti eat dinner!! this was the only thing we did not like!!
Location: I stayed at the resort ...the kids went to see the ruins.All were great.
Great time with my adult children.We loved the entire week!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Family friendly well maintained all inclusive!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Lots of walking but worth it amenities galore! Good food and wide variety! Water activities for athletes or novices on beach or at pool! Bars conveniently located. Fun for all ages! Snorkeling from hotel beach even good! Sea turtles, colorful fish, sting ray...shopping mall, dance club and dolphins a walk or free bus trip away!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley, California

Could have been better. I will not be back!!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
I've been several times to different hotels in Cancun. I would not return to this hotel. I did not like the fact that there's no wifi at all in the rooms nor throughout complex. You have to pay a daily fee of $22 and it says only one person at a time can use it. Another thing I did not like is that there is no food or snacks allowed out of the buffet so if you want to eat something you need to go and eat it at the buffet. I have always enjoyed snacks by the pool or even lunch but here unfortunately they're very strict about it. There is a charge for room service. My 11yr daughter got sick and I wanted to bring food to the room for her and wasn't allowed however after they made me feel bad and said I had to pay for room service they finally agreed to at no additional charge. There's only one buffet and it's far from all the rooms in the complex it's a long walk. There is no air conditioning in the lobby. There's a bar next to lobby with air conditioner and wished they had some food there such as pizza hotdogs or nachos...unfortunately they only have nuts, popcorn (stale), and apples. If you desire something else gotta go seat at buffet and eat it at buffet. All this was a turn off for us family of 4. Pros: beach is nice to swim and plenty of seating. No waves though but nice. A la carte restaurants are very good except the caribe. Our favorite was the French and the Japanese. I recommend reserving a la carte restaurants as soon as you get there for all the days you'll stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

They need to improve the check in process.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
The Resort is excellent, excellent facilities, and excellent night shows. The only thing they need to improve is the check in process, because it takes to long, like an hour.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new mexico

Too big, no hospitality and 1.5 hours from airport

Posted Jul 18, 2016
I do not recommend this hotel. There was all buffets except 1 which was never open. The room air was sticky and uncomfortable. The water was too choppy to swim and the staff wasn't necessarily rude they were indifferent to you. We moved hotels after the first night to a smaller resort "now sapphire" which was amazing! Water is calm, staff is excellent, air in room was crisp. I recommend staying in this general area-Peurto Morelas-everything is close and water is nice, 30 minutes from airports.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Limpieza

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Muchisimo
Cons: La limpieza, sobre todo en áreas comunes
Location: En el hotel hay muchas actividades que hacer, la realidad es que si quieres encerrarte ahi y disfrutar de todo el complejo, tienes todo.
Es un excelente hotel, pero tienen temas de limpieza que atender, sobre todo en las áreas comunes. El servicio es muy bueno, pero si hay esa oportunidad de mejorar.