Ratings based on 546 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ok

beautiful tropical theme hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: loved the tropical theme in the rooms also the heated infinity pool was a huge plus and the swings instead of stools at the bar at the beach was nice
Cons: in some areas near the underground restrooms there was an unpleasant smell
Location: we basically just stayed at the hotel and relaxed
overall my experience was incredible and will stay here again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Not the dream we were looking for...

Posted Jan 30, 2017
To start, I was on the phone with expedia the day before our trip for about 3 hours because the resort didn't have our reservation. After being told everything was taken care the resort still didn't have it upon arrival. The staff was very rude about it. It felt like they were making fun of us. Once it was found we were told what room we would be staying in but that it wasn't ready yet as check in was at 3pm and it was 12:15. No big deal. Then we were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a preferred club room. After declining, we were treated like we didn't matter anymore and were treated poorly. Before we could even stand up we were being sold on other resorts connected with dreams at another desk by a promoter. And we were harassed the next morning at 8am to go on a tour of the other resorts. Our room ended up not being ready until 3:30 and it wasn't the room we were told we were getting, and our plunge pool had food in it and was filthy. We never saw anyones plunge pool being cleaned. And unless you requested your room be cleaned by a certain time, it wasn't done until after 430. Other than that, in general, the food and drinks weren't anything special. We've had much better at other all inclusives. We did enjoy Bordeaux and Oceana for dinner and our waiters those nights. And the drink waiters on the beach were good. Otherwise the wait staff was disappointing and rude. And there were kids everywhere, go to an adults only resort if possible. Overall very disappointed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Awesome. It was great. We loved the infinity pool. Wish it was less windy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice and not too big resort

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: room and staff
Cons: food options for vegetarian
Dreams Rivier - a very well maintained and cosy resort with very friendly and helpful staff. The room we were in was a plunge pool and the kids loved it. The room could have little bit more storage space, but we didn't mind our stuff on the couch, so no worries there. The staff was very courteous and helpful. All the request were responded by "its my pleasure to serve you" and with a smile. We wish we could have found more vegetarian friendly food choices. The drinks were good. Please try the vodka, cranberry juice and peach liquor shot (I think) and its called "wet p***y"
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Nice lobby area/lounge. Nice pools and white sandy beach. Good resort layout and well appointed rooms. Really enjoyed nightly turn down service.
Cons: Better food selection at the buffet, more activities for teens and young adults after 5:00.
Location: Crococun was fantastic. Puerto Morelos
The resort itself was quite beautiful and the rooms were well designed/appointed. We really enjoyed the food at the main restaurants that were open for dinner service, and the fact that you didn't have a limit as to the number of times you visited any one restaurant during your stay, but the daily buffet fell short. This resort is best suited for families with small children, not for those over 13 or for young adults. There were few activities and they essentially rolled up the sidewalk after 5:00. Even the night club, Desires, and the hot tub that were supposed to be dedicated adult areas became drop-offs for young kids. The poolside movies at night were great if you were wanting to watch Jungle Book or Toy Story. What water sports that were available had an additional charge. The Christmas Gala had an additional $100 US/pp charge. There was a lot of pressure to "visit" their other sister-sites for "resort credits". The resort credits that we already had were actually coupons with a lot of restrictions. We enjoyed the pools and the beautiful white sandy beach. The water was too rough for swimming, and snorkeling required a boat ride and additional fee. We enjoyed the fact that we could walk along the beach to the local town of Puerto Morelos. There are a lot of other resorts that might have been a bit farther from the airport, and those are the ones we would consider in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome vacation

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Very good vacation. All the employees made sure everyone was taken care of and with a smile on their face. Josue was awesome he worked at the beach swing bar and was out there everyday making sure our group was having a good time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

There are better choices out there!

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: The property seem to be relatively new and well-cared for, and the resort staff is friendly and polite and genuinely makes an effort to please you.
Cons: A lot, starting with treating their guests with respect.
This resort seems to be the place for wedding celebration - we were there for this same reason as wedding guests, and we've seen 2-3 weddings daily during our short 4 days' visit. They perfected the art of organized, mass-produced wedding ceremonies and do a good job while they're at it. Unfortunately, our stay at Dreams Riviera was marred big time by the renovation that was conducted in the room right above us. It's inconceivable to justify why a messy, noisy and smelly renovation, one that involves moving the furniture and replacing floor tiles in a bathroom (hammering the old tiles away to put the new ones in) had to happen during Saturday and Sunday of the Thanksgivings Day weekend - one of the busiest time of the year for any respectable resort (and one of the "high-season" times when you pay premium for a room that otherwise would have been offered at 60% discount or remained unsold). I couldn't find a good reason why the renovation had to start at 8 o'clock in the morning on Saturday and couldn't be postponed until Monday - Tuesday of the following week when the majority of guests were leaving in hordes. What is even more disappointing is that the resort management offered no warning, no substitute room and no apology for disrupting our stay - the renovation activities continued even after we complained to the hotel staff. No managerial staff was on duty either, the only person who responded to our calls was a Chief Concierge, and she couldn't get a hold of anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B.C. Canada

Super clean hotel and great amenities!

Posted Nov 18, 2016
We had a wonderful experience at the Dreams Rivera Cancun. The staff were wonderful to us and the property itself was amazing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with a few flaws

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Had a very pleasant stay. The beach is amazing, the pool area is very nice and clean and has a lot of activities. The rooms were nice though I would improve on the A/C because we couldn't control the fan speed. One huge thing I would want to see improved is the WiFi which was absolutely horrible anywhere except for the lobby. This was a huge disappointment, it kept disconnecting and worked very slow especially inside the rooms. The food was a little bland and was nothing exceptional but wasn't the worst. Overall I did enjoy my stay but would improve on some aspects.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on CheapTickets
Where do I start? If we were to have stayed in the lobby or our room, everything would have been fine. Outside of that I was not impressed at all. The bar takes an average of 20 minutes to get a drink. Birds were eating off the buffet and no employees cared. It was gross. The adult only restaurant was SO slow to do anything. And to top it all off, I came home with bug bites.