Ratings based on 353 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Very outdated place, tiny rooms, small bathrooms. The beds were not super comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Friendly welcome and very neat, clean and quiet room. Also, enjoyed the mineral springs hot tub and view of trees from deck and room.
Cons: Not anything of which I am aware as I spent a quick night in and out. Complimentary breakfast would have been a treat.
Location: Wasn't able to explore area because I was focused on granddaughter's graduation while there. Beautiful area, however.
Sycamore Minerals Springs Resort was an excellent choice of hotel for attending my granddaughter's graduation from Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo. It was a retreat of it's own. I wish I could have stayed there longer and really experienced the hotel amenities, grounds and surrounding area to a greater degree. I felt welcome from the beginning, and was very pleasantly surprised with the neatness, cleanliness and QUIETNESS of my room. Also, I thoroughly enjoyed the mineral Jacuzzi on my deck and appreciated the lovely view of the sky and surrounding trees. Also, it was an easy driving distance from campus. Good to separate from congestion of downtown San Luis Obispo. I look forward to staying there again if and when the opportunity presents itself.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Grover Beach,CA

Honeymoon

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
relaxing
1 out of 5
by Sharareh D.

too overpriced

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Orbitz
The location of the resort is excellent, a lot of great hiking around. That is only good thing I can say about this resort, the hotel rooms are outdated, the shower area and shower faucet are old and have a lot mineral build up, the staff are unhelpful. You get your own private tub in the balcony, but it is not very clean.I wanted to check in early and they told me the room was not available and the check in time is in 20 min, I stood few feet away waiting for the check in time, I asked to be checked in again at the correct and they ignored me first then told me I have to wait again. Forty minutes after the check in time and after brushing me off three times, I finally checked in. My room was located above a steep heel and no one offered to help me out to carry my bag to my room even though there were gulf carts were available. There is only one restaurant around the area and the food is horrible. overall, I recommend a day trip to this resort to use the amenities, and go for a nice hike, other wise the room and service is not worth the price
4 out of 5
by Tim from Torrance

Good place to relax

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
Weekend getaway. You can smell sulfur odor, but not much you can do about that. Pretty cozy and relaxing place. Next room had a couple of kids, unfortunately. : ( Nothing to do with the hotel. It was just a bad luck! Morning walk was awesome!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2015
We go to the hotel at 3:50 and they would not let us check in. I realize that it was a check in of 4 but I literally had to just go to the end of the line and then we got checked in. The room was ready and this was just dumb. The bed had sand in it and the shower had some hair. We were not happy at all and will not be returning. I was very disappointed as we had wanted to stay here for years. We enjoyed the hot tub and the staff was very pleasant at the front desk. I do not blame them for us not being to check in. I know this is hotel policy but it was a tad ridiculous.
5 out of 5
by Ruben J.

we had a great time here.

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Orbitz
my wife and I had an amazing experience here. we had a couples massage that was very relaxing.
5 out of 5
by Donald

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond Va

beautiful grounds, spa facilities top notch,

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: grounds, beautiful
Cons: nothing
Location: near beach, mostly in coastal woods, mineral spring spa
Hotell staff could not have been better. Received value for money spend
4 out of 5
by karin from California

Different rooms are very different!

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
I LOVED my stay here. We were in the remodeled King suite, and previously had been in the remodeled Queen suite. Both MARVELOUS!! Comfortable, plush, big bedroom, living room, large bathroom. However, I had booked a "regular room" for my son and his room was like being in a completely different hotel. There were 2 Full beds, in a small strange room. This room had not been remodeled. We had completely different hotel experiences with the markedly different rooms. To end on a good note. The restaurant is SUPERB!!