Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond Va

beautiful grounds, spa facilities top notch,

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: grounds, beautiful
Cons: nothing
Location: near beach, mostly in coastal woods, mineral spring spa
Hotell staff could not have been better. Received value for money spend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

All is good except one minor thing

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Good location, obviously mineral springs, nice hikes to the beach. Only one restaurant though but the food selection is good for 1-2 nights. When we tried to make a reservation a day in advance, we were told no reservations, just come in tomorrow. However when we came the next day (at 7PM), all tables were taken and a couple of tables were empty but reserved (!). So I did not understand how some people were able to make reservations, but not us. That was strange. Another thing. To get to the swimming pool and the spa, you have to go though the gift shop. So on the way there were we stopped by the gentleman at the gift shop. Here is the conversation: Man: - How may I help you? - We are good, thank you. When we were about to proceed to the swimming pool and the spa, we heard the man yelled: Sir, excuse me!? - yes? Man: - The access to the spa actually by appointments only. (how did he know if we had or did not have appointment?) - we are actually going to the pool. Man: Are you staying at this hotel? - Yes. Man: Ok, then. No comments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by kyung ok

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: If nothing, honest display of their room/facility condition.
The room we got was a total disappointment – totally unimaginable from the pictures. If I knew that there is an even slight possibility that I could be offered to stay in such a room; I would not choose this hotel, I would choose a motel, at the least I would choose motel6; at least I would know what I would get... It is that simple. We got a basement room with an extreme smell, a broken ceiling fan and a not-working air conditioner. As soon as you enter, you feel like in a cave; dark and smelly. Although it might be a natural smell; it was quite disturbing, likely because it was a basement-level. The hottub did not give the feeling of cleanliness; and since it was not covered, it was full of stuff (leaves etc.). The hottub creaked in continuously, and gave the feeling of breaking apart, even without anyone in it. The so-called-balcony was covered with very ugly and tall gate, giving the feeling of an enclosed-concrete-place. The air-conditioner was repaired during our stay. The cleanliness was ok (at the lower end of average); the room furniture was old, although was not an issue for us. On top of everything, when I complained about the status of the room and the advertising pictures, I got a total rude and irresponsible answer of “well, you reserved through expedia; it is not on us, it is the problem of expedia not updating the pictures, etc…” Anyhow, I considered this as a total waste of money and time. If I knew, I would not stay in there, even if it were free...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hotel was okay....

Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was older, but furnishings were updated and nice. Biggest complaint was the bathroom. Very small, ventilation not great. Don't go there unless you want a romantic getaway or plan to use the spa facilities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was just OK.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Walls were paper thin so everything was heard. Overall cleanliness was ok but certain parts of the prosperity need to be updated. Front Staff was the biggest letdown. Not very accommodating at all. They had a " that's just the way things are attitude". I know the central coast prices are higher but the cost of the stay was over priced for what you got compared to other area resorts and the treatment from the front staff. All other staff was very nice and appeared happy to be there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Natalie from Long Beach

Perfect weekend getaway

Posted Apr 5, 2015 on Hotels
We got a suite with a hot tub on the patio. It was positioned against a hill which made it feel like we were out in a cabin all alone. Great stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Price too high for accommodations

Posted Apr 5, 2015
The concept is good but the 5 star price doesn't fit the facilities. Grounds and lobby are good, not great. The old steel pilings sticking out of the forest from the original planned rooms is a real eyesore. Room interiors are newly remodeled, this part is excellent. The tubs are old fiberglass and the plumbing to them is exposed raw piping. Not worth $400 per night for a King. $250 would be reasonable if you can get it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Skip this hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2015
The jacuzzi is not worth the price. Facilities are run down and in need of a remodel bad. Head down to the Avila Suites instead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

50th Anniversary trip

Posted May 17, 2013
Pros: We were able to stay in one place without needing to drive anywhere. Found it a very peaceful experience.
Cons: The hot tub on the deck wasn't very comfortable.
Location: Avila Beach was an eye opener. Since we had last visited it has been completely changed into a lovely resort destination.
Celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at the Sycamore Springs and enjoyed it very much. We hiked the short rather steep hike for the view of Avila, swam in the pool and ate all meals in the restaurant.