Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2018
Not good. Noisy place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GB

great value for short stay

Posted Oct 12, 2017
I wasn't given the best room, ground floor so a lot of traffic noise but comfy bed. Absolutely fine for an overnight stay. Yordan was not there but phoned to make sure everything was alright. I pointed out that there wasn't a microwave in the shared kitchen and intended to cook my own food. Within half an hour a microwave appeared so I can't fault the customer service. The booked taxi arrived on time next morning. I've stayed here before and would certainly book again and recommend. It's close to the airport and great value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Friendly staff, nice room, spacious, air conditioning, public transport nearby
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Yordan, Hotel Management
Thank you, Pedro.
5 out of 5
by Kent

Fantastic Stay

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing all around. Yordan was the most accommodating and helpful person we've ever met. He went above and beyond to provide us with the most amazing experience. Thank you Yordan!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017
Thank you Kent and Sam.
5 out of 5
by Gareth

PERFECT FOR MY SHORT TRIP!!!

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Yordan the owner pick me up at 1:30am with a smile and very helpful. Room was perfect, clean, comfy with everything I needed for my short stay. I would recommend this guest house to all my friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
The room was very basic but clean with a reasonably comfortable bed. The owner was great very accommodating and helpful and collected me from airport and delivered me to bus station next morning, helping me get the correct ticket. He was very pleasant courteous & helpful. The only worry for me was that where I was staying appeared to be a converted garage / storeroom. Which had a shower room and a window. But I was the only person in that building there were neighbors ( with a noisy dog) up an outside stair and owners stayed some undefined distance away. As I am a woman on my own with no Bulgarian language, staying in a not very nice area this was a bit of a worry. It was Ok for the one night I was there and perhaps for students it would be fine but not for a single female on her own. It was an inexpensive, basic, one night stopover and as that was fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Loondon, UK

Noisy Hotel Close to a busy road!

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: The room itself was OK
Cons: The NOISE!!!!!!! No air con. Smelly bathroom.
Location: Nothing
Air con does not work; dogs keep barking outside; traffic is noisy (cars and motorbikes going up and down all night and you can hear people talking outside as they walk buy. You can hear other guests at the hotel making noise as they come and go. I was woken up about 3 or 4 times in the early morning by guests leaving and talking loudly outside my room! Why I paid their high fees to not be able to sleep because of all the noise - I do not know? Bathroom is damp and smells. I would not stay in this hotel again even if it was free. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!
4 out of 5
by Brendan from Missoula, MT

Amazed by the Hospitality, Tired by the Walk

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
While the Avel guest house is a decent trip from the heart of Sofia (don't walk, and don't let the taxi drivers swindle you--it shouldn't be more than 7 leva, but I was charged 25), the distance is really more than made up for by the hospitality and helpfulness of the staff. Jordan, who I believe runs Avel now, brought me a map, made me some tea, explained his favorite sites, and taught me a little Bulgarian and would have helped me more and more if I'd asked, I'm sure of it. He was really a model of hotel service and for him alone I would recommend Avel. That, and the very reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Brendan. Yordan
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not the best .. but for the cost it is a great dea

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels
not the best but fr the cost it is a great deal and the owner and manager was a great help
1 out of 5
by george from Athens

do not have it in hotel .com list

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
It was wrong address, then I found it 200 m away but was closed, nobody there , when i have arrived at midnight, i called the tel no and the guy said in bad english that i booked late and he did not see the booking and he was far away at his home, i was speaking with roaming for 15 minutes, taxi driver waiting and charging but i could not undersatnd each other with the owner of Avel. The area and the establishment look abandoned and unlighted. I did not stay there because nobody was there to open to me. I wonder why you have this guest house still in your list. Note i arrived midnight as stopover and I wanted to rest only 5 hours and fly again, i have send such a message with my booking but the owner said he did not read it! Very bad experience,