Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Loondon, UK

Noisy Hotel Close to a busy road!

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: The room itself was OK
Cons: The NOISE!!!!!!! No air con. Smelly bathroom.
Location: Nothing
Air con does not work; dogs keep barking outside; traffic is noisy (cars and motorbikes going up and down all night and you can hear people talking outside as they walk buy. You can hear other guests at the hotel making noise as they come and go. I was woken up about 3 or 4 times in the early morning by guests leaving and talking loudly outside my room! Why I paid their high fees to not be able to sleep because of all the noise - I do not know? Bathroom is damp and smells. I would not stay in this hotel again even if it was free. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!
4 out of 5
by Brendan from Missoula, MT

Amazed by the Hospitality, Tired by the Walk

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
While the Avel guest house is a decent trip from the heart of Sofia (don't walk, and don't let the taxi drivers swindle you--it shouldn't be more than 7 leva, but I was charged 25), the distance is really more than made up for by the hospitality and helpfulness of the staff. Jordan, who I believe runs Avel now, brought me a map, made me some tea, explained his favorite sites, and taught me a little Bulgarian and would have helped me more and more if I'd asked, I'm sure of it. He was really a model of hotel service and for him alone I would recommend Avel. That, and the very reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Brendan. Yordan
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not the best .. but for the cost it is a great dea

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels
not the best but fr the cost it is a great deal and the owner and manager was a great help
1 out of 5
by george from Athens

do not have it in hotel .com list

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
It was wrong address, then I found it 200 m away but was closed, nobody there , when i have arrived at midnight, i called the tel no and the guy said in bad english that i booked late and he did not see the booking and he was far away at his home, i was speaking with roaming for 15 minutes, taxi driver waiting and charging but i could not undersatnd each other with the owner of Avel. The area and the establishment look abandoned and unlighted. I did not stay there because nobody was there to open to me. I wonder why you have this guest house still in your list. Note i arrived midnight as stopover and I wanted to rest only 5 hours and fly again, i have send such a message with my booking but the owner said he did not read it! Very bad experience,
4 out of 5
by Early traveler from Amsterdam

Happy with the service

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
Very clean, nice room size, all new. Quality is exceptional. The owner does all to make you stay comfortable. If you are catching early flight from Sofia Airport, you can use with not regrets. Not so much to see around. So for one night stay was just right.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outstanding

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels
My family was very pleased with the room and the services provided. Pick up and drop off from and to the airport were offered on a minimal cost. I am highly recommending this guesthouse.
5 out of 5
by Furkan from London

Superb Service

Posted Aug 23, 2013 on Hotels
Avel is cosy guesthouse, conveniently located for the airport. It's excellent value for money, comfortable and everything you'd expect from a guesthouse if you just want a clean place with good basic facilities. What makes Avel so special though is the owner Yordan. I have stayed in many family owned motels/guest houses/B&Bs and many have friendly owners. But Yordan is truly special. He treats his customers as guests, is extremely helpful with directions and ready with all sorts of info. In my case I had a completely unexpected change of plan and Yordan bent over backwards to accommodate my changed schedule on 13 August. I've never had a more helpful service than that provided by Yordan. Highly Recommend
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bulgaria

Ideal for airport

Posted Jun 2, 2013 on Hotels
Ideal for airport,and bus station which I needed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good accomodation

Posted Dec 23, 2012
Pros: staff so accommodating
Cons: nothing
Location: 10 minutes from Sofia Airport. grocery shop and cafe within walking distance
arrived early and they advised that because they were not expecting me early then my room was not warm yet, however they offered to give me an extra heater. staff very friendly and accommodating. arranged a taxi for me back to the airport. room very clean and comfortable. will be recommending this guest house
5 out of 5
by Estill

Excellent value

Posted Oct 17, 2012 on Hotels
This place is clean and everything works. It is well maintained. The owners go out of their way to meet guest needs. Alone in a strange country I felt safe and comfortable. I stopped there twice. One taxi driver had a little difficulty finding it at night. I'd stay again.