Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Willits CA

Rickety, primitive, charming

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Charming rustic setting, fairy lights over the walkways at night; wifi available if you ask for password at front desk.
Cons: Plumbing rickety but functional -- tighten some bolts :) Lamp and table on either side of bed Window screens
Location: Lucky Mojo Curio Co. is in Forestville, 10 min. away.
We took a small cabin when attending the Lucky Mojo Hoodoo Heritage Festival in May. We found Dawn Ranch to be restful and quiet. The food at the Agriculture Public House is amazing though pricey. Seriously, though, worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Great stay !! Would go back, the room was the perfect size. Great property
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Adrian Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.
5 out of 5
by kristin

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I would like to thank you for taking time to leave us a review, we know our guests time is very precious and appreciate it when you can let us know how we are preforming. Thank you once again and we look forward to having you stay again in the future.
4 out of 5
by David

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you taking time out of your day to give us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
My partner and I had a great experience on our first visit to Dawn Ranch. The cabins are rustic and amenities are fairly basic: no hairdryer; no iron / ironing board; coffee/tea are in the lobby instead of in the room; and there is no TV or phone in the room. All of this was fine with us, but is useful to know beforehand. Otherwise, our room was clean, comfortable, and charming. What really stood out to me about Dawn Ranch was the customer service. We visited on a quiet weekend and were offered an upgrade to a larger room with a fireplace. Unfortunately, the fireplace didn't work, at which point we were offered a new room. We decided not to move, and were then offered complimentary mimosas at brunch the next morning. I really felt like the staff was invested in making sure guests enjoyed themselves. We ate dinner at the on-site restaurant, Agriculture, which was delicious. When we first walked in, a few locals were sitting at the bar and immediately told us, "Best. Place. EVER." Only warning is that the service was quite slow.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We pride ourselves in offering our guests a memorable stay. I would also like to apologize for our slower then usual service in our restaurant. We have been making some changes to make our dinning experiences as memorable and pleasant as our over night guests experience. Once again thank you for taking time to leave us a review on your stay and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the near future. Adrian Vasquez Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
The cottage was freezing. The heater was completely inadequate. It's probably fine for the summer, but I would not recommend this place at all for the winter.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us at Dawn Ranch. I am sorry our heating system was unable to keep your cabin at a comfortable temperature. This is our first winter we have been open in a few years and we are figuring out some of our rooms don't hold heat like others. I would like to offer you our apologies and hope you will give us another chance in the future to put a better foot forward. If there is anything I can do for you please don't hesitate to contact me. Best regards, Adrian Vasquez Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey for your most recent stay with us at Dawn Ranch. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Best regards, Adrian Vasquez Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us in regards to your recent stay at Dawn Ranch. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Best regards, Adrian Vasquez Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful Historic Lodge

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Location: You can walk to the entire downtown with restaurants, bars and interesting little stores. The river is accessible at the back of the property.
We always love staying at Dawn Ranch. It is not only beautiful and comfortable, but feels like a visit back in time. Ask Michael to tell you a little about its history and appreciate it even more! A must stay in Guerneville!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Adrian Vasquez Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am glad that we are continuing to make your stays memorable. I hope we see you sooner rather than later. Michael is always around to chat with our guests which is such a treat. Thank you again and have a great day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

neat retreat

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Staying here made us feel like this is how people would have vacationed back in the good ol' days.
Cons: Even just one tiny, like 20" tv with a few channels in each cabin would be great.
It's a no frills type of place, but with plenty of charm. When I say no frills, I mean no tv, limited wifi, no hair dryer, small bathroom/ shower, no radio, no microwave, no mini fridge...very basic room. I knew most of this stuff was absent when I booked, but just trying to give everybody fair warning. The charm comes from the little cabin, which was clean and in good shape, and the surrounding trees. We didn't try the pool since it was too cool out, but it looked nice. The town was a very short walk and there's plenty to keep you busy for a day if you're on foot. There was also a grocery store very close by with a Starbucks inside. Housecleaning did a good job every day. Overall, it was a very quiet and relaxing place to stay. We plan on staying here again the next time we find ourselves in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by Adrian Vasquez Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Troy thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. I realize sometimes during the down time in the cabin a TV would be a very nice addition but unfortunately at this time we are unable to update the many items needed to include these. We do however offer two TV's in the Agriculture Bar which are usually on. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us some feedback and we look forward to seeing yo in the near future.