Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No room on arrival. Pushed into another hotel.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
We arrived hot and tired after driving from Naples to find out that our room (which had been reserved for at least 8 months) was not available and furthermore the hotel was fully booked and had no room to give us! They said there had been a fault with their booking system. We were put into another Hotel (supposedly 4* but definitely not) just down the road, although the Europa took full payment for the reservation at their hotel. We were very unhappy about this change. We were expecting a sea view,a pool overlooking the sea and breakfast on the terrace with a great view of Vesuvius and the ocean. We had none of those things in the other hotel. Since found out that this has happened to someone else at the same hotel. Makes you wonder if they do that all the time??
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent, uk

Great location and views.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Lovely hotel to stay at with the town centre within minutes. Polite staff and great service. I'd have been happier if I wasn't charged for our cappuccinos, and if the walls were thicker!.. Can hear all the conversations in the room next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wales

Hotel in great location

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Location close to the centre of Sorrento.
Location: Plenty of places to eat and have a drink and also the shops on the cobbled streets.
Nice hotel in great location. Sunbeds on a jetty was a different experience and thought that they were too close together. We were glad that it wasn't too busy there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel and perfect location for exploring

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: The standard of rooms and the hotel was brilliant. The buffet breakfast was the best we have ever had holidaying in Europe. Perfect location for explo
Cons: We were a little disapointed to find that the swimming pool was closed, assumedly as it wasn't the summer season. We didnt realise this when we booked
Location: Perfect central location. The train station and bus station is a 2 minute walk away, as is the centre of Sorrento with plenty of restuarants and shops
We found a very reasonable last minute deal through Expedia for this hotel so weren't sure what to expect but we were very impressed. The location was perfect as a base to explore. The airport coach transfer from Naples drops you at the train and bus station which is a 2 minute walk from the hotel. From here you can get a frequent train service to Pompeii and Versuvius. You can also get the local bus service along the Amalfi coast. Both are very cheap methods of travelling - single tickets cost no more than 3 euros per person. As well as a base to explore other towns, the hotel is also perfectly placed in the middle of Sorrento. You are a 2 minute walk to the main square and little lanes full of restaurants and shops. Marina Grande is also worth visiting and only a 10 minute walk away for a quiet little beach and popular fish restaurants. You watch the little fishing boats coming in and fishermen on the end of the pier catching fish that goes straight to the restaurants. The hotel breakfast was brilliant, full section of continental cereals, cheeses, pastries etc as well as bacon, eggs and other hot food and was included in the room price. The room was very spacious and clean and had been recently redecorated. The bathroom was clean too and the shower was very powerful. We did have a little problem with ants on the last night (though this was our fault for leaving food out) but the hotel staff moved us immediately into the room next door and were very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pnw

Photos of pool can be deceiving

Posted Mar 23, 2016
The good- hotel clean, front desk staff and porter were very friendly and helpful, nice view and waking distance to plaza. The bad- the photo of the pool sold us, however we went in the off season and the pool was closed, dirty, covered in debris and the docks were disassembled as well. Rooms were outdated and the bed was ultra firm. Way over priced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient Sorrento hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: Location and view
Cons: The size of the shower was a joke. 600x800. Tiny room.
Location: You can walk most places from there. Quite close to bus and train station and CENTRE of town.
Service not great at all. When I mentioned the size of the shower I was told, well it's an economy room. When I wanted to sit outside but the chairs were still wet, the lady sweeping told me she would find someone from the bar to come and dry it, which took so long I eventually left and went and sat inside. I just get the impression that guests are more of a nuisance than the reason they have a job.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset UK

Lovely view of Bay of Naples

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: The position and gardens were excellent
Cons: Did not offer any information about lunch or evening meals and no prices were shown.
Location: Plenty of restaurants and shops nearby.
Perfectly positioned to get fantastic views and also conveniently close to the centre of Sorrento
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Lovely hotel overlooking the bay

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: Its location - directly on the bay with stunning views and close proximity to the centre of Sorrento.
Cons: The ensuite bathrooms could be improved by refurbishment.
Lovely relaxing stay at the Grand Europa Palace. Reminiscent of yesteryear, this hotel is beautifully furnished but needs a little updating in the ensuite bathrooms. Location is perfect - right on the bay with stunning views and close to the square at the centre of Sorrento. Close to the bus station, the hotel is accessed easily from the airport. All in all a lovely experiece.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sorrento

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: The bathroom could be updated
Location: Sorrento is a great place to base yourself to see the Amalfi Coast. Lots of great restaurants within an easy walking distance.
Stayed recently for 4 nights. Room comfortable and clean although in older part of the hotel. The hotel is located within an easy walk from the train station and a quick walk to the main part of Sorrento. The breakfast is wonderful with a varied menu and the staff are welcoming. We would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Brilliant views. excellent location

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Location and views
Cons: Bathrooms and bed a little tired
Location: Pompeii an easy cheap train ride away 8 Euros return, Amalfi easy bus ride. Port easy access. Naples an hour train ride 7.20 euros for two one way
Independent traveller, easy journey from Naples Airport by airport bus to railway station, Interesting ride on very cheap local railway. Hotel a few minutes walk from Sorrento train station making this a very reasonable price for travel. Hotel has excellent views of the Bay of Naples, Vesuvius, Port and Capri. Good breakfast, making a good start to the day with eating on the terrace looking out at the view on offer. Staff very attentative. Do not listen to negative views, consider what it is you are looking at for your holiday. If you are wanting a hotel in a good location that offers easy walking access to all modes of public transport that enables you to visit attractions without the need for expensive tours then this hotel is ideal.