Featured Image

Reviews of Howard Johnson by Wyndham Amherst Hadley

2 out of 5

COVID-19 alert: Travel requirements are changing rapidly, including need for pre-travel COVID-19 testing and quarantine on arrival.

Overall score and ratings

3.6

Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 215 out of 977 reviews
5 - Excellent 22%
Rating 4 - Good. 371 out of 977 reviews
4 - Good 38%
Rating 3 - Okay. 226 out of 977 reviews
3 - Okay 23%
Rating 2 - Poor. 102 out of 977 reviews
2 - Poor 10%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 63 out of 977 reviews
1 - Terrible 6%

3.7/5

Cleanliness

4.0/5

Staff & service

3.6/5

Amenities

3.4/5

Property conditions & facilities

1/5 Terrible

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
The tub in bathroom was surface damaged badly and they would not authorize a room change. Phone cord was missing as well.
Stayed 8 nights in Jul 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The original room we checked into hadn't been cleaned at all - unchanged sheets, garbage strewn around the room, pile of dirty towels in the bathroom. We were downgraded from queen beds to double, with no compensation. They had no cots available. Our toilet was broken and making a horrible screeching noise, and sometimes wouldn't flush. The carpets were filthy. The elevator was out of service. The breakfast offerings were quite limited. The staff was kind and did what they could to accommodate, but still I would never stay here again.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
There is an outdoor pool listed and photos of this great outdoor pool! July 2021 the pool has been closed since 2020. There is no pool. Also the elevator was broken. We asked for a rollaway bed at 5pm and went out. They said they would bring one up. At 10pm we came back and there was none, we asked again and was told there were none?!? The staff are courteous and friendly. The takeaway continental breakfast is okay, coffee fruit cereal. They allow dogs
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Curtains were very dirty, laundry facilities were closed at 10 Oman’s we were planning to do laundry at night. Breakfast was a bagged but Ok.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

1/5 Terrible

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Terrible stay, hallways had extremely bad odors, hallway carpets weren’t vacuumed, the elevator didn’t work. Other than that the people at the service desk are nice.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff at this hotel was helpful and accommodating as best as they could be. The hotel was dirty and unacceptable. The rooms smelled like smoke, bugs in rooms, bathroom dirty and unkept.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Staff very competent. Enjoyed breakfast space and offerings. For the price excellent value.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This is the absolute worst hotel!!! We arrived and our room was not ready. We were told to come back for another hour. When we arrived back to the hotel the computers did not work. Finally we get our room and the elevators are broken. We get to our room and the carpet is soaking wet. I called the front desk and they would send someone up. No one ever came. Went to the front desk and told we are fully booked can’t give us another room. I had to find us another room and they did not apologize nor would they give us a refund because we had booked through a 3rd party. Never stay at this place!!! It is a dump.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Property was dirty and dated- reservation was for 2 queen beds and when we checked in the only had a king
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Hostess was very accommodating to meet our needs during family emergency
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very friendly staff, good price, veey close location to Amherst downtown
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great location, nice staff, good breakfast.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Business traveler, Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It was pretty solid for the price
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
When I called the day before they said the pool was open to 10 pm, when I checked in they said the pool was closed,the pool was the reason I picked this hotel, very disappointed
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
bathroom floor was dirty and greasy. never saw a maid in two days but probably a Covid shortage. Maintenance man seemed very busy and hard working.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The worst hotel
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We left as soon as we saw the room. It was moldy smelling and wall paper was pealing from the walls in sheets. This was a basement room. The hotel is in very poor condition and not kept up at all.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
location
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

2/5 Poor

Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Nice breakfast
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
run down and gross.. overflowing toilet i should get a full refund
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family and small children
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
I just feel it is outdated and needs a spruce up. The door next to ours had a huge dent in it like someone was trying to break the door open. The tv channels didn’t work, the phone kept blinking even though there was no messages, the pool was closed and if I new that I would not have stayed there and paid so much. The breakfast was sad to say the least. I know pandemic has been tough but this poor hotel needs help. Also they required masks on at all times in the hotel even after Gov Baker basically did away with them.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities
I have been given an occupied room!!!!!!! Really surprised someone is already there when I opened the room
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

3/5 Okay

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service, amenities
Clean and adequate
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with pets, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
No
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Stayed 1 night in May 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
the tub grout was very dirty... the floor of the tub had the mat partially missing...rest was glued on. No waste basket in bathroom. ONly one waste basket in entire room. The room was VERY spacious with ample room to put luggage and items
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
I thought the staff was Unknowledgeable. The rooms need to be updated. The ceilings had wet and mold spots on them. I thought the ceiling was going to collapse onto the bed. And I’m pretty sure I heard a mouse in the room.
Stayed 1 night in May 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Decor was a little outdated and the rug had some stains
Stayed 1 night in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with pets, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
,
Stayed 1 night in May 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Amenities
The area is wonderful, and the staff was very friendly and kind. If you're looking for a 2 star hotel, don't look any further, it's right here.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Quiet and convenient ‘ and the staFf were great
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner, Traveled with pets
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great place to stay if traveling with pets.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with pets, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nothing fancy but a great place to stay with dogs: get a room on the first floor with a sliding glass door. People were very friendly and laid back.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Heat was broken. Had to argue to get a room with heat. Mold in shower. Leak in toilet. Lock on door broken.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021

1/5 Terrible

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Front Desk not aware of rooms' conditions....
Room was in extremely poor condition...
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service
Very basic accommodations. Room was clean but dated.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021

1/5 Terrible

Business traveler
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
The rooms were dirty. When my team checked in the beds weren’t maid and the floors were disgusting. They checked out immediately.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
My only issue was a smoky smell in the hallway, mixed with cleaning solutions.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Nothing new and it was standard experience.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The property is in terrible conditions. Rooms are moldy, carpets look dirty and old.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Valentines day’s
I like it very quiet and good breakfast in the morning. Great service thank you
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021