Ratings based on 277 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2018
The hotel was located right on the beach with a lovely view. I reserved this hotel about 2 months prior to arriving and asked for a room facing the ocean. However, I was offered a room facing the parking lot and was told that the ocean facing rooms cost considerably more (about $25/night more). We stayed for a week so this was quite an addition. The room had no amenities included such as a coffee maker although it had a fridge and microwave. The bathtub lacked a plug and we were unable to get one during our stay. Otherwise the stay was fine. The restaurant was good with very pleasant staff. Breakfast was OK, but the choices were limited.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2018 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2018 on Hotels
Staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was full service in the restaurant, better than expectations. Very quiet off season, only sounds of surf from the balcony. Good value.
3 out of 5
by rachel

Posted Jan 4, 2018 on Hotels
There was a women next door to our room who apparently lived at the hotel and she was rude and hateful and complained when we would walk by to leave our room. She said our walking was noisy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dec. 2017

Posted Jan 1, 2018 on Hotels
Front desk person was extremely helpful and went out of his way to assist with the accommodations (one out of two reservations was missing). This is an older economy hotel and it does not have an elevator, but the two rooms we had were clean and quiet. There was a refrigerator and microwave but no coffee maker in the room. The onsite restaurant (Marnicks) was excellent (very fresh food).
5 out of 5
by Maria

I love this place in special the restaurant

Posted Dec 26, 2017 on Hotels
It was very confortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stratford, CT

Small,personal, and self contained

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: We like the small size and personal attention we receive. We also like its location right on Long Island Sound.
Cons: We have noticed improvements each year. Since it is an old hotel/inn, keep working on improving the rooms and the grounds.
Location: The hotel has close, easy access to I-95, the train system and to the Port Jefferson Ferry.
We stay at this hotel because we can get up, have our coffee, and go for a walk on the beach without having to get in the car an drive somewhere. This fall, our weather was exceptionally nice and warm so we could have our breakfast outside and enjoy the sea gulls and the sound of the breakers on Long Island Sound. Among many things, during our stay this time, we took the train to NYC leaving from the Stratford station, took the ferry to Port Jefferson, and visited our granddaughter in Bridgeport. The hotel has wi-fi access so we could keep in touch with our business and do personal communications.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

The only think going for this Hotel was the beach

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: The beach view
Cons: Tear down the hotel and start over.
Location: there is nothing nearby....
The hotel needs major updates, including the smell. Rm 219 was ok but he bathroom need major updates, crack sink, vanity falling apart, ceiling paint falling off the onto the tub some black mold in the tub. Mattress was disgusting, i felt the coils penetrating my whole body not including the noise of rusted coils. The free continental breakfast was one free bagel, muffin or a waffle. The owners were rude. on the phone with friends while you wait until they were done talking about them getting off work to hang at the hot tub. I worked in hotels... customers always comes first. We check out a day early so we could get a credit on our credit card because the clerk was not allowed to credit the account unless the manager did it. So we waiting for the manager to approved it and it seems their computers were always down.. I find that strange. The only oerson that was nice was the housekeeper that working 24hrs.. She truly went our of her way for us..... we tip her very well. considered our over all stay...
5 out of 5
by nicholas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming Hotel next to the beach.

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Great little escape location Charming Hotel spot next to the beach. Absolutely beautiful and serene atmosphere. Breathtaking sunrises and sunsets. Hotel provides a comfy room stay. The Marnicks Restaurant has delicious food, friendly staff and fun drinks.