Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel not arte

Posted Oct 21, 2012
mattress was uncomfortable and lumpy. TV not adequate for international guests. some aspects of decor unusual and attractive. Very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joyce from Newbury United Kingdom

Good value for money

Posted Oct 10, 2012
Pros: Decor and friendly helpful staff.
Cons: Lift out of order
Location: Great with easy access to local restaurant and the sea.
This was a really interesting hotel with a mixture of traditional and modern in its decor. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They changed our room when the air conditioning didn't work and helped us with transport. Afternoon tea was a treat with a good selection in delightful cups. The location was brilliant in being near the harbour and it was easy to walk anywhere from there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2012
Great Location with friendly and helpful staff, comfortable rooms with excellent views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Salv from Cambridgeshire, UK

great hotel great location

Posted Sep 19, 2012
Pros: Decor
Location: superb
For the money this is fantastic value. A hotel to savour.
1 out of 5
by Amir

NOT RECOMMENDED

Posted Aug 27, 2012 on Hotels
Terrible Conditions. We moved 4 rooms and still were dissatisfied. Most of the rooms have no windows (so no air circulation) and the air condtioners barely work. The beds are something out of a horror film from the 70's, squeky and bouncy. The TV doesnt work, the shower head is unstable, the rooms are for the most part cramped and small. Overall it seems management doest care too much about the quality of the hotel. Ive never stayed in a 1 star hotel, but I guess this is as close as it gets.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from la calif

Posted Oct 21, 2011 on Hotels
good location on the island. this was and old palazzo and is very intresting. parking could be hard to find close by
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An excellent hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2010 on Hotels
After making short notice plans to visit Syracuse we couldn't have been luckier with our hotel choice. It's situated right in the centre of the tourist area and only a medium walk (or small taxi ride from the train station). Very pleased with the standard of the hotel, and rooms which were clean, bright and airy. Staff were very helpful and most were able to speak both French and English. No breakfast, but coffee and pastry shops nearby. Our room had a sea view, and a small balcony which was not expected considering the low price. It was comfortable for 3 people with a double and a single bed as well as ample storage space, and a small fridge and oven (no pots or pans, but we didn't look into using it so reception may have been able to arrange something). All in all, a great little hotel for what was a very good price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from perth , scotland

Syracusa - Hotel Residence Palazzo Giaraca

Posted Jul 14, 2010
Sicily is a beautiful island and very easy to get around by car. We hired a car at Airport on arrival ( Catania) and drove down to Syracusa ( Ortigia) . The roads are good and everything well signposted. driving in the towns slightly hairy at first, but you soon get used to the mad ( but good natured ), nature of the driving. Ortigia is very pretty and has lots of excellent restaurants and cafes. The Hotel Residence Palazzo was excellent- very friendly staff, very convenient location. We thoroughly enjoyed our first experience of Sicily and can't wait to go back sometime in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, B.C.

Hotel Residence Palazzo Giaracà

Posted Apr 26, 2010 on Hotels
A beautiful little boutique hotel right at the canal that separates Ortygia Island from Syracuse. An old residence, it has been cleverly adapted to keep its atmosphere and charm. We were there in March and enjoyed very personal service, although the lounge was not open for service. It is near to restaurants, an excellent laundromat -- desperately needed – shopping, and all of the sites we wanted to see. The rooms had antique furniture, and our travel partners’ room even had a hot plate and kettle. Nice secure parking, but we were glad we were the only car, as the lot is tiny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, UK

A hotel to return to

Posted Nov 2, 2009
The Palazzo Giaraca turned out to be a real treat. It is at the mainland end of Ortygia, within easy walking distance of the Cathedral and the main shops and is set just back from the harbour. A one-time family residence of real style, it has been sympathetically converted into a quiet hotel of few facilites outside the rooms but with spacious public areas and with delightful and helpful staff and a sense of quiet and calm. The central atrium must have once been the courtyard and a modern glass cased lift serves all the floors. The room – one with a balcony – was excellently clean and comfortable with a well equipped bathroom and comfortable bed. It looked out over the trees to the front and from the balcony the harbour was visible at the end of the road. The hotel does not provide breakfast but there is direct access from the reception to a good coffee shop, whose prices are very reasonable. Ortygia itself is a great place to stay with a wide variety of restaurants, all within walking distance of the hotel and several just a few steps away. This hotel is definitely somewhere to go back to, for its welcome and its sense of comfort and calm.