Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Helsingborg

Not recommended

Posted Jan 4, 2016
If you don't like service and think it's nice to have dust falling from the roof (because of the woodworms) in your face while sleeping, this is the hotel for you! The staff is quite lazy, it took them 3 days from our arrival to even clean the pool. They had know idea that we had booked a room when we arrived. I showed a copy of our booking (on swedish).. and they didn't check our passport. Didn't know when we were checking out either. The guy, who is called the hotelmanager is kind of creepy. First thing he told us was that if we wanted to go on any boattrip we shouldn't go with those guys who sells trips on the beach, "they're cheap but not good". We went on a trip with a guy who sold trips on the beach, it was great. If you get bad food don't expect to get any compensation for it. I ordered ugali (looks like mashed potatoes) which was full of powder, couldn't eat it. They gave us 3$ discount and I was still hungry. That was the last time we had dinner at the hotel. The hotelroom was cleaned every day but the floor was still dirty after clearing. And this woodworms in the roof... in our room we noticed them mostly by the dust on the bed but also in the bathroom. In the evening it seems like a lot of friends to the staff hangs by the pool and make noises late at night. Some of the staff is good but most of them should have a lesson in service.. we couldn't stop wondering if the hotelowner know what's going on on his hotel?
2 out of 5
by Michael from København

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
+: Vi har bestilt en hytte til 3 personer, men får uden beregning to stillet til rådighed. Hytten var stor og dejlig og lige ved stranden. -: Selve hotellet fremstår noget slidt og misligholdt. På trods af, at vi er de eneste tre gæster på hele hotellet er restauranten alligevel mindst en time om at lave det mad vi bestiller. Desuden har restauranten kun ca 4 retter at vælge imellem. Dødkedeligt.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Strandhotel hat seine beste Zeit hinter sich..

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Ostküste von zanzibar.. windig, Hotel hat seine beste Zeit hinter sich..steht offenbar zum Verkauf, es wird nicht mehr investiert.. Restaurant ok, allerdings zu wenig Personal, daher wartet man lange auf das Dinner, besser am beach im kleinen einheimischen fischlokal einkehren..Pool ist gut und gepflegt..
2 out of 5
by alida from Vancouver


Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels
I should have heeded the more negative reviews or read through the lines of the others. I have been quite disappointed with this hotel. The windows have no latches at all and can't shut at all - anyone can climb in if they want. I asked for it to be fixed on the first day and it has never been fixed. The towel rack broke and I asked politely that it could be fixed - the manager said he would have it fixed, he didn't. It was the cleaning woman who got the repair man to do it. The general manager is usually laying in a chair at the front talking on a phone. I really don't know how all these other reviews say that the manager and the staff are great. The driver and the guy working the bar are the friendliest people there. Swimming has been difficult due to the wind and seaweed. The east coast has a lot of seaweed farming. So if you are looking for crystal clear water to swim in, it is better to try the west coast. The good things are that it is very quiet - there are no beach boys at all on this part of the beach. Lots of locals fishing etc so it feels more "authentic" than other parts of the country (or even near the italian resorts). It is pretty - the typical palm trees on the white sand beach. he food is good. The prices are high but consistent with other restaurants and hotels. I would not come back here. i would pay more for a better place and have a slightly shorter vacation.
3 out of 5
by Phyllis from Wyoming

Lovely view

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels
The view from this hotel is fantastic ! If you want a quiet, natural setting, this is it!! The staff are helpful and work to please guests The hotel is right on the edge of excellent. They just need to do some basic maintenance. Fix outside broken lights, replace broken windows , etc. the biggest problem we had was no water pressure. The shower just dribbled. We talked to the manager and he said he would turn on the pressure tank when we wanted a shower. But the pressure tank should be on all the time. Just a little tweeking would make this an outstanding place to escape noisy crowds and enjoy a lovely place in the Indian Ocean!
4 out of 5
by Sofie from Denmark

Perfect sea view

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels
This place is soo great, all the houses comes with a seaview and all have their own ceiling fan, and a nice and hot shower. The beach is quiet and we only had one day with a bit of tang on the beach. It is not easy to eat any other places, and at the restaurant the prices are high, and the food is okay, but not worth it. The only problem is that there isn't a lot of other places nearby, so we were forced to eat at the restaurant everyday.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 23, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ungenügend ist noch zu wenig

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: nichts
Cons: alles - es bedarf ein Komplettrenovierung
Location: in nächster Nnähe kann man gar nichts unternehmen
. . . da fällt mir nichts dazu ein, zumal ich mich daran auch nicht mehr erinnern mag.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Хороший двухзвёздочный отель для семейного отдыха

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels
Полноценная двойка, но кухня очень страдает.
4 out of 5
by Regina from Berlin

Schöne Anlage weit weg vom Touristenrummel.

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Schöne Zimmer, ruhige und sehr angenehme Athmosphäre! Kleines Fischerdorf (Uroa) in der Nähe!
Location: Außer Strandspaziergängen und Kontakt mit den Dorfbewohnern gibt es keine weiteren Unterhaltungsmöglichkeiten. Wer Ruhe sucht ist dort genau richtig!