Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by alida from Vancouver

Disappointing

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels
I should have heeded the more negative reviews or read through the lines of the others. I have been quite disappointed with this hotel. The windows have no latches at all and can't shut at all - anyone can climb in if they want. I asked for it to be fixed on the first day and it has never been fixed. The towel rack broke and I asked politely that it could be fixed - the manager said he would have it fixed, he didn't. It was the cleaning woman who got the repair man to do it. The general manager is usually laying in a chair at the front talking on a phone. I really don't know how all these other reviews say that the manager and the staff are great. The driver and the guy working the bar are the friendliest people there. Swimming has been difficult due to the wind and seaweed. The east coast has a lot of seaweed farming. So if you are looking for crystal clear water to swim in, it is better to try the west coast. The good things are that it is very quiet - there are no beach boys at all on this part of the beach. Lots of locals fishing etc so it feels more "authentic" than other parts of the country (or even near the italian resorts). It is pretty - the typical palm trees on the white sand beach. he food is good. The prices are high but consistent with other restaurants and hotels. I would not come back here. i would pay more for a better place and have a slightly shorter vacation.
3 out of 5
by Phyllis from Wyoming

Lovely view

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels
The view from this hotel is fantastic ! If you want a quiet, natural setting, this is it!! The staff are helpful and work to please guests The hotel is right on the edge of excellent. They just need to do some basic maintenance. Fix outside broken lights, replace broken windows , etc. the biggest problem we had was no water pressure. The shower just dribbled. We talked to the manager and he said he would turn on the pressure tank when we wanted a shower. But the pressure tank should be on all the time. Just a little tweeking would make this an outstanding place to escape noisy crowds and enjoy a lovely place in the Indian Ocean!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 23, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GO from UK

Great location with beautiful sea views

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Just a few sea urchins but fairly easy to spot near weed. Most of the sea is clear so fine.
Cons: Useful to rent a car - we didn't try local transport. Trips can be organised locally. It can be cooler in the evening but still pleasant.
Location: It was great having a car to explore on our own or with a guide from near the hotel. Our hotel food was fine and better value than local hotels.
Good quiet location. Lovely rooms with beautiful sea views from the windows- we could see the sunrise from bed or on our balcony and walk straight into the sea later in the day. Beautiful extremely soft pale sand and clear turquoise sea. The pool is great too. Food is good and the menu of specials changes each day with a good range. The fresh milkshakes and juices are expecially good, but everything was great. Breakfast includes a good choice eg omlettes, pancakes other eggs, fruit, juice and bread etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Greg from Ottawa

Great place to relax

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Pros: Delicious food, beautiful surroundings, great place to relax
Cons: They could have fixed our bathroom door
Location: East coast of zanzibar - Snorkelling, diving, rent bikes
Took the dalla-dalla from Stone town to Tamarind for very cheap. This isn't a party area.. From what I've heard Page is the party hotspot for Zanzibar, also on the east coast. But Tamarind is absolutely gorgeous with lots of palm trees, hammocks poolside and on the beach... Rooms were great - had oscillating ceiling fans above each bed. Bathroom door was broken but we weren't too upset. You can rent snorkel gear for 10 bucks and keep it for 24hrs. The manager can also arrange for snorkelling outings depending on your budget. We had fun just snorkelling of the beach shore - you can see lots of urchins and some coral. Free buffet breakfast that includes an ommelet and all you can eat fruit and crepes. Pretty extensive dinner menu - I had Maharagwe (beans) and chapati and it was the best meal I've had in Tanzania. This place has amazing value for the price. They take american $ but don't expect change.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Town, South Africa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2011 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent place but isolated

Posted Nov 24, 2010 on Hotels
The staff at the hotel are friendly, and rooms are decent with your own porch, but not much else to the rooms. No hot water and no A/C, just ceiling fans, so rooms were minimal despite the price. The beach area and surrounding area is quiet and peaceful. The location is nice if you want to be isolated, but Uroa is a small village with friendly people but not much traffic going by. Arranging taxis through the hotel is expensive, and we often went into the village to get a taxi for half the price, but this took time and to go anywhere such as Matemwe usually cost a minimum of $20. The hotel also arranges tours, although these are expensive as well compared to arranging on your own, and the options in Uroa are practically non-existent. We met one person, Ricardo, who said he could arrange Spice Tours, Stone Town Tours, Safari Blue, etc. However, after completing a tour with him he will ask you for more money for petrol, say his driver needs more money, etc. (even after tipping). We refused and he still came back the next day asking if we wanted to do another tour! Wow.... The food at the restaurant is a little pricey for what you get, but the breakfast always included fresh fruit and eggs. Overall, I would recommend the hotel only if you don't mind staying put in one location for several days. However, if you want to go out and about around the island, or have certain comforts to the room, there may be better choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Super leuk hotel met privé strand

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Prima hotel
Cons: Meer van de lokale maaltijd op de menu kaart willen zien.
Location: De locatie is ook prima, alle excursies zijn niet ver vandaan. Prima strand.
Leuk hotel met privé strand. Warm ontvangst door personeels. Vriendelijk personeels die voor je klaar staan, wij werden super verwend. Niets is te veel voor ze. Sarah is een schat, super lief en vriendelijk, dank je wel Sarah. Ook de excursies zijn goed via het hotel goed geregeld. Tareek van de excursie bureau van het hotel is echt tof kerel, je kunt hem van alles vragen waar je heen wil.... een aanrader. Lieve tuinman die voor ons heerlijk Cocosnoot vd boom ging halen. We hebben erg genoten van ons verblijf in mermaid cove beach resort. We zouden zeker graag weer terug komen.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Manoj Petwal, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we are delighted and grateful for your kind words in appreciation of our hotel and services. Your opinion is highly valued by us which serves to enhance the quality of our service even better. It was indeed a pleasure serving you and we look forward to hosting you once again in future. Thank you Manoj Petwal
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Helsingborg

Not recommended

Posted Jan 4, 2016
If you don't like service and think it's nice to have dust falling from the roof (because of the woodworms) in your face while sleeping, this is the hotel for you! The staff is quite lazy, it took them 3 days from our arrival to even clean the pool. They had know idea that we had booked a room when we arrived. I showed a copy of our booking (on swedish).. and they didn't check our passport. Didn't know when we were checking out either. The guy, who is called the hotelmanager is kind of creepy. First thing he told us was that if we wanted to go on any boattrip we shouldn't go with those guys who sells trips on the beach, "they're cheap but not good". We went on a trip with a guy who sold trips on the beach, it was great. If you get bad food don't expect to get any compensation for it. I ordered ugali (looks like mashed potatoes) which was full of powder, couldn't eat it. They gave us 3$ discount and I was still hungry. That was the last time we had dinner at the hotel. The hotelroom was cleaned every day but the floor was still dirty after clearing. And this woodworms in the roof... in our room we noticed them mostly by the dust on the bed but also in the bathroom. In the evening it seems like a lot of friends to the staff hangs by the pool and make noises late at night. Some of the staff is good but most of them should have a lesson in service.. we couldn't stop wondering if the hotelowner know what's going on on his hotel?