Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from alpine, tx

If you just need a clean bed and nothing else.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
No shampoo Only bar soap. Used soap tub. Ice is at hotel across the street. No coffee at 8:30am
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from el paso tx

Posted Jul 13, 2014
I stay only 2 nights it's ok the manager a little bit rude the room clean
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rip you off

Posted Jul 12, 2014
I've stayed twice and twice quoted me the wrong price at a higher rate then didn't want to give me my change.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Room was fine

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Sign at check in says att is aware of the slow internet. That is just to tell you they have no internet. No signal in my room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Barest Bones

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: The mattress was comfortable and the room was clean.
Cons: Clean up the junk in the courtyard, plant a few flowers, and straighten up the iron railings that have been smashed and dented by who knows what.
Location: Gas up your car at the nearby service station or walk across the highway to get ice. That's pretty much it.
This motel bridges both sides of Hwy. 90. I stayed in the older portion. I was worried when I pulled in and saw a deserted parking lot, completely paved over with asphalt that had seen better days, and an abandoned service building with various remnants of maintenance projects strewn about. The room was dimly and depressingly lit, but clean. The bed was comfortable. There were bars of imported soap (I don't mean quality soap) in the bath, but no other amenities such as shampoo or conditioner. I took my ice bucket to the registration desk to ask where the ice machine was, and was directed to walk across Highway 90 to the sister facility to fill 'er up. The hotel is not really located within walking distance of anything but a gas station, so if you want to get to the university or into Alpine for dining, you'll be driving. I suppose value is all relative. The previous night, and for about the same price, I had stayed in a truly nice hotel resort in Tucson, so the 'best value' claim of this hotel seemed mighty thin to me, but the going rate for hotels in Alpine seems to be surprisingly high for what you get. If you just want a place to flop for the night, this will do, but don't expect any pleasant hidden surprises.
1 out of 5
by e

Inhuman conditions.

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: the only thing good about this place was leaving.
Cons: everything should be improved.
Location: There are lots of other hotels nearby. Stay at others instead.
Even by my low standards, a terrible place; it is dirty, falling apart, no care taken in upkeep. It is not about lack of little soaps and shampoo; this place was filthy, towels were small, worn out and dirty, the furniture looked like it was found on the street broken, the store wrappers were left on the lampshades as if someone just forgot to take them off, curtains made of vinyl so that no light could come in ever because if left open someone could look into the room, no hangers in the "closet," bed uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cindy from Fort Mill, SC

Value Lodge review

Posted Apr 30, 2014
From the highway it looks like this facility is closed and abandoned. Apparently this is just an old restaurant. The motel is open and the rooms, while dated, were comfortable and clean. The amenities were minimal--no toiletries, no breakfast, ice machine was located across the road, but given the price, this was a decent value. I hope the owners are able to stay in business.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Izzy from Mission,Texas

Hotel stay

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Had cookies available in the lobby.
Cons: Provide a coffee maker in the room.
Location: Go to a diner next door, great food.
Clean room, might be nice to have a coffee pot. Came in late and it was freezing cold, our room was nice & warm the unit heated up the room fast.
2 out of 5
by lbs from ft worth

Hotel "close" to big bend

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Staff not friendly or helpful. they don't require payment at booking so they can sink u with fees. Ended paying 50% more than listed price. Many more better hotels in town. run down, dirty. 1 star
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terri from Big Spring, TX

Nice location

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Pros: Ease of location to everything we could have needed. Resturants, convience store, varity store, and easy access to downtown.
Cons: Needs a coffe pot in the rooms...
I stayed at the Value Inn last year, and again this year, and will defenitly stay there next year. Great owners, clean rooms, clean sheets, clean bathrooms. Easy to get into downtown, and shopping, located close to our equestrian events. Value Inn had enough parking for my truck and horse trailer without crowding anyone else...Will recommend Value Inn to everyone...