Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ames,Iowa

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: It was very quite...
Cons: Nothing
Location: I do not know didn't apply to us...
We just slept there did not see any staff no problems and very quite hotel...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Wisconsin

It got the job done.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: It didn't break the bank.
Cons: The hotel in general needs an overhaul. New paint, carpet, and furnishings are needed. The breakfast area needs a lot more attention.
I was travelling with my father and we just needed a place close enough to Des Moines without paying Des Moines prices. We got what we paid for and nothing more. The hotel interior is in rough shape and needs an overhaul. It got the job done, but I have to say that the breakfast area was probably the biggest disappointment. The syrup containers were sitting in a pool of syrup and the seating area to eat is essentially the hotel lobby (space is limited). Choices were limited. While I would stay here again under the same circumstances, I would book one of the other hotels in the area if I were taking my wife and kids. There are several better (and more expensive) options in that exact same area that just make you feel more comfortable based on the brand.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cuba city,wi

smell

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: reasonable price
Cons: bad odor
Location: Was easy to get where we needed to go
Both rooms had a bad odor. One smelled like cat urine, the other smelled like something was used to cover musty smell coming from AC-it didn't work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Kendra from Cedar Falls, IA

Super 8 Review

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: How easy everything was and how nice the staff was. Also, how inexpensive the room was for a double bed! Free breakfast was nice too!
Cons: Just make sure the rooms don't smell like cleaning products.
Location: Unfortunately, we were not there long enough to figure our what all was near the hotel.
Even though my friend and I had to check in around 1 a.m. due to being in a wedding, they made our check in process extremely quick and easy as well as the check-out process. The room was nice and the beds were comfortable. The room smelt a little funny for being a non smoking room, but I'm assuming it was cleaning products. Being a poor college student, it was nice that the rooms were affordable for my budget. Overall, we were happy with our stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: close to where we needed to be the next day.
Cons: Hotel services. Items should be in rooms that are normal for a hotel stay.
The hotel is a little run down. There were not enough towels in the room. 1 towel for 2 people staying doesn't really work. No extra toilet paper. Seems like we had to call for things that should be standard.
2 out of 5
by ken from sacred heart, mn

Was not impressed

Posted Jun 13, 2014
It was"t the best or nicest super 8 i've ever stayed at. The breakfast was less than exceptional
2 out of 5
by Geo from La Grange, Illinois

Hotel near Iowa State University

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The management tried to get things straightened out.
Cons: Room needs a refrigerator
Location: Needed something near Iowa State and that worked out okay.
We stayed three nights. Two times the Super 8 system dumped us out, said we had left. Our cards became inoperable. There is no refrigerator in the room. One time the garbage was not picked up. I do not recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy to find

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: The comfortable bed.
Cons: Better tv channel guide. The stations did not correspond well with the guide provided.
Location: Located close to the interstate, easy to find. Just passing through.
Though close to the interstate, I was not bothered by traffic noise. The room was clean and the mattress was comfortable. Big flat screen tv, coffee maker and hair dryer in the room. I was there only the one night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Get what you pay for

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Cons: better pillow!
Front desk was cordial. Room was clean but the bed was rock hard and the pillows were flat. It was a Super 8. Get what you pay for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable room

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: It was the cheapest hotel in the area.
Cons: n/a
Location: It was a short drive to stores, restaurants, and Iowa State University, just off the highway.
Super 8 was a no-frills room at an affordable price. Yes, the shower was low and the walls were thin, but it was clean and it was close to where I needed to be.