Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy to find

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: The comfortable bed.
Cons: Better tv channel guide. The stations did not correspond well with the guide provided.
Location: Located close to the interstate, easy to find. Just passing through.
Though close to the interstate, I was not bothered by traffic noise. The room was clean and the mattress was comfortable. Big flat screen tv, coffee maker and hair dryer in the room. I was there only the one night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Get what you pay for

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Cons: better pillow!
Front desk was cordial. Room was clean but the bed was rock hard and the pillows were flat. It was a Super 8. Get what you pay for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable room

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: It was the cheapest hotel in the area.
Cons: n/a
Location: It was a short drive to stores, restaurants, and Iowa State University, just off the highway.
Super 8 was a no-frills room at an affordable price. Yes, the shower was low and the walls were thin, but it was clean and it was close to where I needed to be.
1 out of 5
by We trave

We were familiar with this motel.

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Since this was not our first visit to this motel we were not expecting the disappoiment we felt. We had to wait several minutes for the customer service person to come from upstairs to wait on us. We had our 8 & 10 yr old grandsons with us. My first order of business was getting them in the bath tub. I was running the hot water but it was very cold. I tried the sink focet & it was hot. The cold & hot water were switched. If they had tried to run their bath which they do, they might have burned their hands & legs. The beds were awful. Our matress practically folded up in the center. My husband & I woke up at 3:00 a.m. we were so uncomfortable we couldn't go to sleep for an hour. We will never book a room with that motel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the 69.00 we spent. Would not recommend.

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Rooms updated, staff trained on customer service.
Hotel staff not very friendly, we waited almost 5 mins for someone to even come up to the front desk when we were checking in. The front desk person took a personal phonecall to talk about what kind of "smokes" they wanted while we were standing there checking in. She then walked away from the front and some random person came in and started trying to help us find our room. We were not directed where to go for room location. We have stayed in many Super 8's over the years, but none as bad as this one. Rooms were not very clean, very outdated, and smelled of smoke. Unfortuntely, I will not be recommending anyone stay at this location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2014
1 out of 5
by Shannon from Indiana, USA

Queen Sized Bed My Foot

Posted Dec 26, 2013
Pros: None.
Cons: See above.
Location: Very inconvenient.
After driving in from Indiana, arriving at one in the morning, in the dark, in an unfamiliar area we were unable to locate the hotel. I called and explained to the desk person we had driven from one end of "Dayton Ave" to the other and could not find "Dayton PL.". I was rudely told by the hotel clerk that Dayton Ave and Dayton PL are "the same thing". I asked him why would they have different names if they were the same place?? He got upset and reverted to his native language, which I could not understand. When we finally did find the hotel, we were given a map of the city of Ames, Iowa and the college campus. On this map, it VERY CLEARLY showed TWO different roads; Dayton AVE and Dayton PLACE. I think this hotel should have employees that know the area a little better. After this long drive, I wanted to soak in a hot bath. I began fill the bath and when the tub was half full, I checked the temperature only to find there was a rubber mat glued to the bottom of the tub which was coming unglued. Underneath this mat was a very disgusting, and I'm sure unhealthy layer of slimy black mold and mildew. I was mortified. The toilet ran noisily and continuously the entire time. The "security door" at the rear of the property which was supposed to require a key to open was unlocked at all hours. What is the point in that?? I'm glad we found this out on our last day there!! The bed which was allegedly a queen, was more like a full and extremely uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by mb from new mex

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
everything about the hotels was fine except the condition of the stairs. They have rubber runner in place that has worn down to the wood in many places. Should have been replaced months ago. My room was good and breakfast was as expected.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Pete from Minneapolis, MN

Checked out early because of room

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
My wife and I checked into the hotel after a long day of travel and college visit, we weren't expecting a great, 4 star stay, but after about 2 hours in our "non-smoking" room, we had to leave hotel and ask for our money back. The room was relatively clean, except for nasty stain on the bed skirt of one bed. that we could handle, what we couldn't handle was the smoke saturated air that seemed to spread through entire building. Front desk handled our situation professionally and directed me to hotels.com for resolution. Hotels.com was very polite and understanding and issued a full refund. I will continue to use hotels.com to book my hotel rooms but I will definitely steer clear of this budget hotel in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com