Ratings based on 952 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean, modern hotel in good location

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Cons: WIFI
We stayed at Athens Gate for 2 nights. The hotel is on a busy street (request a quiet room) but it's very well located, 5 minutes walk to the Acropolis and in a walking distance to Plaka (where all the restaurants are). The hotel is refurbished, modern and clean and the view from the room restaurant is beautiful. There is free wifi in the lobby and in the restaurant but it's incredibly slow. You can get wifi in your room for an extra charge but we haven't tried it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Beautiful hotel in the center of it all!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The staff was attentive and very helpful when recommending restaurants, ordering cabs, etc.
Cons:
Location: The hotel in a 10 minute walk to the Acropolis and the Acropolis museum with fun places along the way to shop, have an ice cream or dinner.
The Athens Gate Hotel was an excellent choice for our short visit to Athens. Located in the Plaka district, it was a short walk to the Acropolis and the museum. Eating establishments were abundant and the staff at the hotel was exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

All you can wish for

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Cons: Free wifi in the rooms would be handy
We stayed at the hotel for three nights and it was an excellent experience from breakfast to departure. All the rooms at the front are overlooking the temple of Zeus, and all at the back at Acropolis! Our room had a little balcony. The hotel is very close to Acropolis and its museum, plaka, monasteriki. Tons of cafes and places to eat nearby, you will be spoilt for choice. Breakfast on the rooftop (amazing views!!) is yummy and diverse, but the restaurant there in the evening is a bit pricey. Free wifi downstairs in the lobby and on the roof terrace. If you are heading to the port, it takes only 15 min by taxi in no traffic, and its easy to fetch in the street or you can ask a hotel to organise. Costs about 15-20 euros. Overall, a little gem and goes to my "highly recommended list"!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Approved by a clean freak

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Very clean, nice helpful staff, great rooftop views, perfect location.
Cons: The elevators were tiny, like many elevators in European countries.
This was the perfect hotel for our group. We were only in Athens for a couple days and wanted to be close to the main tourist attractions. It was the perfect location- right across from the temple of Zeus and about two blocks from the Acropolis. Nice, clean simple hotel. The hotel staff were very nice and helpful and most importantly, housekeeping was awesome. I happened to walk in on the woman cleaning our bathroom twice and she was really scrubbing the hell out of the place. The breakfast on the rooftop was really good, and the views up there were awesome. The balconies vary based on which side of the building and how high up your room is, but we were really happy with ours. I think we were on the 5th floor and we had a nice big balcony. No amazing view or anything, but not bad either. Some people have said in other reviews that the rooms on the side of the temple of Zeus were loud, but our friends on that side didn't notice a thing. We are from NYC, so the noise was NOTHING comparatively. Maybe if you are used to living on a quiet street in the suburbs it would be loud for you? But I feel like any busy city is like that. We were very happy with the whole experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent location

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: location and very nice rooms
Cons: bar should be open longer hours and serve more food
excellent location, great stuff, good facilities. great view of acropolis from the roof bar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Fabulous hotel close to Acropolis

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Very easy walking distance to all of the Athens sights and museums
Cons: Nothing: it was all lovely
Location: A self service launderette is three blocks from hotel at Veikou 3A. Ask for directions at the reception desk.
We stayed at the Athens Gate Hotel in August. We had two rooms on the second floor. Although they were not connecting, they were at the end of the corridor and there was a door we could lock to close the corridor to the rooms; so technically, we could leave our room doors open, and still have the main door to the corridor closed and locked. The rooms were very comfortable with a nice view of Hadrian's Gate. The best feature of the hotel is the roof top restaurant with breath- taking views of the Acropolis. A hedge of mint surrounds the roof top and canopies provide shade to enjoy your meal. We only made breakfast on the last morning (our jet lag got the better of us on the other mornings), but we enjoyed lunches of salads and toasted sandwiches. The breakfast buffet is substantial and the staff are very pleasant. The hotel is in the Plaka area, so walk around the back of the hotel and you are in a pedestrian only zone, with an easy walk to the Acropolis and the new Acropolis museum, as well as many restaurants and shops. Also next door to the hotel is a Hertz office; convenient for those wishing to rent a car, as we did.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything you need

Posted Aug 30, 2014
This is our first time to Athens. We were glad that stayed in Athens gate , everything is walkable distance , staff are very helpful and friendly, restaurant has wonderful view. We believe if we come back , will definitely choose Athens gate again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Highly recommended

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Great location for tourists, clean, modern rooms and probably the best views in Athens from the rooftop bar. Only thing letting it down is no in room wifi for free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle england

Central Athens

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location could not have been better. Staff also could not be better or more helpful.
Location: Near Hadrians gate, temple of Zeus and acropolis . Parliament building about 10minute walk. The hop on hop off tour bus on the door step.
The Athens gate hotel could not have been in a better location , across the road from Hadrians Gate and a short walk to the Acropolis nearby plenty of restaurants ,caf├ęs and shops. Main shopping area and parliament building about 10 minute walk. The hotel itself servers a very nice full breakfast with plenty of choice, and great views of the acropolis . We also had evening dinner there which was also very good. I have to say that the reception and door staff could not have been more helpful to us and they all spoke good English . There was a coffee / bar in the lobby with plenty of comfortable seating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Superb location for exploring Athens

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The location and the relaxed atmosphere. The hotel is clean and quiet with all of the facilities you could need.
Cons: The rooms only have 2 sockets, there is no balcony furniture & the power goes off when u leave so the room is hot when u return. Roof bar understaffed
Location: This hotel is in a superb location for exploring Athens, everywhere is walkable.
We had a great week in Athens staying at this hotel. The view from the front balcony is amazing and the rooms clean and well equipped. The breakfast is plenty with superb views of the Acropolis. We would return to this hotel again.