Ratings based on 551 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2014
The room smelled like someone had just taken a shower in it.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom D

Serves it's purpose

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Staff is nice. The people staying there aren't. If ur visiting Atlantic city and wanna stay here. Don't. Go somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasing experience

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Waffles
Cons: Beds were lumpy and so were most of the pillows
Beds weren't that comfy and pillows were lumpy. But called for new pillows and those were great. Love the Waffles too so yummy!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

filthy dirty

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: knock it down
it was short but not not sweet, walked in then out. didnt get a pleasant feeling with people hanging out in there cars, looked like a abondoned hotel. a chinese/italian restuarant that was closed on a thursday afternoon, the hotel clerk said they make there own hours, overgrown landscape and rumors of bed bugs ! they kept my money and i refused to sleep there
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Bad Ambiance

Posted Oct 19, 2014
This was my first time staying at a Howard Johnson. Although I didn't expect it to be high class, I did expect it to be comparable to a Comfort or Quality Inn. It gave off a motel vibe and not a hotel vibe. The surrounding area was run down. The facilities inside and out seemed neglected. The halls smelled like beer and cigarettes. The first room we were given had old furniture. The headboards were made from fabric and were dusty and dirty. The chair in the room had white stains on it. The staff was nice enough to change our room which was better than the 1st but the furniture was still dated. The bathrooms were the only thing in the hotel that seemed modern. It was conveniently located near Atlantic City so that was one plus. Based on this experience I don't plan to stay at a Howard Johnson again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not terrible, but still needs improvement.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
You can tell this hotel has seen better days. The room was clean, but had a musty smell. Overall, the staff was disappointing. The desk staff was borderline rude and housekeeping was not great. There were several times that I had to ask for coffee to be delivered to the room, even after the room had been cleaned. On a positive note, it appears that they owners are trying to improve the hotel. I heard them talking with a contractor about repairing the tennis courts, and I could see other places that seemed to have been recently repaired.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Toddfrom Philadelphia

Horrible

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The sink was broke,the shower curtain torn ,the pool had some kind of organism floating in it.the bed sheets are twenty years old,other than those minor irritants it was nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

BAD place to visit

Posted Sep 17, 2014
The only clean place was the lobby...urine smells in the halls, wallpaper coming off, just not a good experience. ...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by T longfrom Atlantic city

Could not complain for that price

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed the weekend,had no real issues with the hotel.Only thing was the carpet had a slight smell.Great price rather than staying at a casino hotel for triple.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by oates latique

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com