Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2014
just stayed 1 night one the way to another destination. clean, friendly staff, dated, window screens torn. good value for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Trust the reviews

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: The location near Bar Harbor was a plus. It reminded me of grandma's house - the grandma who wasn't rich or a good house keeper.
Cons: The door needs to be fix, all amenities need updating.
Location: The town is lovely...the ice cream place is delicious...we enjoyed worshiping at the UCC church.
We weren't expecting much given other reviews so it met our expectations. The rooms are old but clean. The door was sticky and we had to push hard to get it opened or closed. It was the kind of room which you got a good night's sleep but little more. It reminded me of staying at my grandmother's house. Welcoming but dreary.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new hampshire

great town

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: very very clean
Cons: water damage floors were very unsterdy and mold in the ceiling
The owners were extremely nice . The room was very clean but very out dated they need new rugs a newer tv and to fix the water damage because there was mold but would stay there again !
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lincolnville, ME

Cheap...

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Cheap hotel close to downtown Ellsworth. 35 minutes from bar harbor and Acadia. The hotel itself looks worn down and could use a coat of paint and replacement screen doors. The room smelled like Lysol and the ceilings were stained. The bathroom door did not shut as the room was built sideways. Next time I'll book further in advance and spend a little more to just stay in bar harbor...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Bend IN

Worn but cozy

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: You will feel like the owner has adopted you & your family. Also, the quality of the towels is marvelous.
Cons: The Internet is not reliable & the interior of the rooms needs to be updated.
Location: Acadia National Park is just under 20 miles away.
The motel is very dated but the current owner is attempting to renovate the property. Think of lodging in the 50's & you'll be right at home here. The owner is very personable & goes out of his way to please the guests by providing a breakfast that includes homemade jam & muffins which you enjoy in his 1810 home. He is also eager to provide assistance if you're heading to downtown Ellsworth or over to Acadia National Park.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom MD

What a waste of money!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Go out of business. and t tear it down. Don't know how it got 2.9 in the ratings. Must have been submitted by owner!
We have never stayed in a place so bad. Can't believe you had it on your website. Slept in our clothes; didn't use the shower. Left at 5 AM. Furnishings were sparse and from the '50's. NOTHING to recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clarksville, TN

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Convenience, friendly management.
Cons: Finish upgrades.
Location: Near Bar Harbor and Maine coast. Also near Bucksport, in Ellsworth.
Nice place, being refurbished at the moment. Friendly management good morning continental breakfast. Would definitely stay there again Older facility being upgraded by current owners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston

cozy

Posted Jul 7, 2014
I'll take the crummy wallpaper for the privacy of my own cabin at an affordable rate.
2 out of 5
by Carriefrom Maine

Not even an average place. I

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: It was clean, but not well kept up.
Cons: Tell the truth about the real cost of this room.
Location: Close to downtown Ellsworth.
It was a below average place. It was clean and I didn't mind the place for the price until I checked out and they charged me an additional $8.50 for using Expedia to book the room. The price was definitely too much for this room with the additional $8.50 for the night. I told Doug it was wrong to publish one price and be charged more by booking on-line. He said, it is in the very small print, and they are a small place and cannot absorb the price. The room is not worth the price.
1 out of 5
by Rfrom Maine

Looked great in the 1950's (MAYBE)?

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: Leaving in the morning.
Cons: Tear it down and start over.
Location: The hotel is in a nice location (just the wrong century). And there are a lot of things to do in the surrounding towns etc.
Not sure when these were built, but I'm guessing sometime in the mid 1900's. Not too sure if they've been remodeled or updated since they were new. Went to the bathroom and thought I was going to go through the floor. Smelled like a moldy old shoe when I first walked in. After the door was open for awhile it smelled better, but not great. Wouldn't recommend this place for any price and for what I paid it was way too high.