Ratings based on 470 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jewett City. CT

Clean Rooms

Posted Oct 14, 2014
This hotel had very clean rooms and a very friendly staff. This hotel mainly caters to the winter crowd's. Our room came with breakfast. We tried the breakfast the first morning, on the second morning we went out for breakfast. The quality of food I believe is due to it being the off season for them. They had cereal, toast, scrambled eggs, hash browns, and bacon. The hash browns were unedible. During the winter months I am told that their breakfast is alot better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MA

Posted Oct 14, 2014
The Hotel Staff were great! The hotel itself is ok at best only because it is very dated. The folding door in the closet had boards attached to them so they no longer folded or shut tightly. The towels were paper thin and half of the light switches in the room worked the remainder were not working. Overall it is as I said, ok but for the money I would think they could start doing some upgrades.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Old, worn and not worth the price

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Room was clean. Had Desk and decent internet.
Cons: THe hotel needs to be renovated. The staff was not experienced or very helpful.
Overall it was OK. The room was decent. But the overall hotel was pretty beat up. The Breakfast was very disappointing .
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom london

Has potential but needs renovation

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Location is nice- fire in the lobby bedroom a good size
Cons: Needs a total refurb/ renovation/ decoration. Unclear parking - we would have preferred to be closer to main entrance as had heavy bags.
Location: Probably sporty/ outdoor person's haunt- its ideal for a skier or mountain biker. Not a lot else in the area- sports bars, close to ski lifts.
Our room was comfortable and clean enough although there were water marks on the ceiling and the hotel generally is shabby and in need of refurbishment. There is a lovely roaring fire in the lobby but the environment is dreary and outdated. Breakfast was pretty awful. Dried out hot buffet of leathery bacon and rubbery egg - totally inedible. Too carb heavy some fruit ut we had to leave our dishes on the side and no one cleared them away so unpleasant to be around. The receptionist at check in and check out were pleasant and fairly welcoming but we didn't interact with any other staff members.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Mediocre hotel near the mountains

Posted Aug 24, 2014
I stayed one night in the summer, so it was offseason for the hotel. I normally stay at 4 star hotels (e.g. Westin), but decided to try something different because there were not really any big chain hotels in this area. My expectations were lower than usual because of the lower rating and pictures, but the actual room was worse than I expected. The tub had a black film at the bottom, so I couldn't use it to bathe or shower. It also dripped all night. The rest of the bathroom was clean and somewhat spacious, but the toilet made weird noises for a few minutes after flushing. The room itself wasn't really dirty, but very dingy and in need of updating. The carpeting had some old stains, the chair had a large rip with stuffing hanging out, and the bedspread felt weird. I ended up using a spare blanket from the closet and some blankets from my car to make the bed feel clean and comfortable. There was a little balcony off the room, which was nice. The A/C, to the extent it existed, could not be controlled by guests. Even though it was a cooler night, the room was muggy and needed air to circulate. We ended up leaving the door to the balcony open for fresh air. The hotel had some decent features, like a fireplace in the lounge, free continental breakfast, free internet, free parking, and some good views. I wouldn't stay here again, but I probably got what I paid for this time.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A Cfrom Boston

good midway stop

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was VERY rundown, dirty with stains on everything. The chair in the room was worn with tares. The shower was filthy, it looked like someone cleaned auto parts in there. The toilet ran all night. At breakfast they used paper plates & cups. When I was booking, I asked if they had a restaurant on site, the person on the phone said yes, NO, just at the bar was nochos and the "special" was a meatball sub! If we didn't arrive so late in the day we would have looked around for something cleaner. Don't waste your money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Great Bones for this hotel, but lacking some decor

Posted Aug 12, 2014
The hotel has a great location, nice breakfast in the morning, lots of things around it to do, but the decor in the room and bathroom definitely needed some updating to make it the hotel it can be! it has a great lobby and fireplace and amenities, but the room had a tired TV and wallpaper and the shower curtain had to be from the 70's! Overall experience at the hotel and comfort of the room was good, and I would love to see the hotel live up to its potential. I
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Krynnlfrom Beaumont TX

Highly recommended

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was extremely courteous and friendly. Nice pool and hot tubs (both indoor and outdoor). Room was spacious and comfortable. Nice touch was a DVD player and a good library of films that you could borrow from the frontdesk. Decent breakfast included. Very nice view from my 2nd floor room. Certainly convenient to the ski resort but I was actually there in the summer and interested in visiting Woodstock VT. To me it was a pretty convenient location given the excellent summer rates and the fact that it's a very pretty and not overly long drive between the hotel and Woodstock.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2014
The hotel was only average. The furniture in the room was old and tattered. Two of three windows in the room were broken and could not be opened. There was a portable air conditioner which was nice, and a flat screen TV.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David Clarkefrom New Bedford,Ma.

Close to lake Gorge and Burlington

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms were clean but the hotel needed a total paint job in and out. The outside pool needed major repairs.