Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by ukjaninenzfrom Brisbane

Welcome Retreat

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really enjoyed the location, great cafe down the road, away from the noisy centre yet close enough to use a free cycle and get some excersize. V easy to hire a scooter and head north to the Tigers too - stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alexandrefrom Belo Horizonte, Brazil

Nice hotel but far from city

Posted Mar 26, 2014
This is a nice hotel but far from everything. Taxi/Car is required for everything. Food is good and the price is honest. Staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Allenfrom Seattle

Wonderful spot. Staff was great.

Posted Jan 4, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tonyfrom Australia

Very nice note, we will return

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Its quiet and the staff are so lovely
Location: Close enough to all the action but just far enough away to give you that peaceful and quiet holiday experience that you would want.
Lovely staff, polite, attentive and helpful in every way. The hotel is located in a beautiful tranquil natural bush setting with views of the mountains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Yongkaifrom Singapore

Quiet location with up close mountain views

Posted Jun 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for June for 3 nights with a huge family of eleven pax. As compared to many other mountain resorts which are at least 45 mins drive away, this hotel provides a good balance of mountainous views and distance to city. It is not nestled on the hills unlike other expensive resorts but being able to take in the mountain range view of Doi Suthep is really good enough, or I Should say wonderful enough for any city dweller. Within 10-15min driving distance from the city, it's convenient. We hired a driver called Mr.Sun who works together with the hotel for transport hire. He is a licensed guide and can drive u around for the whole day for a negotiated sum. The hotel staff were very polite and friendly, and operated like a small cosy family. As the hotel only has 24 rooms, they will know guests we'll. I was also pleasantly surprised that all items in the mini bar are free. The honeymoon suite that we booked was great. Nice ceiling-to-floor glass windows that allows you to wake up to nice mountain views. The open air roof top was a nice place to just sit around and chat at night. A great place to chill. The only thing is that the swimming pool is generally unused so I didn't find it as clean as I expected it to be.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Dennisfrom Mountain View, CA

not worth the trouble

Posted Jun 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
the first room we were given -- the room was extremely hot since the air conditioner cannot run unless the room key is plugged into the wall. then the bathroom stank of urine. i called the lobby and they asked me -- ' what is wrong now?' like i was pestering them. when i told them, they immediately switched us to the room next door. i believe the urine room is room 401. the whole urine smell really set a bad tone for our stay. overall, i am sure -- at this price, or even paying a bit more, you can do a whole lot better. also, to offset the price, there is an added inconvenience of the taxi drivers charging extra to drive you there. they also have to look at a map to find it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Agnes

Brilliant hotel in a hard-to-find location

Posted Feb 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
I can provide little to complain about the actual hotel, other than the location and the difficulty every tuk tuk, taxi and red truck driver had to find it. For some reason Google maps placed it on the other side of town (near the river), and the free maps we got weren’t much better at providing any idea of the location. This resulted in many frustrating late-night driver negotiating, and it was even more difficult given it was close to New Year (we stayed from 28 Dec- 1 Jan). It wasn’t until the very last night that we asked the reception staff to write in Thai and English the location of the hotel and directions from the city, which helped enormously on New Year’s Eve. Other than that, can’t fault the place, it was beautiful, staff friendly and helpful, food delicious. Would stay again but will be making sure to get a detailed map and Thai directions for drivers!!!
1 out of 5
by leahkate

Superior may not be what you're thinking!

Posted Dec 28, 2012
Location: Very far from the city center
Please understand that the "Superior" room is a dark, dank, subterrianian hovel. There is a large window that if you should choose to open the blind makes the room feel like a reptile aquarium. In my lexicon that does not imply superior. It is far from town so expect the drivers to complain about taking you anywhere. The restaurant is neither a relaxing nor enjoyable place to take a meal. Chiang Mai is a very enjoyable stop on any trek through Thailand. Plan to stay near the old city so that you can enjoy the Saturday or Sunday night markets. We decided to check out after two nights because I could not bear the thought of celebrating Christmas in our "superior" accomodations. The hotel desk manager was sorry and understanding and very graciously called a cab to take us to another hotel. He also comped two drinks that we charged to the room but did not offer to refund our remaining two nights of accommodations. The breakfast is fine and the staff is okay but overall the Kiree Thara is not a welcoming nor enjoyable place to stay while in Chiang Mai.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming, out of the way, hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2012
Pros: Beautiful and charming gardens and pool
Cons: The pool was very cold.
Location: The location required transportation.
This is a charming little hotel. The gardens were lovely and the breakfast was good. The room was large and very comfortable. The downside is the location. We rented a motorbike -- but that is not for the faint of heart. Driving in Chiangmai is scary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jeff

Beautiful cycling area

Posted Oct 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
Spent 2 weeks cycling Chiang Mai while staying at Kiree Thara Resort. Beautiful small resort with wonderful pool area. Friendly and professional staff. A bicycle or a taxi is required as the resort is in a quiet area.