Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vagabond is a good description for this hoitel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: not much
Cons: almost everything especially the bathroom
Location: close to downtown area
very diappointed in the rooms. Expected more for the price. Old conditon of bathroom was one of the worst I have been in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For the Price - Two thumbs up!

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Price, location
Cons: The pool was dirty
Location: We were near a lot of little shops and walked just a few blocks to an area to go out to dinner
This is one of the cheaper hotels in Chico especially close to downtown Chico. We walked down town and went out two nights and for the price I would say it is great. We didnt hang out out in the hotel too much so if this is something you plan to do it may not be the place to stay. The guy at the front wasnt super talkative and the pool wasn't cleaned until we were checking out, but those were the only down sides.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chico Mom

Near Chico State Univ.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
The mattress was terrible. Everytime I sat on it, the mattress would lift up into the air.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calaveras County

Hot and horrible.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: I did not enjoy my stay at the Vagabond Inn. It was close to down town Chico which was nice.
Cons: n/a
The room had a cooler but it did not cool the room, we had to borrow a small fan from the office. The room was still very hot and uncomfortable. When we went to go swimming there was a large flour tortilla taco at the bottom of the pool. The pool also had a lot of cigarettes and bugs in it, not a great swimming situation. The staff came out and attempted to clean the pool while we were in it and he was very nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

worst place ever

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Cons: Everything
this place was a dump!!! The Lobby smelled horrid...I think this hotel doubled as a half way house. When they say Vagabond Inn they are not kidding. Do not stay here ever!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Much to be desired

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: It was close to my child's apartment, not too far from the college. They do have a swimming pool equipped also for the handicapped if needed.
Cons: We were in a modified handicapped room and there was no shelving for putting anything down in the bathroom such as shampoo toothbrush, shaver, etc.
Location: The location is not prime but acceptable as one can walk down to the main college district without too much problem. Not much around though two blocks
Although tis was done for my childs graduation from Chico, and we had stayed there once before. It was the only one available for the short notice I actually got as to when the graduation was to occur. The Owner was actually there and was pleasant enough and took our criticisms to heart I think, the pricing was out outrageous for the two night stay even through Expedia! I was shocked and dismayed but, stuck as I wanted to see the Graduation of my child! I'm sure the prices are better for non College Parent weekends, but spending over $500 a night is a crime regardless for such a simple motel. I was told also all of the hotels charge a lot during such events which is even more of a crime in my humble opinion. If one is not going for a college event, the price may be much better and it is ok for a quick overnight probably. and they do allow dogs also with a small fee if needed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad part of town

Posted May 13, 2014
Waited over 15 minutes to be acknowledged at front desk. Rooms were musky smelling, location not great, homeless hot spot
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2014
good for close to town cheap accommodations. nothing impressive. continental breakfast definitely not worth checking out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel/motel

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Needs renovation exterior and interior. Beds were comfy and staff was accommodating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't, just don't

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Great town of Chico. Lots to do. Just stay in a different place
One of the worst "hotels" I've stayed at. Sheets were wet and had to have them changed. Bed very uncomfortable. Just an overall nasty feeling