Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Philip from Costa Daurado

Splendidly located

Posted May 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Though difficult to find by car the hotel was splendidly located by a beautiful beach. The hotel is large (236 rooms) and designed for families. It is well organised with plenty of facilities and good room service. The prices were very competitive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by SRobertson

Posted Oct 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
This was our first holiday abroad with our children, aged 8 & 11, and we were delighted with both the hotel and location. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon. The check-in process was quick and easy. We found that the reception staff spoke enough English to answer basic questions. The whole hotel was clean, well maintained with good facilities. We used the main restaurant most days - the choice of food was good at both breakfast & dinner. The indoor pool was lovely and warm on our one wet morning! Our room was on the 4th floor, above the entrance (blue balcony). The view was stunning! Rooms with blue balconies look over the town with the beach on the right. The sunrises were beautiful! Rooms with an orange balcony have beach views and will get the sun during the afternoon - and see the sunset. Our room had 2 Queen size beds plus a sofabed. It was spacious enough for the 4 of us. The balcony was a good size with a table, 2 chairs and rail which could be used to dry clothes. The hotel is at the quieter end of Coma Ruga, just a 10 minute walk from the shops - small supermarket, bakery, newsagent, pharmacy, bars, cafes, souvenir shops, etc. The train station is also only 15 minutes walk away - we went to Tarragona (30 mins) and Barcelona (approx 1 hour). The Blue Flag beach is very clean and the children enjoyed swimming in the sea. Overall, a great hotel & resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mel from South Wales, UK

A pleasant surprise !

Posted Jul 31, 2012
This is a family orientated hotel dedicated to Spanish guests. Very welcoming but very little English is spoken or understood which means you have to research the comprehensive facilities available at the hotel yourselves. A nice change from the usual British resorts associated with Spain. Be prepared for a mass exodus in the afternoons as siestas are strictly observed. Poolside sunbathing is easy and the food is varied and plentiful, albeit not absolutely ideal for young children who are difficult to please. Would definitely return in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Canada

Marvel Coma Ruga Hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very clean however the shower was missing a door and when you take a shower all water went all outside the shower base and into the bathrrom and even to the room itself. other than that it was perfect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Coma Ruga Hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2011 on Hotels.com
Sea front location, does not get a lot better. Not sure about the summer but in December it was nice and quiet. Good for running and lots of local restaurants although a 10 minute walk to most. Hotel had the usual Spanish breakfast; a bit dour. Room and bathroom fine although it seems poor quality materials have been used, not for contract purposes, and are showing bad wear in places. But for the price it is not a complaint. Wi Fi was good. Pool and Gym also good albeit the former, indoor pool, is a bit small. There is a €10 charge for using both per day which i thought was a little picky. Staff were excellent, multi lingual and they were all motivated; Makes a big difference when I stay in a hotel to see staff smiling.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Coma Ruga Zoo

Posted Sep 1, 2011
Unless you have children (at least 2) you will not enjoy this hotel. Strictly for families. Constant running, crying, screaming at the pool, in the halls, in the dining room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minsk, Belarus

Good hotel.

Posted Nov 11, 2010
We stayed for two weeks there, in late October. During that time all sunbathing/swimming facilities were closed, also I wouldn't say that water in the sea was too cold to swim. Actually we did swim once, but we were the only people on a beach. Almost all rooms have sea view. ~15% of rooms are directed straight to the sea, so the view from the window is sea and nothing else. ~75% of rooms are directed to the town, but there is a large part of the sea visible from the room. ~10% of rooms (from back side of the hotel) have a pour view, to some old abandoned buildings and no sea view. There are many people of older age staying at the hotel, and almost no young people. Someone may dislike this, but it was just ok for us. The only English speaking staff at the hotel is at reception. Noone else speaks English. The air conditioner didn't work in heating mode. In general we liked the hotel. The sea is really close, the rooms are all new and clean. Room was cleaned daily and really well. You never know at what time chambermaid will come though. Sometimes she came at 8:30am, sometimes at 4:00pm. Knocking at the door at 8:30am was quite annoying, so we hanged "Do not disturb" label from the evening. We rented a car in Barcelona, but didn't use it too much, as railway transportation is good there.