Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Best part of hotel...was out on the beach

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The beach
Cons: Rooms
Location: We did not do much
It was ok...lots of mosquitoes. Make sure and take lots of repellent. Limited eating places.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Why does this hotel have a four star rating again?

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Overall the experience was bad. From the moment of check in to check out the experience was pretty awful. We waited for about two hours for our room to be available and our welcome drink had pineapple in it which my mom is allergic to but the staff member never bothered to ask about allergies. Our room was dark and dismal, we had a broken toilet handle, rough dingy towels, and I was informed that even if I purchased a WiFi card I was not guaranteed to have internet service in my room. Most of the staff members were unprofessional and sometimes downright rude. Many of the staff members also seemed pretty young hence the inexperience and lack of professionalism. As a result of the uncaring staff and dreary hotel room we spent a majority of our time away from the hotel in order to enjoy our stay on the island. I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family. I highly recommend an overhaul of the entire hotel to make it more modern but still maintain some of the authentic vibe of the island. Also training/etiquette classes for the staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

walking distance to restaurants,beach .on beach.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
good location,beautiful lush tropical landscape.need walking path with good lighting to street.Room need upgrading,very dingy towels.Small TV.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Clear Lake Shores, Tx

Great location near the airport and terrific beach

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location and beach. Great for families, especially small children (has a sheltered lagoon and beach).
Cons: Housekeeping
Location: Near the airport and Buccoo market (food, market and snorkeling trips). Nothing is too far away on the island!
Staff was excellent, very friendly. Not overly crowded so there was plenty of available space on the beach. Arrived late and staff had the room ready (positive) but over 4 days, they only cleaned our room once (negative). Had to ask for towels daily. Asked for washcloths daily also and though promised, never came. The staff in restaurants were very accommodating and attentive (especially for T&T). All very friendly and made the stay worthwhile.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Nice on the outside and beach. Room decor outdated

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Security, Closeness to the beach, and the lobby area, location of the bar.
Cons: Remodel rooms, fix the foul sewer smell in the lobby near Coco Cuts and the lobby bathrooms.
Location: Loved the location and the area activities. Closeness of the airport and casino.
Manager unfriendly, other staff was friendly, however they did not inform us of daily breakfast and other amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by David Parsotan from New York

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
good location, very well kept, lunch and dinner menus need work,. most staff are friendly
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Resi Akong from Couva, Trinidad

Not a good experience

Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
For such an expensive hotel, the cleanliness of the first room we stayed in was very disappointing. There were four cockroaches wanting to keep our company. We requested and were given another room for the rest of our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Connecticut

Good Hotel especially for Tobago

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Private beach, available beach equipment, availability of excursions, boat trips etc (at extra cost). Nice Gym, friendly staff
Cons: The lighting in the rooms was dim, to say the least. WiFi was pricey, a bit slow and spotty.
Location: Right beside Store Bay, close to Pigeon Point, 2 minutes from the airport
Tobago does not have a surplus of good hotels and choosing one there is a bit hit and miss. However Coco Reef Resort and Spa is definitely a hit. It is not a North American Ritz Carlton, but is quite comfortable, clean and accommodating. The gym is quite good and the free beach "toys" (kayaks, floats, snorkeling gear, etc.) are generally in good shape and readily available. The staff is friendly and helpful. This was my second visit, in April 2014, with the previous one in September 2013. Both were good experiences (obviously, since we went back). The location is close to the "action' around Store Bay, sometimes too close, as it got quite noisy on Easter weekend when the sound systems seemed to be battling each other.
3 out of 5
by Turd from CA

Few Options in Tobago

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Had a luxury hotel look and feel
Cons: Shoot the loud birds on the reef. Free the owl and falcon prisoners you had at the buffett breakfast. Tell guests about the free internet and fridge.
Location: 5 minutes from the hotel, was convenient after renting a car at night to not have to drive long on unfamiliar roads
Helpful hints: There IS free internet available in the room downstairs by the lobby, even though the staff had me purchase in-room WIFI for about $US30 per device and 7 days without ever mentioning the free internet option! (Granted, I still preferred in-room WIFI to having to go downstairs, but I hated having to pay for something you get for free in most flea-bag hotels $60 & under/night in the US, while I was paying $250/night at Coco Reef). There is no microwave, so don't bother bringing dinner to the room. Again, you get this for free in a typical $40-50/night US hotel. There IS a refrigerator, but it is hidden behind a facade in the dresser. We never knew it was even there till the very last day while check drawers for things we might have left. No mention of it in the literature at all. The buffet breakfast was adequate and came with an omelette station, but the thing I disliked the most was that they had an owl and falcon roped to the rails around the tables. The owl looked very uncomfortable whenever people took pictures of it. I really was offended by the exploitation of these beautiful WILD animals. Here's the bottom line. There are very few hotel options in Tobago, and they know it, so don't expect any place to be anything close to a US hotel experience. They've got you on the ropes. I didn't stay at Turtle Beach but it seemed to be a much more beautiful and QUIET location. Birds on the "reef" at Coco wake you up every morning and are very loud.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by R and R from Cambridge UK

Comfortable hotel with its own beach

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: The layout on two floors is excellent, with a very beautiful restaurant.
Cons: More effective shower curtains would reduce slip-risks. Extending internet coverage from the limited, un-air-conditioned areas is highly desirable.
Location: Recommend the relatively inexpensive taxis to other parts of the island for exploring; also the excellent boat trips to other coves.
The hotel layout is very pleasing. The hotel location on the beach is optimal. We had a 'reef' room with an excellent view, well worth the additional cost, especially for the brilliant sunset and the marvellous moonlit sea. The staff around the hotel are numerous and very helpful, beyond the call of what would be considered duty in the UK; they all appeared to be very cheerful. Breakfast is excellent, and the bar serves very good cocktails.Caribbean-type entertainment in the foyer in the form of a steel band or conventional drummers were both excellent. The system for collecting and disposing of beach towels is efficient and valuable. The private artificial lagoon has very calm water and many interesting types of fish to be seen snorkelling. For those not wanting to veg out on the beach all the time, the hotel organises taxis to local or more distant parts of the island, without a premium according to our research, and taxis used by the hotel are required to get hotel guests back safely after evenings out! Useful for trips to restaurants or trips around the island. If you need to find a taxi back from elsewhere, it can be challenging until you understand the number-plate system - all private plates start with P, all taxi plates start with H.