Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Turd from CA

Few Options in Tobago

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Had a luxury hotel look and feel
Cons: Shoot the loud birds on the reef. Free the owl and falcon prisoners you had at the buffett breakfast. Tell guests about the free internet and fridge.
Location: 5 minutes from the hotel, was convenient after renting a car at night to not have to drive long on unfamiliar roads
Helpful hints: There IS free internet available in the room downstairs by the lobby, even though the staff had me purchase in-room WIFI for about $US30 per device and 7 days without ever mentioning the free internet option! (Granted, I still preferred in-room WIFI to having to go downstairs, but I hated having to pay for something you get for free in most flea-bag hotels $60 & under/night in the US, while I was paying $250/night at Coco Reef). There is no microwave, so don't bother bringing dinner to the room. Again, you get this for free in a typical $40-50/night US hotel. There IS a refrigerator, but it is hidden behind a facade in the dresser. We never knew it was even there till the very last day while check drawers for things we might have left. No mention of it in the literature at all. The buffet breakfast was adequate and came with an omelette station, but the thing I disliked the most was that they had an owl and falcon roped to the rails around the tables. The owl looked very uncomfortable whenever people took pictures of it. I really was offended by the exploitation of these beautiful WILD animals. Here's the bottom line. There are very few hotel options in Tobago, and they know it, so don't expect any place to be anything close to a US hotel experience. They've got you on the ropes. I didn't stay at Turtle Beach but it seemed to be a much more beautiful and QUIET location. Birds on the "reef" at Coco wake you up every morning and are very loud.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by R and R from Cambridge UK

Comfortable hotel with its own beach

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: The layout on two floors is excellent, with a very beautiful restaurant.
Cons: More effective shower curtains would reduce slip-risks. Extending internet coverage from the limited, un-air-conditioned areas is highly desirable.
Location: Recommend the relatively inexpensive taxis to other parts of the island for exploring; also the excellent boat trips to other coves.
The hotel layout is very pleasing. The hotel location on the beach is optimal. We had a 'reef' room with an excellent view, well worth the additional cost, especially for the brilliant sunset and the marvellous moonlit sea. The staff around the hotel are numerous and very helpful, beyond the call of what would be considered duty in the UK; they all appeared to be very cheerful. Breakfast is excellent, and the bar serves very good cocktails.Caribbean-type entertainment in the foyer in the form of a steel band or conventional drummers were both excellent. The system for collecting and disposing of beach towels is efficient and valuable. The private artificial lagoon has very calm water and many interesting types of fish to be seen snorkelling. For those not wanting to veg out on the beach all the time, the hotel organises taxis to local or more distant parts of the island, without a premium according to our research, and taxis used by the hotel are required to get hotel guests back safely after evenings out! Useful for trips to restaurants or trips around the island. If you need to find a taxi back from elsewhere, it can be challenging until you understand the number-plate system - all private plates start with P, all taxi plates start with H.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rudy from New York

Great staff

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: We loved the food. It has it's own private beach and the grounds are well maintained. The staff is both friendly and couteous.
Cons: Maintenance of the rooms. It does not appear that any of the profits are reinvested into the rooms.
Location: It is located near the airport and is in walking distance to Pigeon Point. With a rental car it is easy to tour the entire island in a few days.
The hotel is great in the common areas but the rooms could use a general overhaul. It took us 4 days to finally get a real shower curtain. The bathtub was not dirty but stained. The staff was the hotel's best asset. Everyone from the front desk to the wait staff to housekeeping was cordial. I never had a concern about security. I did feel that this would be a great episode for Under Cover Boss as even a call to the general manager never resulted in a return call.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wasted opportunity

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: The beach
Cons: Service attitude
Location: Close to lots of restaurants and easy to get to other activities.
The best thing about the hotel is the beach: private, sheltered water, nice mix of shade and sun. The worst thing about it is the service. With the exception of Janelle (activities coordinator), the staff was less than helpful, at times seemed put out with questions, and the beach staff in particular, surly. I would not stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shivana from Trinidad and Tobago

Perfect Getaway

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Pros: location, private beach, helpful staff
Cons: bathrooms in the room need updating
Location: You must try the food at Pasta Gallery!
I've been to Tobago many times, but this was the first time I've stayed at Coco Reef and from my wonderful experience, I can say, it won't be the last. The staff were extremely helpful, pleasant and went out of their way to make the experience enjoyable. The hotel itself could use a little updating, but overall there was nothing to complain about. The buffet breakfast at Tamara's was very good and had a wide variety to choose from, including local cuisine, which is always a plus. The private beach located on the property was beautiful, calm and serene and very nice to go swimming in. Overall, the experience there was top class and comparable to many highly classed hotels which I have been to in the Caribbean. This was the best experience I've had at any hotel in Tobago and I dare say Trinidad and Tobago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Howard from Winchester, UK

Nice hotel but getting tired

Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was built some time ago and is starting to show its age slightly. Having said that, the quality of the service and food, using as much locally sourced ingredients as possible, was excellent. Go to Pigeon Point or Store Bay to arrange a trip, this will save you a bit of money. Finally, stop by the on-site dive centre and try a snorkel or a dive; it's a very friendly and well run centre that can cater for both beginners and experienced divers. In my opinion this is one of the hotel's greatest assets and is not obvious in location or well promoted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to hotel. Good food.

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Closeness to airport, lovely setting. Enclosed beach.
Cons: Attentiveness to daily functionality, somewhat lackadaisical
Location: Pigeon point, Coco Beach, Great pizza restaurant just outside the gates
Stores in hotel are not open. Wanted to purchase items, and front desk could not find staff to open the store. Key they found would not open the store I wanted to make purchase from.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Elizabeth from Toronto

Horrible birthday & engagement experience!

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Horrible birthday & engagement experience ever! The check-in clerk was very rude & hostile. Very unorganized. The door to the room would not open properly with access card. The room was falling apart (a/c not working all night we were boiling, lamp light flickering with wiring connected illegally as fire hazard, tub leaking we had to soak water with towels). We should get a refund for all this inconvenience and horrible experience. Food was ok. However, private beach was beautiful. Location was convenient for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Larry from California

Great Tobago Location

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: replace A/C in computer room. Improve buffet. address loud music for guests who don't want to be disturbed.
Location: close to Store Bay
Best location on the island, nice staff, comfortable room, nice beach. Overall we had a nice stay, however we did have three complaints. Breakfast buffet was disappointing. Loud music coming from down stairs until 11:00 pm, two of our four nights, was disturbing. Computer room felt like a sauna, they need to replace or repair the a/c in that room although it resulted in computers being available most of the time.