Ratings based on 602 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, nice

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: It was clean, breakfast was good.
Location: It was close to Virginia Military Institute. Also close to and easy on/off the highway.
We were visiting the Virginia Military Institute. It was approximately 5 easy miles away. The hotel was clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was good.
2 out of 5
by Ken from Virginia

Not recommending

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Room a little out dated. Bathroom was a wreck. Rooms need a make over. Coffee pot did not work, no remote for the tv, furniture falling apart, security door not working. Not a bad place to fall asleep but not comfortable to be awake in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Austinburg, OH

Good value

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff and the value.
Cons: the work out room was not very clean.
Location: We stayed there to visit our son at W & L.
yes, this is a HOJO and yes it is dated with it's decor, but fortunately the prices are also from the same era as the decor. If you want a reasonable rate for a hotel, this is your place. The room was spacious and clean. The ladies at the desk made sure that they asked each time we saw them how things were and if they could do anything to help us with our stay. The "workout room" was an elliptical and old gold's gym machine, but it served it's purpose for me to get some calories burnt in the morning. We didn't choose to eat the continental breakfast since we were visiting family and wanted to spend meals with them, but it was a very nice selection of different breakfast food.
1 out of 5
by Mike from winston salem, nc

Absolutely Terrible

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: Everything (better facilities, friendlier staff, some security, etc.)
Location: Virginia Horse Institute was great.
My girlfriend and I drove 3 + hours to stay at this hotel and attend a horse seminar at the Virginia Horse Institute the following day. We didn't plan on spending much time at the hotel other than to shower and sleep. Unfortunately, due to what sounded like an "Animal House" like party we could not get any sleep. We called the front desk multiple times and the noise continued. The shower also leaked constantly and the HVAC sounded like a ticking time bomb. I am not one to complain but this was truly the worst hotel experience of my life. The staff was very unhelpful and truly unprofessional. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody. Currently we are in the process of trying to be reimbursed for our money but keep getting the red tape.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fairly decent price for what you get

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Location was nice and had a great view. Price was reasonable considering the condition.
For a fairly inexpensive price, it was adequately comfortable and served its purpose. The one staff person (from desk) I dealt with seemed friendly enough and accommodating. The room, however, was 'okay' in the cleanliness department, but it was obvious that it had a 'rush job' done it as I found coffee stir sticks and a bottle of nail polish on the floor near the sitting area and bed...tissue and toilet paper were nearly empty, the air vent from the air system was sticking out half-way when I went to turn it on...and when I pulled it out to look at it, had not been cleaned in MONTHS and was caked with lint so badly the last person apparently just removed it so the air would flow better...I had to take it out on the porch and bang it against the side wall just to getting clean enough not to block the heater from working, as it was quite cold (15 degrees) that particular night and needed it to work properly. The hallways smell of cigarette smoke so bad that even in a non-smoking room, there was still a hint of it in the air. The building is a bit 'dated' and could use some renovations. The sliding door was old and corroded, hard to move/lock, and some of the fixtures are cracked and worn, carpet could use replacing, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Michael Trupin from TN

Comfortable & reasonable overnight

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a very nice HoJo, just off the I-state on hilltop w/ nice view. Gracious and attentive staff, clean spacious room, comfortable beds, and reasonable pricing. What more could one ask for a traveling overnight?
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bryan from Alabama

Nice Visit

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a good one. The staff are friendly and helpful. When our shower started to leak the owner got us another room right away. Although the rooms need to be updated, the beds were comfortable and everything was clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rick Miles from Charleston SC

Reasonibly close to must-see sights

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Luv 2 Travel from Virginia

Touching home

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Price range was within budget. Very quiet location. It served as a place to stay for one night. Since I was familiar with the area there was no need to ask for directions and/or help, but was greeted with a smile. Room was clean and the comfort of the king size bed was wonderful. At times I felt like I slept on a soft cloud, but then again I was totally exhausted. The view from the room was okay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2013