Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T.Cher from london, uk

Lovely hotel with great facilities

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Clean, welcoming with good facilities
Cons: Wifi in rooms
Location: Two excellent restaurants near hotel on the way to the shopping centre, Funchal museums, Funchal cable car and gardens, trips around the island
I am very glad that booked this hotel thanks to all good reviews! The room with a balcony had everything to provide a comfortable stay. Do pay for an ocean view vroom as it doesn't only give a great view but also keeps you away from the noise of the road behind the hotel. The breakfast was great and well worth the money paid! There was a good choice of breads, cereals, fruits, hot and cold drinks, some cheese and meats, and also hot cooked eggs, sausages, baked beans. Looking for a meal out will cost you much more time and money in the area in the morning. It was great to discover that the hotel has a sun deck on the 11th floor with glorious views of Funchal, and also a lovely spa with an indoor pool ( in addition to the outdoor one), jacuzzi, sauna and gym. One can also book a massage for additional cost. There is a curtacy bas to Funchal every hour which was great! Amazingly, they also organise an entertainment almost every evening. Wifi is provided downstairs in a lovely resting area. All in all a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jane from London

Good hotel, pleasant location

Posted May 27, 2014
Lovely views of the mountains and sea. Good location close to amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from England

Good hotel in the Lido area.

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: The staff were exceptionally keen to make our stay as pleasant as possible, and the location was convenient for some local facilities.
Cons: Half board meals were not entirely to our taste, although cleanly served and well presented within the limitations of the buffet style catering.
Location: Several good restaurants (not high cuisine but good), numerous gift shops and nearby shopping. Local tour companies make booking of trips easy and con
The hotel gave us what we needed in the form of room configuration and location. While not in central Funchal the Lido area has many facilities like bars, restaurants, banks, gift shops, souvenir shops, car rental and tour companies. Furthermore the hotel provides an hourly courtesy bus service to the harbour area which is a short walk to old Funchal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from ISRAEL

very good

Posted Mar 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is nice has a kitchen. and entertenment every night.It was a grate holiday
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

get what you pay for

Posted Jan 26, 2009 on Hotels.com
We moved here for two days from a very nice hotel after easyjet cancelled a return flight. What a contrast! It was a bit grubby, very uncomfortable beds and very inconveniently placed, although the bus provided to the centre is convenient. Possibly the worst breakfast ever. BUT it was cheap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from England

Mimosa - One of three

Posted Jul 9, 2008
This hotel is one of a group of three (Dorisol Hotels) situated at the top of a steep hill and although you can drive upto it, the car park is actually located at the bottom of the hill. There are a few parking places at the top, but tend to be full. If you can not handle steep walks, then you might be better off picking one of the other two hotels located in this chain and futher down the hill. I know it says not to mention other hotels but I do feel this is relevent as Mimosa is at the top of a very steep hill! The hotel was very clean and the rooms adequate. They could probably benefit from a make-over soon, but they were very clean and ours had a balcony looking out over the sea. Hotel facilities appeared well supported, especially the outdoor swimming pool and area.Staff spoke many different languages. There was hotel entertainment available for those who wanted it. Breakfast was 'continental' but with a very good and varied choice including: fresh fruit, yogurts, breads and cakes, eggs,meat, juices etc. Failing that, there are plenty of cafe's/bars locally. The only downsides for us was the sound of dogs barking from a private dwelling situated close to the hotel and the fact that you can not walk by the majority of restaurants/cafes close to the hotel without being confronted by people wanting you to dine with them. Very off putting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham, UK

Good, basic hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2008
This hotel is in the hotel zone, which is good if you want to be near lots of restaurants or take advantage of organised island tours. It's not so good if you want to get away from lots of other tourists and explore the island for yourself with a hire car. I would say this hotel is reasonably priced - good value, has all the basic facilities you want - but nothing special. If I go back to Madeira, I'll probably stay outside Funchal in a quieter, more peaceful area. The good things about the hotel are the kitchenettes in each room so you can have simple meals there and the view from the balcony over Funchal. The bad things about the hotel are the big hill you have to climb up to the front door and the fact our room was always much hotter than the air outside!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Letchworth

Good basic hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2007
Good clean hotel with friendly staff and adequate facilities, perfect for a break where you intend to actual see the place and not sit in your room all day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton

A n excellent hotel for a good value holiday

Posted Dec 2, 2007
Hotel was clean, comfortable and in good location for shops and restrurants although a good walk away from Funchal. There is a steep walk though to Reception -but most of Madeira involves steep walks at some point. Building work next door to hotel was not a nice view, although a lot of rooms would face the other way. This also meant there was a lot of noise during the day which may be offputting for some, but this will be finished soon. Indoor pool was lovely for when it was raining, but temperature of water varied. Sauna and jacuzzie lovely. Kitchenettes small and not suitable for cooking but great for cups of tea and snacks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Enjoyed My Stay

Posted Sep 21, 2007
We had an enjoyable stay at the Mimosa hotel. Room was a decent size, with a small kitchenette and quite large bathroom. Furnishings were quite modern and everything was clean. The only thing I didn't like were the beds which were a little hard! We were lucky to have a balcony looking over Funchal, up to the mountains and towards the sea, with beautiful views. We didn't eat at the restaurant in the evening, choosing to go to the many others that are in the local area. The breakfast was adequate, with cereal, bacon, eggs, bread etc on offer at the buffet, but it wasn't anything special. The outdoor pool area was clean and tidy, if the pool itself was a little cold!! The indoor pool, tennis court and games room were all good, offering plenty to do. The staff all seemed pleasant and were quite helpful. There is evening entertainment in the piano bar, which we didn't see but it seemed quite popular amongst the other guests. The location of this hotel is up a steep hill, but saying that most of Madeira is a hill! It's close to many restaurants, a pharmacy, supermarket, and the lido complex. It's about a 30 min walk into the centre of Funchal, so you might want to think about getting the shuttle bus if you don't fancy walking. If you do, however, there is also a levada close by, behind the hotel and up the hill, which takes you out of Funchal, into the banana plantations and into a beautiful valley.