Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cliff & Lynda from Vancouver, BC

Room B202 needs radical Reno

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: The condo location & upkeep of the yard was very well done, couldn't ask for better
Cons: The fact that ownerships of condos varies so much & front desk is very unconcerned with complaints or requests
Location: Awesome
We looked so forward to Maui Sunset as we've stayed there before but this room B202 needs a radical update & Reno. The bed was not a King as requested but that was nothing compared to comfort!!!!! Horrible to say the least - mattress needs to be thrown out! Headboard needs to be attached to wall or bed frame. The larger closet would not close & the dresser was a disgrace, every time you opened it (if you could) it would fall out. The swivel chair was stained & gross, we put a blanket over it to sit on it. We have now looked at a few places & will know better where we want to stay in the complex, but this one is not on the list unless serious rents have been done. These things are not said after just a weekend or a short stay - this was a 3 week stay - we feel very cheated for what we paid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Terry from Idaho

Great View, Grounds & Sunset! Room was debacle.

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We truly enjoyed the venue, the grounds, the incredible sunsets! Best view in Maui....HOWEVER, Room 106 was in total disrepair, wreaked of urine in the master and on suite...finally found a rug that we set on the lanai and that helped some. We personally scrubbed the bathroom floor 3x. Coffee pot, disposal, vacuum did not work. Lady at front desk did not care.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynn from B.C., Canada

Great location

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: Great location... on the beach gave unlimited opportunity for beach walks. Common grounds: Beautiful, friendly area with activities
Cons: The first impression of the room was that it was grungy...needed a coat of paint, and main room carpet was badly in need of cleaning.
Location: Central, 3 swimable beaches - 5-10 minute drive. Grocery stores, restaurants, also nearby. Unlimited shore line for walking.
The hotel is conveniently situated on the beach... grounds receive excellent attention. The view of the sky and sunset are spectacular. The visitors and home owners are respectful and maintain the "Respect Others' Rights. Quiet Please" motto that is posted in the stairwells. At the same time, children and adults of all ages enjoy the pool, grounds with shuffle board and golf putting area and plenty of room for a kids' game of tag or turning cart wheels. The BBQ area is a great place for cooking a meal and meeting others. We have stayed at the Maui Sunset before and would like to return again some time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Marina, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review. The Maui sunset is a great property with a lot of things to do like you have mentioned. The walking beach fronting the property, tennis courts and large lawn area are also great features. It sounds like you and your family had a great time while staying here and we hope that you return to Maui Sunset during your next Maui vacation. If you have any questions or need assistance planning your next Maui vacation please do not hesitate to contact us. Mahalo, Marina Maui Condo and Home, LLC.
2 out of 5
by Stasia from Surrey

Terrible room by beautiful beach

Posted Dec 12, 2013
Pros: hotel it self had everything
Cons: Renovate some apartments
Location: we explored all Maui
Nice close to the beach but room what we got should be renovated long time ago.Dhirty walls,old old bathrooms, kitchen and applaliances.Maui beautiful place to be but appm. where we lived I wont recommend to anybody.Sorry but is time to push the owner to renovate apartment, make a decent spot to be and make stay happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Marina, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your feedback. I apologize that your stay was not satisfactory. All of your concerns will be investigated into. All of the units are individually owned so the decor of the interior will vary between the condos. We will pass your concerns on to the owner. We hope that you give another unit at the Maui Sunset a try on your next visit to Maui or maybe another one of our condo complexes on Maui. If you have any questions or would like assistance on picking the perfect condo for you please call our office and one of our reservations agents will help you find the perfect condo for your dream vacation on Maui. Mahalo, Marina Maui Condo and Home, LLC.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Comfort and Clean

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Could use a little upgrade on stuff in the suite but other than that I don't have any complaints. It is a 3 star, priced right in a good location. Staff is friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steve from San Diego

Nice property, our particular room not so nice

Posted Sep 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Each condo is individually owned and maintained and there are several ways to book different condos. This particular condo, A206, needed a thorough cleaning and dusting. For example: Dust on the shower tile lip, air conditioner filter clogged with dust, medicine cabinet dirty, greasy cooking utensils, dirty pasta pot, carpet stains. The kitchen area had not been upgraded but needed to be. Other furnishings in the condo had been refreshed or replaced. The building and grounds are well maintained. The pool area is exceptional. The outdoor grills are cleaned every day. We would return but would want to know the specific unit we would be staying in, preferably with the owner onsite to resolve cleanliness issues. The park facilities nearby attracts a questionable crowd. Ample free parking. Close to several food stores and strip malls. Free internet but not wireless in this unit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and close to beach!

Posted Aug 5, 2013
I love it here, though I'm a bit biased because I used to stay here as a kid (which means the facilities are kind of dated). Regardless, they grounds are immaculately kept, and the resort sits right on the beach. My first time back after 15 years and I was not disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Thomas from Berkeley

Convenient for us to make visits we needed to make

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Pros: Price
Cons: no
Location: We were there on business, so we did not have any spare time. Reasonable selection of restaurants and shops in the area.
Met our needs well. Fully furnished condo with ample appliances and equipment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by The Johnsons

Great condo next to beach

Posted Jul 17, 2013
Pros: It was spacious, clean and had free wifi and parking! All a big plus for us!
Location: Great location with surrounding beaches, shopping and restaurants!
Condo was clean, cozy and comfy! It had everything we needed! Even had lawn chairs, boogie boards, beach toys and picnic bags to use on the beach! The pool and spa was clean with beautiful beach views! We will definitely stay here again! :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by skybeachcondo from Pattaya Tai, Na Kluea, Pattaya, Chon Buri 20150, Thailand

aging but still one of the best in Kihei

Posted May 3, 2013
Pros: Sunset beach walk
Cons: Most of the rooms are dalk (no sun light) but it also keep the rooms cool (I rarely use aircons in my room).
Location: No shops/restraults nearby but a worthwhile tradeoff to its beach-front location
The whole building has started to show it age although relatively well maintained. Huge lawn areas suitable especially to families with kids The beach-front location is convenient but the room rates I think are overcharged.