Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Spacious room

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Beach was great for swimming, watching the sun set and even saw a turtle when snorkeling!
Cons: Less paper work - perhaps in a folder in the room for our perusal at a later stage?
Location: Local restaurant was very good.
Had a 2 night stay in a studio with partial ocean view. Room was very spacious and clean with a partial view of the ocean though a beautiful flowering tree. Staff were friendly but got paper work on checking in with dos and don'ts regarding parking/checking out times/breakfasts etc and then had more put under the door on our second day ....seemed a bit over the top at the time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa

Excellent spot right on the beach in a quiet bay.

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: That it was a small resort right on an amazing beach with free breakfast, fully equipped kitchens, BBQs, great snorkeling and amazing sunsets.
Cons: Air conditioning in the rooms.
Location: Great location. We rented a car and were close to many restaurants and shops.
We loved our time at the Mauian and will definitely return again. Napili Bay is a small private beach shared by a few small resorts so it was never over crowded and swimming was excellent. Truly a jewel of Maui. The highlights of the day included snorkeling with the large turtles and watching the amazing sunsets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom scotland

Traditional hawaiian hotel right on the beach

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: High level of cleanliness ,and it's close proximity to a pristine.beach
Cons: Very traditional setting so I would nt change anythink
Location: Quiet llo key resort close to two excellent swimming and snorkling beaches.
From the minute we arrived and until we left, we were treated like royalty. From the receptionist to the maid,s and even the gardeners, could,nt do enough to help you. the studio apartments which overlook one of the most beautiful beaches on maui were exceptionally clean and well maintained every day.the grounds are also kept to the highest standard by the grounds staff this was my third visit in succession and it will certainly won't be my last.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Laid back hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Direct access to the beach Mostly families and couples staying here Partial ocean view Small kitchen with microwave, stove Continental breakfast
Cons: Air conditioning Better insulation between rooms Stronger wifi
Location: Lahaina is a very short drive away and the bay is great for swimming, snorkeling, or just lounging on the beach.
I wasn't sure what to expect when we first arrived, but after the first day we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel seems a bit older but has been updated. We were a bit surprised that there was no air conditioning considering how warm and humid it can get, especially in the summer months. This may be a bit of a trade-off since this hotel was considerably cheaper than a lot of alternatives. The windows are almost always open for constant ventilation and the fans running all the time keep it tolerable. Our one mistake we made when we came here was not renting a car. Because it is clear on the other side of the island from the airport, this resulted in an over $100 taxi ride. There are cheaper shuttle options you should look into if you don't rent a car from the airport. There also isn't much within walking distance, and because the roads are very narrow, twisty, and don't have sidewalks even the options in walking distance are a bit scary to get to without a car. We ended up renting a car our second day which made our stay much more enjoyable. We would definitely stay here again. If you are looking for somewhere reasonably quiet and affordable this is a great place to stay. This might not be a good place for you if you are looking for a more "resort" style hotel with everything you need on the property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nor Cal

Perfection

Posted Aug 10, 2014
This is the place to stay if you want to truly experience Maui and stay away from the giant hotels. Very private and landscaped beautifully. The beach is right at your doorstep. We felt like we were on our own private trip staying at the Mauian.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Exactly what we were looking for.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
The Mauian on Napili Bay is our kind of place to go for a relaxing vacation. Clean, well kept rooms, comfortable beds, quiet, low key atmosphere and fabulous staff. Our room was literally just steps away from a beautiful sand beach with crystal clear water. You can't go wrong staying here if you want casual, laid back relaxation and a great place to unwind after a day of activities and exploring the island. I loved it, my husband loved it and we will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Great property in a wonderful location. It's different than your average resort experience...it's closer to a cross between a B/B and a timeshare condo feel. There were times I felt like I was in an apartment complex at the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Germany / Mexico

great hotel with excellent beach access

Posted Jun 30, 2014
we enjoyed our time a lot and will recommend this hotel to all our friends who are looking for a small hotel without restaurant and 5 star service. The hotel is very clean, has a great garden, rooms with a terrace or balcony on second floor and a good complementary breakfast in the morning. All rooms have a well equipped kitchen area with a huge refrigerator. Best thing is the direct beach access to one of the nicest beaches on Hawaii. Most second level rooms have a beach view from the balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Honeymoon Spot

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Napili is quiet and serene, but a quick drive to the hustle and bustle or Ka'anapali and Lahaina. The Honalua Store in Kapalua has great food!!
This was the perfect place to stay for our honeymoon!! We read many reviews on places to stay in West Maui. We were looking for a quiet area (not the resort atmosphere of Ka'anapali) with the beach at our fingertips. The Mauian seemed like the perfect place although I was a little nervous about people's comments regarding hearing footsteps through the walls/ceiling. We emailed ahead asking for a room on the second floor (since people said that helped). When we arrived, we were taken back by the beauty of the grounds. The landscaping was impeccable! We arrived to a complimentary bottle of champagne congratulating us on our recent wedding. The room was the perfect size with a fully stocked with all the kitchen necessaries (even had a can opener and cheese grater!). The bed was comfortable and we loved not having a TV or AC. We slept with the windows open and fans on every night so we always heard the ocean. Footsteps and noise from other guests was non existent. Our entire week was so peaceful and relaxing even with having a few young children staying there. All the guest were so nice and the staff was so happy and accommodating. The breakfast was fruit and breads. We LOVED the cinnamon raison bread! The bay was perfect! They provided beach towels and beach chairs. We swan, boogie boarded, snorkeled, and even rented a stand up paddle board from the store next door. Simply put, The Mauian was amazing, and we cannot thank them enough for making our honeymoon so perfect!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amyfrom Toronto, Canada

Very cozy and close to the beach

Posted May 19, 2014
Feels like home but would still prefer having air conditioning particularly in the middle of the day.