Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

International style resort in Greece.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The whole complex is first class. Quality of construction, the pool, the complex. It is in a very beautiful part of Greece.
Cons: Charging for internet is ridiculous. The pool is completely isolated from the beach, which isn't great.
Location: There are nice villages around, with typical restaurants for half the price. Historical sites and wonderful beaches all around.
Hotel facilities are amazing. one of the most well built high-class hotels I've ever been. There are two flaws in my mind: it doesn't look like you're in Greece and the hotel staff, while very friendly, is not to the standards of a first class hotel in terms of efficiency/service.
2 out of 5
by Lorraine from UK

Nice hotel, disorganised restaurant staff

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: The beach and the building
Cons: Restaurant Service better qualified polite staff!
Location: Great restaurants (Ela, to name the best one) great beaches
We had a family 10 day stay at the Romanos. It was awful, the service in the restaurants really wasn't what you would expect in a Luxury rated hotel. Dinner would cost between 300 to 400 euros. people were walking out due to such bad service. The staff really looked lost and bewildered, as if it was there first night. We met the deputy manager of food and beverage who totally agreed that further training was needed, he said that many people were disappointed with the restaurant service. It was a real shame as the building is beautiful, we started to dread going to dinner. We hired a car, fantastic restaurants close by, great service friendly staff and by far a better meal at a fraction of the cost. Even upon checking out, the receptionist totally agreed with the poor service at their restaurants, and she said it was something they couldn't seem to get right, as she handed us our extortionate bill for second class service.... Oh dear!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David from Boston

Piece of heaven if you make the trek

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Palacial hotel. Beautiful grounds. Really good restaurants. Wonderful spa. While the rooms were really nice, the designs were a touch funny (no usable plug in our bathroom). Mostly good and attentive staff-just don't expect the buggies to come in a timely manner, and they failed to notice a coffee cup for three days. We went in June, and the water required you to be Nordic to enjoy. The roads to get there are windy and not ideal for those prone to car sickness. But the best we've been to in Greece by far.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob and Julia

Will go back again - but check seaview first

Posted Sep 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was absolutely lovely. Nothing at all to criticise it. We did however have problems with our booking and our expectations of the seaview were not fulfilled with our first room - a deluxe sea view, which despite the name, had a scrap of a sea view in the distance across the golf course. To get a really good sea view you need to upgrade to a premium room, and hotels.com doesnt make that obvious. The premium room is marginally wider but other than that is identical to the deluxe room - apart from the view that is. The hotel manager was extremely kind and on our second day moved us to the sea view we expected (given the price and description), and we had three stunning sunsets. Food was absolutely marvellous, the beach and the beachfront seafood restaurant were both wonderful for people watching, the swim up pool bars were great and there were no problems with space to enjoy and chill out wherever you wanted to be - beach or poolside. Most of all we loved the Asian restaurant, Imbi. We will go back soon, hopefully next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tim

A hidden jewel - shhhh, don't tell anyone!!

Posted Jul 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is superb. The Romanos is better than the Westin...far more private. I thought the room were a good size, very well appointed, great view, quiet, super clean. They have spared no expense on this hotel; you can see it even in the furnishings around the pool and on the beach. I found the people working there very nice and hospitable and they seemed really happy to work there. A beautiful property with lots to do (or nothing at all) where you feel well taken care of. My only critiscim was that you had to pay for Wifi, which I find very tacky for a 5 star hotel. Put it in the room rate if you want, but having to look at a EUR35 charge for 3 days of internet annoys me. I would gladly pay another EUR10 in the room rate to not see it listed on a bill. Congratulations tot he owners, they have created a beautiful place using the best of the best equipment and furnishings. I am not a big resort kind of person, but at the Romanos, even though it is a big property, you barely see people other than at meals, so it doesn't feel stifling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

The most exceptional hotel I have ever been in, and I travel quite a bit

Posted Aug 14, 2010
The hotel blends perfectly with the surroundings. The rooms are extremely well designed, comfortable, modern but also very "warm". All hotel facilities are exceptionally detailed, and we were unable to find any imperfections despite our efforts. The beach is very well organized but the water is relatively cold. Multiple opportunities for sea sport activities. We plan to go back next year with the kids, as the hotel is very kids-friendly and has multiple independent children activities supervised by a very competent cast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Athens, Greece

Amazing

Posted Jul 14, 2010 on Hotels.com
Perfect Setting, Atmosphere, Service and Staff Manners. Immaculate Standards