Ratings based on 1,201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jamaica

Beautiful reception front front desk staff i

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: The location, staff, facilities
Cons: Jacuzzi in an awkward place could be more secluded and available for late evening use. Meats and vegetables to be located away from each other.
Location: Night club, tennis court, shops eateries all close by
Made to feel welcome the minute we arrived which was a great start. The staff were young enthusiastic pleasant and professional. We fell in love with how close the hotel was to the sea and made full use of the gorgeous white sanded beach. My only complaint was the lack of Jamaican cuisine, would have loved to see more Jamaican food on offer. Also as a vegetarian I think the meats could have been located away from the non meat food. I observed meat gravy splash and land in a potatoe dish!!! Maybe the cut off times for dining could also be looked at. Staff were a little too eager to close up shop bang on time, could make you feel rushed if you are a slow eater. Other than that wonderful place will definitely return with friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dayton, Ohio

Better Than the rest

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: It is right at the end of the hip strip so you have multiple shops and bars at your disposal. We walked less than 15 minutes to Margaritaville
I have been to Montego bay 3 other times in the past few years. I have stayed and varied places and this was by far the best place that I have been so far. I will go back and am already planning to do so in 6 months or so. There is not one thing at this location that is not as good or better than any of the other places I have stayed. Beautiful beach front. Plenty of amenities. Fiendly staff. Prompt service. Attentive and conscientious people all over the location. If you want it, and it is available, they will get it for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City, MO

Great location! Below average staff.

Posted May 20, 2015
We really loved our room, the view and the beaches at this resort. Lots of activities and events for guests. The entire staff seemed grumpy and the food was very disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Kentucky

Very Nice Affordable Hotel

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Clean, staff, food, beach, view,
Cons: Entertainment earlier.
Location: Walk to shops, Margaritaville and the Pork Pit. Caption Poly's snorkeling trip for $20 was fun and the Hotel small catamaran ride by staff is free.
We stayed 10 nights at the Royal Decameron and had fun. I booked a garden view room 6 months in advance hoping to get an ocean view but the front desk clerks wouldn't budge. Upon check in, I asked for a ground floor and the clerk said she could put us in a second floor ocean view. The bellhop took us to a very undesirable room which faced the back property of the hotel and the Hip Strip. We immediately said we did not want it. I told the desk manager we wanted to upgrade and she informed us it would cost $40 extra per night. (When I booked on expedia back in December, the upgrade was $10 per night. I recommend paying the extra on expedia rather than waiting to get to the hotel to do so. When I first started researching hotels in Montego Bay, the Hotel website, not expedia, said all are ocean view. ) We were then assigned to another garden view at the end of the hall on the 3rd floor. The room was much better and we had a large balcony which overlooked the pool/ocean to the right and the Hip Strip area to the left. We were pleased with it and the rest of the trip was fantastic. All of the staff are very friendly and accommodating. I had read hundreds of reviews and was very skeptical, but once there, i couldn't figure out why people were complaining. There were varieties of food to choose from. We ate at the reservation restaurant twice and it was good. My least favorite was the snack bar. Entertainment was good but wish it started earlier. Great Vacation!! Go!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York

My honeymoon

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: The beach and location
Cons: The breakfast menu could be improved.My husband and myself had limited options because we don't eat pork or eggs,so breakfast was normally fruit
Location: the location was great. Easily accessible to the stores and market
The Beach is gorgeous ,the resort was nice,your staff was excellent,& the drinks were strong. The rooms were not quite what I was expecting and your breakfast menu needs to be updated. Especially for the non-pork eaters. Outside of that I would visit again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Hotel that was actually fun

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: The energy. Nice guests and the entertainment.
Cons: the waiters...
Location: long private beach. definitely take a tour on the booze cruise you wont regret it. also visit dunn's river falls, very nice place
Stood for 6 days - Lots of entertainment, free activities (snorkeling, kayaking). 2 pools, a very long private beach. It was very comfortable in a simple way, very relaxing nothing flashy. Live entertainment on a nightly basis, also very lively just steps outside of the resort. My only gripe was the service of waiters who seem to only treat you right based on how well you treat them ($$$) otherwise you get a sour face instead of a smile. I didnt like it and neither did my wife. However the loveliest person there was tour guide lady (#2). Very nice and polite and professional. They do their best to keep everything clean which i liked
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston MA

Not a good vacation.

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Cons: Customer service, most staff should be retrained.
Location: Right on the HipStrip and walking distance to Margueritaville.
We were checked into an unmade room, then brought to another room on the third floor. Air conditioner didn't work and there was not a way to open windows and no balcony. We we were then informed that we'd have to pay a fee to upgrade. Food was lousy, very few choices. Beach was not really a beach but rather you had to go down a ladder into deep water. Activity staff and bartenders were more interested in playing a board game amongst themselves instead of interacting with the guests. The elevator held only 2 people and seemed unsafe. Bad experience and a very expensive lesson.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on the beach.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
We stayed for 12 days. Excellent staff and a nice variety of food. Pool and beach access easy to get to. Lots of lounge chairs with umbrellas on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Is a great economical all inclusive

Posted Apr 18, 2015
We had a wonderful time there. It was a very relaxed, pleasant atmosphere. Only complaint was the ceiling light was not working when we got there, and we notified the front desk the first day, but it never got fixed in our five days there. Over all, it was great. we would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Affordable All-Inclusive Resort right on the Beach

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Price, Location, Amenities, Staff
Cons: Hotel needs USD ATM. Airport shuttle would be a huge improvement as well.
Location: The Pelican Restaurant, Margaritaville, The Pork Pit, Zip line Adventures, Craft Shops, Glass Bottom Boat Snorkeling Tours, Catamaran Cruises.
This was my second stay at the Royal Decameron in Montego Beach. Location: This resort is on the "Hip Strip". It's home to local shops, a gaming facility, Margaritaville, Hotels, and For-Profit beaches. The resort itself is a 5 minute drive from the Airport, which is great because cab fare is not cheap. Most importantly, while other hotels on the strip have ocean view's, they are not directly on the beach. RDC is right on the ocean. Staff: Both times I've stayed at RDC, the staff was always friendly from the time I checked-in to the time I checked-out. They always made sure to go the "extra mile" for you. Every time you pass a staff member in the hallways, expect a smile and to be asked how your trip is going so far. Food: The food is decent. I liked it, but nothing to brag about. But hey, it's included! For authentic Jamaican cuisine I suggest eating at The Pelican or The Pork Pit on the Hip Strip at least one day on your trip. Families: I'd say the majority of guests are couples and groups of friends. While kids may enjoy snorkeling or playing in the sand, there isn't much to do for younger children here. That was okay with me as I was looking for a quieter environment. There is another resort in Mo' Bay with slides and kiddie pools. Not included in the all-inclusive Package: Wi-Fi, Transportation, outside excursions. Also note: No ATM on site. There is an on-site Travel Agent to help you book day trips. Overall, I enjoyed both times and would stay there again!