Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Sandals Montego Bay. MUST GO!

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Lots of things to do during the day and at night! The staff was very friendly and accommodating to whatever we needed!
Location: We went to Dolphin Cove in Negril. It was such an amazing experience, definitely worth it! It only took about 30 minutes by shuttle bus.
This was such an amazing trip and experience. I went with my boyfriend and there were so many things for us to do. We met lots of people from all over the world! Neither of us wanted the trip to end; we did not even get to do everything we had wished. You have the option to go to two other Sandals close by to eat, drink and hang out there for the day with shuttle buses constantly running. Definitely a must go for couples looking to get away and have a good time!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Decatur, IL

Be exact in everything you want during booking.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Beach.
My wife and I are both 33 and this was our 1st trip away from the kids in several years. I hate taking the time for reviews so take what I write seriously please. We bought a "walkout level club room" and what we got was not consistent with the picture we were sold. Only a handful of rooms were updated and ours was not one of them (room #1871). We did not have hot water for 2 days, we did not have any running water for 1 day (including the toilet). The food was acceptable. Your typical lunch & breakfast were fine. The "fine dining" was lacking. We made reservations and got all dressed up for the Italian restaurant which turned out to be at best the equivalent of an every day Olive Garden. No matter which place you chose to eat it was clear that "fine dining" had to be S L O W....good grief it took forever to order & eat. The only good part about the trip was the beach activities. This was truly top notch. The beach was CLEAN and there was ample space to where we were not bunched together. The ocean porch lounge beds were a nice touch. The staff was exceptionally nice from the maintenance man up to the club manager. It was also incompetent. The woman who promised us a new room the next day failed to notify reservations of the change and they double booked the room we were supposed to move to. Of course she just happened to not be there the remainder of our trip also. Just don't go. Pick somewhere else and save yourself some money and effort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, but CLOSE to airport

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Great staff, beautiful beach, yummy food with lots of dining options
Cons: Proximity to the airport (the runway is literally out your back door) obviously can't be improved, but something to consider if you are booking.
Location: Take advantage of the shuttles to the Royal Caribbean Sandals and check out their private beach
We upgraded to a Sandals from other all inclusive that we have tried in the past and were overall impressed. The food is MUCH better than other AI's. The beach is beautiful, water warm. Pools and rooms are small and a bit outdated, but kept up very well. Beds not super comfortable, but better than other AI's we've been to (RIU, Grand Bahia). Biggest knock on this resort is its proximity to the airport. The planes really are only taking off between 9a-10p or so, so doesn't disrupt your sleep, but does take away a bit from the feeling of being on an island vacation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Not enough staff for land and water sports.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Rooms are kept clean. Food is good. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Cons: Fix the tennis courts. Keep water sports open ALL day - no more closing everyday for 2 hour lunch breaks. To fix this they need to have more staff.
Location: Shuttle to other resorts is useful. This enables guests to explore other resorts and MoBay. A shuttle to downtown MoBay would be nice.
Just returned from 10 days at Sandals Montego Bay. We enjoyed the beach, activities, shows, food and great staff. Rooms are clean - seem to be recently upgraded (Sea Grapes block). Shower is awkward - Arc shower curtains but with standard straight instead of curved Arc shower rods. Nice fitness centre with windows, various equipment (free weights, mirrors, mats, towels, antiseptic wipes and cold drinking water). However, treadmill touch screens work poorly. Out of 4 tennis courts, only 1 is OK (not great). Cracked playing surfaces, nets are too tight with no way to slacken the tension. They need to keep some cleaning tools at the tennis courts (brooms and squeegee). Water sports are run by knowledgable staff with whom safety comes first. This is excellent! However, they are very under staffed. Every day at noon they close for 2 hour lunch break. REALLY? At noon everyone has to return to beach. By the time they re-open at 2 pm it is often too windy to sail anymore for the rest of the day! The best time for sailing is lost. This limits sailing to maybe 3 hours in morning. If the water sports group had more staff they can stagger their lunch breaks to ensure they are ALWAYS well staffed. Their sports manager needs to fix these short comings (or hire a better sports manager?). This is a game breaker! For these reasons we will likely not return unless they fix these issues. If we recommend this resort to our friends it will be with caveats.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nebraska

Great hotel near beach

Posted Feb 9, 2015
This hotel was amazing. The staff was extremely nice and went out of there way to make sure all our needs were met. Hope to return to this resort soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Beautiful beach and first class resort

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: We liked the food, the drinks, the beach, the hot tubs, the grounds. Everything. We can't wait to go back.
Cons: The nighttime entertainment could be varied a bit. We saw the same dancers three nights out of four.
Location: We took an excursion to Dunn's Falls and climbed upmthe waterfall. A must for anyone physically able to do that. We also took an excursion to Negril.
We stayed at Sandals Montego Bay from Jan 1 through Jan 4, 2015. The resort is beautiful, we really had a great time. There were many choices for dinner, the Stewfish Grill had fantastic seafood. The Oleander restaurant was perfect. Our waiter Robert made several recommendations, and he was right on target. The food and service were both outstanding. There is a french pastry shop that made great crepes. There were always places to sit and lay down by the pools and by the beach. Great bars, the bartenders always kept another drink coming! The only downside to this resort is it is VERY close to the airport, so planes frequently roar overhead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Very friendly staff. The gift shop was very nice.

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness of all the areas and the friendliness of the staff.
Cons: My husband and I enjoy buffets and there was only 1 while we were there.
Location: The hotel is close to the airport which we like. We took a taxi to the Hip Strip one night to shop.
The beach area was kept very clean. The restaurant and bar were only a few steps from the beach. Some afternoons the beach was really crowded and there could have been more lounge chairs. Also not a lot of swim area. We spend most of our days on the beach. At night we really enjoyed the entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bronx, NY

Royalty Service

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: The lay-out of the grounds and the beach front.
Cons: More events during the week.
We arrived in Jamaica tired and hungry. Fortunately the Sandals staff greeted us with their lounge which included food and refreshments, complimentary. Only 10 minutes away from the airport was a plus and check in was smooth as silk. The resort itself is breath taking and staff makes you feel like royalty. The water sports and other out door excursions are easy inquire about and partake. There are serveal restaurants that are sure to please your appetite, we attend a few, lol. In all we had an fantastic and relaxing time, can't wait to go back this New Year's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elaine Cfrom São paulo

Excelente

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
fui passar o Natal com meu marido, e encontrei tudo o que eu queria, paz, comida boa, e um excelente tratamento. Voltarei um dia com certeza.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Tampa, Florida

Excellent vacation

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Really a very beautiful resort. It's outdoor, tropical ambiance is what made it unique. The staff was so friendly and hospitable. Food was great for the most part. Abundance of everything makes the all-inclusive worth it. The concierge was fantastic, tending to all our requests. Very professional. The servers in the restaurants were also so friendly, attentive and professional. The water sports center was pretty good. Equipment was all in great condition. A water tricycle or pedal boats would have made it even more fun. Should have jet skis. Service at the bars and at the beach was awesome. The gym had very nice, updated equipment. Really a 5-star resort all the way. Highly recommend!! We plan to go back :)