Ratings based on 475 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort & excellent staff!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
My husband and I went to secret at James for our 5 year anniversary. Jamaica and the resort exceeding my expectations. The food was good, the drinks were awesome, and the atmosphere was great! The staff including glen at the pool bar and Leo were on point with drinks and service. The entertainment team including Mello, Sparks, and Baby Boy were there to make sure everyone had a great time. I will definitely go back and recommend the resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas, NV

Best vacation ever!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: the location
This place has thought of everything and the staff is so friendly. So many choices for food, and activities. May only complaints are that the mini bar was not always restocked, the gym is small and gets really busy in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Caulette , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: It is great that you loved the variety of food and activities as well as the general friendliness of staff. We do aim to provide the best and so, your positive feedback is much appreciated. Your feedback about the fitness centre and mini bar have also been noted so that improvements can be made in these areas. Thanks again for having visited our resort and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Kind regards, Christina Smith eConcierge Assistant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom G

Home away from home..

Posted Apr 11, 2015
First time to Jamaica although family comes from there and I felt as if I've been there several times with how warm and hospitable they are. Welcomed with " Rum punch" and a cool towel. Eat until your stomach hurts! My girlfriend and I went to 3 restaurants in one night! The rooms are gorgeous and the view is to die for. Several restaurants and bars within the resort as well as a mini bar within your room Once at the pool bar you MUST SEE GLENN OR LEO or your trip won't be the same! The liveliest and funniest bartenders I've ever encountered Only down side is the fact that if you need to see a nurse ( which my gf needed to for a heat rash) you have to pay 30 USD before they can even suggest something for you.. Great live entertainment and private beach Overall wonderful trip and will visit very soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia Beach, VA

I have found my home away from home!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The service, view, cleanliness, friendliness of staff, entertainment, food, drinks, etc. It was all fantastic!
Location: I did the Luminous Lagoon excursion. I highly recommend everyone do that excursion. The most amazing experience of my life!
This place is absolutely amazing! I was treated like royalty! The staff was more than accommodating and extremely attentive to my needs, and they are very happy, quite friendly, and quick to resolve situations. My room was always clean and attended to twice a day. The view was unbelievable from every location, the beach, the restaurants, the pool, my room, etc. I was never lacking in basking in beauty while I was there. The thing I loved most was that after 11 pm, everything was quiet. I was able to sleep with my balcony door open and listen to the ocean and breeze blowing through the palm trees. The most serene experience...I will go back again and again and again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Amazing resort & vacation!!!

Posted Mar 19, 2015
We went for our honeymoon/1 year anniversary. We loved the resort, the staff, the room & the service overall!!! The staff were absolutely TOP NOTCH!!! The food & drinks were excellent! The beaches and pools were beautiful!! We loved the span of the resort and loved taking walks around the resort, especially in the evenings and at night (absolutely beautiful and fun)!! The staff were the nicest & more helpful than anywhere we've EVER been!!! There were no biting insects around (and they usually love me so I'm pretty sure they weren't around when we were there). The beds were amazingly comfortable (even for me who only sleeps on Tempurpedic to avoid back pain from a chronic injury). The view was spectacular (even though we ended up on the 3rd floor when we had requested the 5th). The only negative thing we can say, has nothing to do with the resort itself. Some people may find this problem a plus!!! Many of the guests were quite stuck-up/snobby. Who goes on vacation to Jamaica with that attitude? The attitude began daily at dinnertime when people were fully clothed and many wearing "semi-formal wear." Many of the guests looked unhappy at night (looking past the attitude): the women looked annoyed (impossible to please), and the men looked overwhelmed by trying to please their significant others, to no avail. It was sorta sad! We tried to stay away from this crowd to make our stay pleasurable. That plan worked very well for us!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Wonderful place for a wedding

Posted Mar 17, 2015
We had a wonderful time. The beach is gorgeous and the pool area was beautiful. We stayed at the St james but next will try the wild orchid side. Loved the spa and the gym facilities
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice... but flawed

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Nice rooms. Good food. Great beach. Mostly good service.
Cons: What's so hard about having a non-smoking beach area? If you have rules, enforce them or don't have them. Buy a manual or electric hedge trimmer.
Great beaches, rooms, and food. Staff was mostly well intended and helpful, with a few exceptions of indifference. Three big issues that fell far short of a good experience. For three days we were treated to loud, noisey, smelly gas powered hedge trimming equipment just a few feet from us for hours at a time. Not quite the peaceful beach experience we hoped for. The second issue was smoking. While the rooms and buildings are smoke free, nothing else is. Outside meals, beach time, and even the use of our veranda were ruined by thoughtless smokers. Designate a non-smoking beach area! And finally, they have elegant dress codes for the restaurants...all of which they ignore. We had dinner at the classiest place, sitting next to a guy in a Metallica tee shirt, camo shorts, and flip flops. And he was better dressed than his partner. And the discount coupons come at the cost of hearing a sales pitch for a vacation club.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Excellent resort!

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Their friendliness. The food was excellent and the beach and the pool area was very clean and well maintained.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location was awesome.
This was our first time to Jamaica and this resort made us feel so welcome. The staff was very friendly and so accommodating of anything you wanted. We would definitely recommend this resort to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom detroit, mi

Posted Mar 7, 2015
The hotel was amazing the food was good and the drinks. Stayed for 3 nights and the resort staff was friendly and gave us really good clubs to party at off the resort. The first night we went to pier 1, that club was fun and packed and it off the water. The shuttle from the hotel waited for us outside the clubs to make sure we made it back safely. Overall I would go back to this resort. Five stars here!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Absolutely Stunning!!

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Wonderful staff, great food, beautiful beach. My room was very clean as we're the resort grounds. I didn't get a chance to get in the pool, but the beautiful beach made up for that. The food was exquisite!!! Luxury at best!!