Ratings based on 460 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Logistics need improvement

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The staff was at least very friendly and accommodating.
Cons: The food could have been much better and the logistics in getting guests welcomed to dinner could have been better handled. Waited in line too much.
Location: There was a lot to do nearby including plenty of excursions but the transportation fees were quite exorbitant. It was absolutely too much.
This stay was one mistake after another. Upon arrival, check in was botched due to us being placed in the wrong room. We had to wait about 45 minutes to get moved to the correct room. The room itself was much better with a great view but the shower facilities were not well planned out because water leaked onto the bathroom floor after showers. The resort was well located close to the beach but we spent a lot of time looking for any seating on the beach or by the pool. The food and drinks at the restaurant was spotty at best. Some of the restaurants were very good and others were horrible. I felt like very little thought was placed on the food being served to the guests. All told, I was very disappointed by the resort for the amount we paid. I expected much more than I received.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bien trop américaniser pour nous européen

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Hotel tres grand et bétonné .. Au mois de février pas de piscine chauffée dans un 5 étoile à moins de débourser 80€ / jour pour un couple pour se retrouver en privilège club . La nourriture faite à base de produits congelés , pas de poissons frais alors que vous êtes à un mètre de la mer .. Fast-food règne en maître .. . Tout fonctionne avec pourboire .. C'est dommage .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Great hotel, exceptional service

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Everything! We were especially impressed by the professionalism of the staff.
Cons: Only suggestion is pool temperature.....water was colder than the ocean.
Location: Close to the airport which was nice! Many water activities available right at the hotel.
We were a bit hesitant to go with an all inclusive as we've never stayed at one before.....Secrets St. James, Montego Bay blew us away! The grounds were gorgeous, staff friendly and accommodating and the service was amazing. We stayed in an Ocean view Junior Suite which was perfect! Our rooms were cleaned and straightened twice a day. The food choices were great.....the portions were just right, not too big which is what all restaurants should do! We never had to wait to be seated. A nice variety of activity options....can't beat the pools and ocean being 20 feet away from each other! Couldn't get over how polite and pleasant all of the staff were, our U.S. hotel and restaurant staff should take some lessons from them! Piano bar was great as well as the nightly entertainment. Lots of colorful drink choices and we never had to leave our lounge chair to get them, that is unless we wanted to go to the swim up bar! We were made to feel like we were in paradise! We would absolutely consider going to another Secrets property and highly recommend staying at the St. James/Wild Orchid in Montego Bay!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Washington, Md

Can't wait to go back!

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: I am a lover of all things beautiful and this hotel fit the bill. I also like that it is an adult only hotel.
Cons: Great hotel. Life isn't perfect....don't expect this hotel to be. Go with the flow! :)
Location: I stayed on the resort. That's my preference. However, there were plenty of activities for the more adventurous folks.
If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, this is the place to be. I truly enjoyed my stay! My room was great, the food was awesome (especially breakfast) and the beach was serene. This was my first trip to Jamaica and I can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom ATL.

Great relaxing place for couples.

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: Great beach & beautiful lounge areas indoors and out doors. Rooms are clean and stocked all the time. Grounds are beautifully manicured and no bugs
Cons: I don't gamble at all so if the Casino didn't exist it wouldn't matter to me. I noticed the Casino is a very small room. Know one was in there at all.
I stayed at the Secrets St. James in a preferred guest building. The extra perks with that is the icing on the cake..... By the way there are always plenty of delicious deserts in the lobby of every preferred guest building and in every restaurant on the property. The grounds are beautiful, the staff was always kind and ready to cater to your every request.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Secrets, consistently awesome

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Cons: Again, more jacuzzi (or heated pool) options for those rainy windy days, and ditch the sales pitch at check-in.
Like any other Secrets resort you stay at, this one was amazing. Excellent beach, excellent accommodations, and great food and drink. The beach at this one was awesome (as compared to Cancun, which was a little dirty and not great for swimmin). My two, very minor complaints: only one jacuzzi that closes at 8pm (for both St James and Wild Orchid) and the sales pitch when you check in (I was starving and just wanted to get to my room and some food). Our stay was amazing though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Amazing resort, would definitely go again! Staff was friendly except front desk staff...they were all rude and seemed annoyed when they had to help
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2015
I had a wonderful experience. I satyed at the hotel from 1/29-2/1 for a quick couples getaway and it was more than I imagined.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel on beach

Posted Feb 3, 2015
The property is beautiful and very well maintained. Staff and services were excellent !! Highly recommend Secrets. There is a lot to do there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Not much of a beach.. Very rocky not sandy. Hotel staff tried to set us up for one of those timeshare deals.. When we didn't show they seemed upset about it.