Ratings based on 407 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best Secrets Hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Beautiful scenery & location is great - near the airport. Beach area was lovely & well maintained. Barefoot Grill was so tasty, a great snack
Cons: Staff really need to work on their attitude. In particular the front desk staff. First impressions are everything.
1. Had stayed in Secrets Silversands last yr & was wowed so had high expectations 2. On arrival, reception area very crowded, not greeted or given drink as expected 3. Booked ocean view room, given ground floor room with not even a glimpse of the sea. Called reception several times with no one calling me back. After much hassle, following up, disinterest (on their part) and annoyance (on ours) our room was changed on the second day. Replacement room had a really great view. 4. Layout of the hotel isn't great, we were a long walk from the restaurant area etc. 5. Restaurants: Himitsu had no AC, we were so uncomfortable througout the meal & couldn't wait to get out of there, service was good, food was average (at Silversands this restaurant had been amazing). Bordeaux had a 45min wait & when we were seated the restaurant was half empty - a lot of annoyed couples leading to a bad atmosphere there & service was so slow. Food was good. El Patio was all round a good restaurant, service ok. Desserts awful. Seaside Grill - food not good. Barefoot Grill was really good and a handy spot.Breakfast buffet lacked the variety of Silversands. 6. Preferred Club areas had hammocks & nice chairs etc which made me feel like a 2nd class citizen - not really what I'm after when I've booked into a 5* luxury resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON, Canada

Great resort with great food and friendly staff

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff made sure that you were happy at all times. In addition, the restaurants offered an excellent selection of food.
Cons: N/A
Location: The resort is about 20 mins from the Sangster Int'l Airport in Montego Bay. It is great for those that are ready to immediately start their vacation
This resort was great from the moment our transportation arrived at the front entrance. The staff immediately took care of my wife and I by ensuring we were comfortable and ready to enjoy an excellent stay in Jamaica. Our only regret is not staying longer than 4 days. Our room had a balcony offering a picturesque view of the ocean and beach front. Most of the time was spent on the beach of course with drink in hand. Drinks of choice include the Dirty Banana, Bob Marley, Taste of Secrets, Jamaica Delight and who can forget Red Stripe beer...delicious. The spa was very relaxing and highly recommended. If you go, be sure to arrive an hour earlier than your appointment time in order to take advantage of the offered hydra therapy circuit. Beach activities include kayaking, snorkeling, etc. It was really cool snorkeling with jelly fish not to say that there were that many around. Please note that jelly fish are in season in October but there is nothing to worry about. If you go snorkeling, you will have a guide and they will move them out of the way for you. Last but certainly not least is the food. There are several restaurants to choose from including Japanese, French, Italian, Mexican, etc. My wife and I weren't there long enough to try each restaurant for dinner but I can tell you that the ones we chose to dine at were excellent. When relaxing on the beach, I highly recommend you try the jerk pork and chicken. It is soooooo good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Very relaxing stay!!

Posted Oct 21, 2014
It was our honeymoon and they treated us great. It was a very relaxing and comfortable place to stay. Our only complaint was the breakfast buffet was not the greatest and only one location for breakfast. Everything else was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for couples, never had to leave

Posted Oct 19, 2014
It was an inviting, quiet, romantic environment. The restaurants were easily accessible and we never had to wait more than a few minutes to be seated. The food was ok. The best restaurant we went to was the bordeaux. The staff was very pleasant and accomodating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PSL, FL.

Great exept...

Posted Oct 12, 2014
I have stayed at a few all inclusive resorts in the past. Couples is by far my favorite and I would rate secrets as being my least favorite so far. This is only because even though it is an all inclusive tips are widely expected.they also try to bully you into a 90 minute sales presentation for a timeshare. After refusing several times to do the 90 minute presentation we finally gave it a go. It ended up taking a little over two hours worth of our day. They kept calling it everything except a timeshare which is exactly what it was. The sales pressure was not to unbearably high but it was high enough that made it uncomfortable. I will say that the staff is very friendly and very personable.The snorkeling where as it is all-inclusive is difficult to get a trip out. They will only lend the snorkeling gear three times per day at 9,10, and 2. And the trips are almost always full. I could understand this if it was a boat trip but you are merely swimming out about 50 feet to the reef. If you bring your own gear you can go anytime. They have snorkeling gear available at the gift shop For a very premium price. Also as with most resorts everything on resort is very expensive. They have a tie-dying class but you have to buy the shirt from them if you do not have one with you so they charge you $15 per plain white T-shirt. My suggestion would also be to bring your own T-shirts or tank tops to tie-dye them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Great Location, Great Restaurants, Great Service, but the room could use some updating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Secrets has left not one stone unturned!!!

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: None
Excellent experience at Secrets in Jamaica and we have been to Tahiti which trumps all experiences on Earth! Staff like no other place. Kind people and extremely accommodating. The food is exquisite and the facilities are new. Beaches are spectacular and not crowded. Pools are perfect. Bars everywhere! Too many dining options. Excellent experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo,NY

Paradise...

Posted Sep 30, 2014
One of the best vacations ever.. From the minute we got off the shuttle to the time we got ready to leave it was an amazing experience. We do a lot of vacations this was the most friendliest and relaxed. The room was as pictured. Pools very nice and clean. Planty of sitting options. Beach was very clean again many many chairs/beds. Towels are huge and always available. Food options endless. Many previous reviews I read were negative about food. If you're only used to basic finger junk, you may not like it. 9 different restaurants including 4 "fancy ones",9 bars. Swim up bar bartenders were the best. I love that nobody pushes you to do buy things excertions or gifts. Whatever you want is availabe just go and ask for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Very nice, modern resort

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: It was clean and modern.
Cons: Offer a buffet option for dinner. Serve more than one bite sized appetizers. And offer more on the late night menu for room service.
Location: We were there for a wedding so we really didn't do much nearby. We ate at a local restaurant called Scotchie's and had authentic Jamaican food.
Room was nice and big, lots of amenities-jetted tub, robes, slippers, shower with dual shower heads. The food was GOOD! Would have like more than a bite of food with the appetizers but they will bring more if you ask. Staff was friendly and polite. Check in was a breeze and the woman that helped my husband and I was very accommodating and helpful. I believe she even upgraded our room without telling us. There is lots to see and do right on the property. Plenty of shops and restaurants and did I say the food was delicious. The jerk chicken cart had the best chicken we ate during our stay. The coconut cart was always available for a cool refreshing drink that you could spice up with some rum. Several pools are available and we even saw a wedding while we were there. I would definitely recommend this resort and would stay here again or any Secrets Resorts in the world. Very classy and modern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Wonderful vacation.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Large comfy ocean view room. Great tasting food with lots of variety. Friendly, efficient staff, esp waiters Clive at breakfast and Roulan in Bordeaux restaurant.