Ratings based on 468 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Amazing resort & vacation!!!

Posted Mar 19, 2015
We went for our honeymoon/1 year anniversary. We loved the resort, the staff, the room & the service overall!!! The staff were absolutely TOP NOTCH!!! The food & drinks were excellent! The beaches and pools were beautiful!! We loved the span of the resort and loved taking walks around the resort, especially in the evenings and at night (absolutely beautiful and fun)!! The staff were the nicest & more helpful than anywhere we've EVER been!!! There were no biting insects around (and they usually love me so I'm pretty sure they weren't around when we were there). The beds were amazingly comfortable (even for me who only sleeps on Tempurpedic to avoid back pain from a chronic injury). The view was spectacular (even though we ended up on the 3rd floor when we had requested the 5th). The only negative thing we can say, has nothing to do with the resort itself. Some people may find this problem a plus!!! Many of the guests were quite stuck-up/snobby. Who goes on vacation to Jamaica with that attitude? The attitude began daily at dinnertime when people were fully clothed and many wearing "semi-formal wear." Many of the guests looked unhappy at night (looking past the attitude): the women looked annoyed (impossible to please), and the men looked overwhelmed by trying to please their significant others, to no avail. It was sorta sad! We tried to stay away from this crowd to make our stay pleasurable. That plan worked very well for us!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Wonderful place for a wedding

Posted Mar 17, 2015
We had a wonderful time. The beach is gorgeous and the pool area was beautiful. We stayed at the St james but next will try the wild orchid side. Loved the spa and the gym facilities
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice... but flawed

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Nice rooms. Good food. Great beach. Mostly good service.
Cons: What's so hard about having a non-smoking beach area? If you have rules, enforce them or don't have them. Buy a manual or electric hedge trimmer.
Great beaches, rooms, and food. Staff was mostly well intended and helpful, with a few exceptions of indifference. Three big issues that fell far short of a good experience. For three days we were treated to loud, noisey, smelly gas powered hedge trimming equipment just a few feet from us for hours at a time. Not quite the peaceful beach experience we hoped for. The second issue was smoking. While the rooms and buildings are smoke free, nothing else is. Outside meals, beach time, and even the use of our veranda were ruined by thoughtless smokers. Designate a non-smoking beach area! And finally, they have elegant dress codes for the restaurants...all of which they ignore. We had dinner at the classiest place, sitting next to a guy in a Metallica tee shirt, camo shorts, and flip flops. And he was better dressed than his partner. And the discount coupons come at the cost of hearing a sales pitch for a vacation club.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Excellent resort!

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Their friendliness. The food was excellent and the beach and the pool area was very clean and well maintained.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location was awesome.
This was our first time to Jamaica and this resort made us feel so welcome. The staff was very friendly and so accommodating of anything you wanted. We would definitely recommend this resort to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom detroit, mi

Posted Mar 7, 2015
The hotel was amazing the food was good and the drinks. Stayed for 3 nights and the resort staff was friendly and gave us really good clubs to party at off the resort. The first night we went to pier 1, that club was fun and packed and it off the water. The shuttle from the hotel waited for us outside the clubs to make sure we made it back safely. Overall I would go back to this resort. Five stars here!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Absolutely Stunning!!

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Wonderful staff, great food, beautiful beach. My room was very clean as we're the resort grounds. I didn't get a chance to get in the pool, but the beautiful beach made up for that. The food was exquisite!!! Luxury at best!!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Expected more....

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Entertainment.
Cons: Service needs to be improved.
Location: small beach.
We were greeted warmly by the Bellman (a really positive first impression) and then ushered to the Reception area (a small dark incense filled room) where we found ourselves waiting for someone to acknowledge us... If you enjoy a grand lobby... there is nothing of the kind at St. James or Wild Orchard. Service overall in the resort was slow...lines for every restaurant and even when we were seated we often found ourselves getting up and going to the bar ourselves rather than continue waiting. Service was also very inconsistent... some of the staff treated us royally... some treated us with indifference, some were borderline rude. If you are a beach walker... this is not your resort...the photos are misleading. It is a very small beach. On the upside... the grounds are very well kept, the spa treatments were very nice, our suite (we were oceanfront, preferred club) was clean and comfortable. The bed very comfortable at the end of the day. The entertainment at the piano bar every evening was wonderful (the absolute highlight for me at this resort) and there were lots of activities (pool table, ping pong, bocce etc) available when you need to get out of the midday sun. We had a good week but I would not go back to this resort nor would I recommend it to others.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Logistics need improvement

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The staff was at least very friendly and accommodating.
Cons: The food could have been much better and the logistics in getting guests welcomed to dinner could have been better handled. Waited in line too much.
Location: There was a lot to do nearby including plenty of excursions but the transportation fees were quite exorbitant. It was absolutely too much.
This stay was one mistake after another. Upon arrival, check in was botched due to us being placed in the wrong room. We had to wait about 45 minutes to get moved to the correct room. The room itself was much better with a great view but the shower facilities were not well planned out because water leaked onto the bathroom floor after showers. The resort was well located close to the beach but we spent a lot of time looking for any seating on the beach or by the pool. The food and drinks at the restaurant was spotty at best. Some of the restaurants were very good and others were horrible. I felt like very little thought was placed on the food being served to the guests. All told, I was very disappointed by the resort for the amount we paid. I expected much more than I received.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bien trop américaniser pour nous européen

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Hotel tres grand et bétonné .. Au mois de février pas de piscine chauffée dans un 5 étoile à moins de débourser 80€ / jour pour un couple pour se retrouver en privilège club . La nourriture faite à base de produits congelés , pas de poissons frais alors que vous êtes à un mètre de la mer .. Fast-food règne en maître .. . Tout fonctionne avec pourboire .. C'est dommage .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Great hotel, exceptional service

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Everything! We were especially impressed by the professionalism of the staff.
Cons: Only suggestion is pool temperature.....water was colder than the ocean.
Location: Close to the airport which was nice! Many water activities available right at the hotel.
We were a bit hesitant to go with an all inclusive as we've never stayed at one before.....Secrets St. James, Montego Bay blew us away! The grounds were gorgeous, staff friendly and accommodating and the service was amazing. We stayed in an Ocean view Junior Suite which was perfect! Our rooms were cleaned and straightened twice a day. The food choices were great.....the portions were just right, not too big which is what all restaurants should do! We never had to wait to be seated. A nice variety of activity options....can't beat the pools and ocean being 20 feet away from each other! Couldn't get over how polite and pleasant all of the staff were, our U.S. hotel and restaurant staff should take some lessons from them! Piano bar was great as well as the nightly entertainment. Lots of colorful drink choices and we never had to leave our lounge chair to get them, that is unless we wanted to go to the swim up bar! We were made to feel like we were in paradise! We would absolutely consider going to another Secrets property and highly recommend staying at the St. James/Wild Orchid in Montego Bay!!