Ratings based on 447 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MI

Second Trip to Secrets St. James

Posted Jan 25, 2015
This resort is beautiful. Great food, people and entertainment. My first time at St. James was in Nov of 2014 and I returned in Jan of 2015. Everything was basically the same as last time however there were a couple of things that they need to update within the room I received. I had an oceanfront view room and the view was beautiful. However the bathroom shower (around the shower door and moldings) needs to be replaced instead of putting clear sealer around it to prevent water from leaking onto the floor. There were other areas in the room on walks and moldings that just need to be restored for presentation purposes...you can't just slop sealer on everything...after awhile it looks really tacky. The customers deserve alot more than that especially after paying their hard earned money...the visuals mean everything! There were also a couple of things that I was entitled to based on my VIP booking with Expedia...like a bottle of wine and cheese tray upon arrival. I never received the bottle of wine (this trip or my last trip). When I called, they told me that I had to order it from room service ...huh??? Upon arrival means waiting for me or already there in my room. I didnt have to order the cheese tray so why do I have to order the wine?? Other than those things...it was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel on a private beach

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: closeness to beach and facilities as well as choices of restaurants
Cons: better upkeep of bathrooms.
also very expensive hotel, the service has been great as well as the food although one waitress at one of the restaurant was rude
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom nyc

Perfect 4 day tropical escape!!

Posted Jan 4, 2015
4 nights 4 days. Perfect. We're a young couple and we're looking for something relaxing, romantic, and tropical. He hotel was beautiful and neutral and always smelled good. When we checked in we were offered an upgraded view - we asked the concierge to show us the view in the rooms we could choose from and she did with pleasure which made us much more inclined to take the upgrade. The room was a nice room with an insane view - worth every penny for the view alone. It's jamaica, it's humid, so the whole room and all our belongings were slightly damp but we basically has the balcony door open the whole time. The resort is lengthy but nothing massive like I read in some other reviews. No matter which building you stay in you are close enough to everything - the gym the pool the restaurants the lobby. There were no kids and it was a much more peaceful environment. The food wasn't terrible but it definitely wasn't 5 star. The beach was gorgeous even though small and there were plenty of activities. The hotel staff was lovely. There was almost always live music which was so much fun to listen and dance to every night. We never left the resort and never felt the need to. New Years eve dance party on the beach was awesome awesome awesome. I wish they provided airport transport. But we were more than pleased with everything else. Definitely an enjoyable vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stamford, Ct

Welcome surprise

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: The staff was so pleasant and attentive. The beach was beautiful.
Cons: The evening meals were just ok. The breakfast and lunch were great, though
Location: It is on Montego Bay with beautiful views of the ocean and soft sand beach. We never went outside the resort.
The outstanding feature of this resort is the enthusiast and extremely pleasant staff. This was an extremely restful vacation. I read some negative reviews of Secrets which were totally unfounded: It is physically beautiful, the staff do not demand tips (although we gave some on our own volition for the excellent service), it is clean. My take on Secrets is that it is an all inclusive resort as opposed to a village. Club med, for example, tries to make a community. You meet a lot of people at Club Med because you are encouraged to do things together. At Secrets, you have more privacy. I am not judging either model: I like Club Med, but I really liked Secrets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent choice

Posted Jan 3, 2015
We enjoyed our stay a lot. Staff was very friendly and committed to make our stay an exceptional experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Perfect resort

Posted Dec 30, 2014
This place was amazing. My only criticism would be it isn't as fun as experiencing Negril and 7mile beach which has a bit more flavor and Jamaican culture. Also, rge younger female staff were not as accommodating as the male staff. Overall we gad a wonderful time and would recommend this resort to others in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom indiana

End of year vacation

Posted Dec 27, 2014
This resort is beautiful. Had a wonderful time except for our mini fridge was leaking and not getting cold report it three times and still never got replaced. Tv dvd combo had a cd stuck in it didnt bother to report it considering the refrige didnt get replaced. Room was half cleaned some days. Staff at alott of the bars and restaurants were rude. We had a good time all in all and made the best of it. Still would return and recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Relaxing getaway

Posted Dec 24, 2014
This was our 2nd trip to Secrets St James and it was a great trip although the weather didn't cooperate we had a great time .Waking up and it's 7 degrees in December can you really complain but it did rain a couple of days.The hotel and the staff are amazing my only complaint would be the selection of food at the restaurants it's the same every day no changes.But you do have different ones to try so that was great.Beach area is a little small but you still get great drink service and they cook jerking chicken right there in the area and it was the highlight of lunch time .Overall we had a great time to relax and be pampered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Great location. People are truly the best. They have over 7 restaurants. Preferred not preferred experience was a bit awkward
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Beautiful Resort

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Overall our experience was great! The food was good, drinks were awesome, the grounds were so clean and beautiful, comfortable and clean room and the staff was AMAZING! They were so friendly, always making you laugh and anything you needed it was yours! Kind of sad to see most people dont tip. That type of service was really above and beyond! Thanks to Kevin, Oneal, Hennesy, Marlando, and Godfry thats only a few to name. Cant wait to go back!