Ratings based on 487 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Mixed feelings

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: The hotel pool and beach areas were great. The beach is small but there are multiple beaches. The water was very calm and clear especially in the am.
Cons: Better desert options in room service, Better beds, more pool floats, nicer shower, better service at pool and beach.
Location: We didn't end up leaving the resort
There a many many all inclusive resorts in Montego Bay. We selected this one based on the beach, number of restaurants and the rooms. We had some good experiences and some bad. The resort is in good shape and very clean. The restaurants all had great food for dinner including the jerk chicken cart (still missing it). The seating process for breakfast and lunch was chaotic. There are plenty of tables but you still have to wait about 10 minutes in line to be seated. Did have some issues: 1.) ROOM - The clock time would reset every time we left the room. The shower was dark and the shower head needed to be cleaned and better water pressure would be nice. The beds were way to soft, we would sink slowly into the middle every night. We order pillows from the pillow menu but it took 2 days to receive them. We only tried room service one and it was a total fail. After waiting an hour we called and they said sorry we are out of what you ordered. 2.) STAFF - They were very friendly but unlike some resorts where tipping in not allowed, Secrets does allow it and it seems expected. Most of the time we were at the beach or pool all we took was our room key and it just so happened that we had to get our own drinks from the bar instead of a server taking our order. They would just skip by some people and take orders from others. 3.) RESORT - Had everything you would need. All kinds of food and drinks. Top shelf liquor runs out quick so get it when you can. Visit the soft service machine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus, OH

Wonderful Resort

Posted May 26, 2015
This was one of the best resorts we have been too. My husband and I go on two resort trips per year and we are up to 21 resorts in the Caribbean/Mexico. This resort was definitely in our top 3 trips ever. We stayed on the St. James side of the resort. It is connected to the Wild Orchid but I am not sure of the difference. The two resorts shared beaches, pools, restaurants, spa, therefore I wouldn’t think it makes a difference which one you pick. The grounds were beautiful with tons of flowers. The pools were great, as was the hot tub. The beaches were beautiful. We never had an issue finding a place to lay out. The water was very clear and you could see your toes even when the water was up to your head. The food was outstanding! All the dinner choices were a la carte restaurants and very romantic. The breakfast buffet was fabulous, and the lunch choices at the poolside restaurants were delicious. The employees were wonderful and friendly. We were very impressed with the service. We overhead someone comment that the service was slow, but that did not bother us because everyone was so friendly and welcoming. The cultural pace in Jamaica is not as fast as Mexico, so there is a more laid back atmosphere. There had to have been more service people per guest because there was always someone to ask anytime you needed something.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New york

Nice room, very slow bar service

Posted May 26, 2015
Had a great time. Small intimate beach, friendly staff, beautiful and clean room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff was great.

Posted May 25, 2015
Our vacation experience was amazing!!! Will definitely return.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom canada

This is not 4 and1/2 stars

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: The beach was nice. Bar guys were on the most part friendly though I had to wait a long time for a drink
Cons: Up to management. But I stayed the same week at a 4 star that was twice as nice as this one.
Location: Location was a bit hidden. Road to hotel had pot holes and lots of pavement bumpers
Room too cold. Tv too far to see from couch bathroom didn't flush. Request to change room not accepted. Room was still not cleaned by 3 pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom atl

Hopped from patio to beach

Posted May 16, 2015
Truly magnificent and wonderful!!! I am still daydreaming about my paradisic trip. You just can't beat the hospitality that Jamaicans bring. Isn't Jamaica known as one of the top 5 destined nations to visit because of the people, the culture, the hospitality and their service? I have no doubts about this statement after my visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Take me back to Secrets St. James in Montego Bay

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: STAFF STAFF STAFF AND GROUNDS AND ROOM, BEACH, ETC., ETC.,
Cons: some OF THE RUDE GUESTS
Location: No need to leave the premises....
This is the first time I have been to Jamaica...and the property was magnificent....the grounds and greenery were so well taken care of AND THE STAFF WAS UNBELIEVABLE ...THEY COULD NOT DO ENOUGH FOR ME AND I DO PLAN ON GOING BACK....my only problem is that guests use the excuse that it is "all inclusive" and do not tip the staff...which makes me very unhappy...these people work hard and deserve tips...I find the people that demand the most are the ones that do not tip. I will only book through Expedia since they give me the best service and there is never a problem with flights, room, etc. I am a senior and take these trips on my own so the kindness of the staff is always important...my room was magnificent and I loved the Jacuzzi in my bathroom...can't wait to see all the wonderful people again at the end of the year
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort & excellent staff!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
My husband and I went to secret at James for our 5 year anniversary. Jamaica and the resort exceeding my expectations. The food was good, the drinks were awesome, and the atmosphere was great! The staff including glen at the pool bar and Leo were on point with drinks and service. The entertainment team including Mello, Sparks, and Baby Boy were there to make sure everyone had a great time. I will definitely go back and recommend the resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas, NV

Best vacation ever!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: the location
This place has thought of everything and the staff is so friendly. So many choices for food, and activities. May only complaints are that the mini bar was not always restocked, the gym is small and gets really busy in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Caulette , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: It is great that you loved the variety of food and activities as well as the general friendliness of staff. We do aim to provide the best and so, your positive feedback is much appreciated. Your feedback about the fitness centre and mini bar have also been noted so that improvements can be made in these areas. Thanks again for having visited our resort and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Kind regards, Christina Smith eConcierge Assistant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom G

Home away from home..

Posted Apr 11, 2015
First time to Jamaica although family comes from there and I felt as if I've been there several times with how warm and hospitable they are. Welcomed with " Rum punch" and a cool towel. Eat until your stomach hurts! My girlfriend and I went to 3 restaurants in one night! The rooms are gorgeous and the view is to die for. Several restaurants and bars within the resort as well as a mini bar within your room Once at the pool bar you MUST SEE GLENN OR LEO or your trip won't be the same! The liveliest and funniest bartenders I've ever encountered Only down side is the fact that if you need to see a nurse ( which my gf needed to for a heat rash) you have to pay 30 USD before they can even suggest something for you.. Great live entertainment and private beach Overall wonderful trip and will visit very soon!