Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa

Great week at Secrets St. James

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Very clean room, the grounds were manicured. The pools were impressively clean.
Cons: It would be helpful if they would reduce the cost of staying there.
Location: Only 15 minutes from Sangster airport. Catamaran cruises and visiting the town of Montego Bay.
Our first time at this resort and we were impressed with the oceanfront room (3509), the food at all the restaurants, the 3 beaches and the efficient and friendly staff. Nightly entertainment is worth watching.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Fun and nice

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: very pretty, , food was good not great all adults, close to airport, great staff, lots of entertainment
Cons: clear rooms better, make sure that the beer that is in the menu is available, get better wine, don't charge more for it
Location: we stayed on the property and relaxed
IT was good, the staff great! The view and location great, the amenities good. My dislikes was: not a big selection of food for room service unless you select the premium package. There premium alcohol is not so premium and the restaurants do not have AC. Its cooler outside and that's not very cool either. They offer dark beer but it's no where to be found, Tips are encouraged. I got a great deal for the trip it was under 3,000 for air(non stop) and hotel with transfers. If you have to pay more than that for 5 nights, choose another hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Simply Fantastic from start to finish!!!

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Seriously! This place is paradise! I stayed at the Secrets St. James Resort from 11/17/14 until 11/21/14 (Mom until Friday). I will review the following: Check In, Grounds, Hotel Room, Food and Staff. Check In: My room was not ready until 3pm however it didn't bother me at all. Upon arrival they give you a cold towel (once in the lobby) and a drink!!! The check in staff are wonderful and very professional. If your room is not ready, they will hold your bags for you so you can walk around the resort. I didn't get offered the "preferred side" because I think it was fully booked which worked perfect for me being my first time at the resort...I didnt want to start high. I wanted to experience a regular room to tell the difference. Grounds: The grounds are absolutely fantastic! They really take care of this property. There are always gardeners out trimming and making things look perfect! Everything is decorated very well with beautiful flowers and palm trees. The grounds are spotless. ..no dirt or trash anywhere! The beach is small but its PERFECT for sitting by the water to tan or swim. If you want to take long walks on the beach...they may not be the beach for you as this beach is filled with lounge chairs. Although its small...its JUST right!!! There are multiple side to the beach so there is variety. Hotel Room: Clean, spacious and you'll LOVE IT! The beds are VERY comfy!! Food: Excellent with MANY options!! Staff: PERFECT, Kind, professional and helpful!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

If you want nice beach go to Negril!

Posted Nov 21, 2014
We stayed in the preferred club, nothing special! They hide everything , you have to ask for everything and wait awhile! Premium drinks are not always there! The stuff are not very friendly! When you check in tehy take you from one desk to the other rigth away to sell you timeshare they called it unlimited vacation , its the same ! I would not go back, the Couples sweptaway in Negril much better, I wish I did go there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2014 by Caulette, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: Having had the chance to offer you our excellent service, it is disappointing that your experience was not reflective of our usual standard. Despite the fact that you did have some challenges, we do appreciate your feedback as this is one of the ways in which we are able to identify our weaknesses in order to improve on them. Though we are unable to change your initial experience after the fact, I do hope that you were able to enjoy some aspects of our resort. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Kind Regards, Christina Smith eConierge Assistant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ST james

Posted Nov 20, 2014
more than i expected I got great experience in JA.!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2014 by Caulette, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for having visited our lovely resort. I am pleased that what we had to offer exceeded your expectations and truly appreciate your review of your experience. Kind Regards, Christina Smith eConcierge Assistant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Large resort, good restaraunts.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
We stayed six days, nice break, very relaxing. Hung out by the pool. Did some sailing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lowell, MA

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Beautiful place,excellent food,easy check in, extremely friendly staff and just an overall very pleasant atmosphere. Highly recommended and will definitely go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2014
We were in Jamaica to attend a wedding atTreasurer Beach and stayed at Secrets for 2 nights before heading home. After being in a more remote area of the island, Secrets was a great way to end our trip. Food was great, staff friendly, loved the spa. And my husband enjoyed a game of golf.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Nice beach

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Great experience, will definitely be there again. Hotel staff was excellent and so was the food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Nice resort with all inclusive including wifi!

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Beach. Restaurants, Spa, room comfort and amenities.
Cons: Control your concierge for being too pushy and when they don't get want they want they should not build up animosity with their customers.
Location: Bob Marley museum, Negril, downtown St James street.
Loved it all! The concierge was a bit pushy with the time share toll but overall I recommend it.