Ratings based on 388 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful!!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Food was good could have been a little better
Hotel was Beautiful clean staff was great no complaints at all would go back again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Beautiful resort. For the most part there were no issues and most of the staff was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

All inclusive resort on the beach.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Wish we stayed longer than a week. Spoiled on all levels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Great place for a honeymoon! The staff was super friendly, and the entertainment staff was wonderful!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Truly Paradise

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Very clean and comfortable.
Cons: Everything was perfection.
Location: This trip was about relaxing so all of my time was spent at the Resort. There was really no need to leave.
Everything from arrival to departure was absolutley fabulous. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My expectations were far exceeded!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ma

Honeymoon

Posted Aug 5, 2014
My new husband and I honeymooned here and we're satisfied by our experience, not blown away. The staff overall was cordial but not very enthusiastic. There were a few who I'd say we're happy to be there however the majority seemed to care less that you were in front of them. I felt like asking for something was such an inconvenience. At one point we debated about doing a private candle light dinner, which by the way is outrageously expensive, and the menus were basically thrown at us across a table and the concierge person went back to typing away at the computer. Their saving grace is the pool, beach, and food especially the dinners. El portofino had probably the best lasagna I've ever eaten, we were not disappointed in that aspect. Overall, I honestly don't think I would revisit the resort. The room was comfy, the food was good, and the views great but the service was really lacking and no guest should feel like an inconvenience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Awful food and cocktails!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The beautiful beach!
Cons: Food, food, food!!!
First off, if you want to lose weight on a vacation this may be the perfect spot for you. My husband booked this vacation for my 40th birthday, having been to a few different all inclusive resorts in Cancun, we decided to give Jamaica a try. The fine dining restaurants were three stars at best! If you enjoy a good wine menu or top shelf cocktails, you will be very disappointed as well. Most of the staff was friendly, however, we did encounter more than one that seemed burdened by our questions or requests. Our only saving grace was that we decided to hire a driver and leave the resort for a day to visit Negril. The driver was very professional and the beaches were absolutely gorgeous!!! The spa was average, along with my facial. I did enjoy our room and the housekeeper did a nice job keeping it clean. I actually dreaded eating at the resort each day mainly because the selection was poor and the buffet items often looked old and wilted from sitting out for long periods of time. Happy to say I had the chance to visit Jamaica, but I will definitely not go back to Secrets!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was fabulous

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Location: Location was great. Close to airport. Many things to do in town but a taxi or tour ride required.
Hotel staff was fantastic. Hotel was beautiful in a great location. Food was very good for all inclusive. Would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Great hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
This was a girls trip to Jamaica. When we checked in we had to wait about 35 mins before our rooms were ready. However, one of my friends had to wait an hour and a half for her room and it wasn't all the way clean. During our stay my other friend room on the 2nd floor had her power go out. But overall the facilities were nice and the staff was helpful. I quickly found out if the patio door isn't complete shut air condition will not turn on. And if you turn the privacy light on they will never come to clean your room they won't even knock when they bring your room service. I would stay there again we had a blast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

pros & cons of St james

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The condition of the grounds and food choices are very good.
Cons: The front office staff does needs a lot of work in hospitality issues.
Location: Montego Bay is nearby and not recommended for visiting.
The grounds are excellent and the workers who maintain the grounds are wonderful. The front office staff were not very hospitable or personal and they did not follow through on any requests. They need a lot of work in this area. The restaurants and choices for food is very good and the drinks are good.