Ratings based on 1,855 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from California

one of the Island's best

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The Hotel was so great that we spent the whole week right there
Wonderful vacation- entertainment was Excellent. Would not hesitate to go back to Sunset Beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Nice place for kids

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Staff was nice and helpful, water activities, Spa, Spa, Spa.....
Cons: Room was muggy
Location: Stay away from Margiritaville, there drinks suck also and you have to pay top dollar for them. Also avoid the Palm no authentic Jamaican food
During checked-in we were told there is a $250 fine for smoking in the room & balcony. Balcony! OMG I never heard of that. There are only 2 designated smoking areas in the entire resort. The drinks suck, they even water down the Juices. I stopped drinking alcohol because there was no liquor inside. The activities, lazy river, water slide, paddle boat, snorkeling ect. GREAT! But if you don't return your towel there is a $15 charge. All food must be consumed in the restaurants, no eating in your rooms, no room service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NewYork

Decent Resort Close To The Beach

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Food Wasnt Great But It Was Decent, Too Many Flies Which I Didnt Like, Staff Was Very Accommodating, Free Activities Was Ok, Entertainment Was Nice. Overall From A 1-10 I Would Rate This Resort A 7.5
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLC, UT

This hotel is right on the beach!

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: We loved the entertainment staff and the accessibility to the swimming pool and the beach.
Cons: The taste and variety of the food need to be improved. Also there are too many rocks on the beach and takes away from the enjoyment.
Location: Zip lining at the mystic Mountain is a must! But DO NOT go to the Dunn’s River falls
This hotel is right on the beach! They have lots of lounging chairs and plenty of beach towels. We were pleasantly surprised that the hotel provides complementary water sports equipment including: snorkeling, kayaking, and windsurfing. There are 3 swimming pools and a lazy river. My 16 year old son enjoyed playing video games on the PlayStation 4. We had a blast, the staff was very nice (especially the entertainment staff) they could not do enough to make you happy. We do not like to have our room cleaned while we are staying at a hotel, so we asked for towels everyday and the maids were more than happy to bring us what we needed. The waitresses at the buffet were very nice and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nj

Not bad , not great

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Thought it would be a little nicer , didn't have much direction from the staff as of the activities etc. Was begged a lot for tips instead of it feeling like I had a choice . Food wasn't that great , never finished a plate .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Had a great time.

Posted Jun 28, 2015
My wife and I have stayed in 3 all inclusive places. We were a little underwhelmed when we went in our room in "A" tower, it was clean, just not "fancy". Request a room above the 1st floor as our view was of the roofline of the resort. We asked to be moved up and were happy with our view from the 5th floor after they moved us. All considered the room was fine as it was a clean place to sleep. We enjoyed the beach, the sand was clean, the water was clear, and there were plenty of beach chairs to lounge in. At no point did we feel crowded. We have stayed where the chairs were stacked multiple rows deep and your view was of other beach-goers, not so here, a single row of chairs that stretched the length of the beach. The drinks from the bar on the beach were decent. At first we were a little underwhelmed by the small plastic cups but we got over it. We later decided the towel system, small cups, etc were a successful effort on the part of management to minimize waste. The food was sufficient. We tried all three restaurants as well as the buffet and were happy with each of the meals we had. All things considered (price, location, etc) we had a great time. It was not 5 stars or super upscale, but for the price and time it was a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Great experience

Posted Jun 27, 2015
We had a great stay. Wish the beach was bigger but snorkeling was amazing. Food was exceptional. Air conditioner worked great. No complaints
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Sunset Beach Resort Review

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: The location is excellent and close to the airport. There are a lot of activities, if you want to take advantage of them.
Cons: Variety of food, attitudes of some of the staff, I.e., bartenders, registration personnel
Location: Zip lining tour was outstanding!!!
The hotel was older than others in Montego Bay and the concrete is cracking in some places. Construction was going on but stopped at a reasonable time. Some of the staff do not like their jobs and it shows. Luckily there are only a few of them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Wedding Anniversary

Posted Jun 23, 2015
It was very pleasant experience with so many things to do in the resort...also the tours they offer were great.. Did the Dunn's river fall and snorkel which was an amazing experience for my husband and I .. Staff at the hotel and everyone we encounter were very friendly people . I will definitely go back again and bring my kids.. This is a nice family resort as well as for a quick getaway romantic trip .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Too Restrictive

Posted Jun 23, 2015
They were way too restrictive on every thing bordering on stingy.