Ratings based on 1,800 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom NewYork

Great Getaway location if you have kids

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Bar on the pool.
Cons: Sit down dinners - We arrived late on Saturday and by Sunday 12:00pm we could not get reservations to any of the three choices available
Location: Margaritaville
All inclusive package was a plus, great place for kids to enjoy water park, pool, beach and water sports all at one location. The extras were expensive. Food was nothing to rave about, the beach BBQ was awesome. A lot of cocktails, however the quality of alcohol was not that great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom '

Experience

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Great place full of wonderful staff that really know how to make your stay fun and full of joy! Lots of excursions and opportunities to leave the resort and explore but also plenty of activities and games on the resort and great entertainment every night at dinner. Absolutely loved my visit and will be back for longer next time! Garcia, Dionne, and Tony were a few of our favorite bartenders. Great people, super nice!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa, USA

Good food, great reef snorkeling

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: It was not hours in the taxi from the airport like many resorts along the north coast. It's just through Montego Bay proper to the Freeport peninsula.
Cons: Self-service beer, like they have for the soda, or an additional bartender.
Location: It's close to a mile walk to the house boat restaurant, otherwise grab a cab to the "hip strip", other shopping or Scotchie's. Negril is a jaunt.
It was a very pleasant stay. Although, I'm not a fan of the "high-rise" experience due to inevitable waiting on the elevator, I enjoyed a great view from my west-side 9th floor room where I spent very little time. If you do a lot of trekking back to the room, a lower floor could more readily be accessed via the stairs? The resort was clean and the staff was friendly and efficient. (Most folks would agree that every resort could use "one more bartender"!) There's a water slide and "lazy river" that would be great if you had children in tow. There's a separate "family" pool which was where the "animation" staff hung-out. Two other pools are joined by a swim-up bar - oh, that delicate balance of chlorine and urine. Not for me, thanks! The food and the coffee was good and, of course, the Red Stripe was cold and on-tap. There's a lot of concrete on this resort. The beach was okay and there's a shallow reef a very short swim from shore that was awesome. This property is separated into two resorts, I stayed at the cheaper of the two, Sunset Beach. Guests at the pricier section could enjoy all offerings. What I could tell that I missed-out on was: Red Stripe in bottles, more restaurant choices and the guest rooms appeared to be in two story buildings. I didn't bother with the restaurants to which I had access and the buffet was very suitable. I'd go back there again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom brooklyn

Wonderfu

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Had a ball!! Want to visit again! Staff was very friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom michigan

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Very friendly staff ready to help Beautiful beach area. Kid friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

April Vacation

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: The hotel staff- every one of them! We didn't meet anyone who didn't have a smile on their face. We were always being asked if we needed anything.
Cons: The room and bathrooms are in need of an update. Bedding/pillows and blankets should be updated.
Location: We didn't leave the resort even though we had planned on it. There were theme nights that our families wanted to attend that made us stay.
We returned last night from a week's vacation at this resort. Initially we were a little disappointed with the look of the hotel and the fact that it is in need of an update (room décor, bedding, bathroom overhaul). But, I have to say the hotel staff did an amazing job with keeping our room and bathroom clean and smelling fresh. The hotel facility is managed by a wonderful staff of employees who appear to truly love their job. From the minute we walked in the lobby we felt welcomed. We read prior reviews that stated that the drinks were watered down and the food was terrible. We did not find that to be the case at all. In fact, some of the drinks that were made for us were too strong. We loved Tony and Clifton as our bartenders!! Hats off to the entertainment staff- we had many laughs each day as they involved guests in their daily list of activities. We were happy to say we witnessed the Sunset Beach staff's first loss in Flip Cup! Our kids- ages 9 to 15 met other kids their age and spent the day running from one activity to the other. In their eyes it was "the best vacation ever".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore

Right on beach

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: The location is nice and close to airport. Liked the catamaran, snorkeling and Kayaks they had to use. Paddle boats as well.
Cons: Customer service. I should not have had to ask 7 times for pillows, 2 different nights before they got delivered.
Location: It is located on the beach and about 1.5 hrs from Negril. Lots of activities at resort to do as well as tours you can take. Definately go into Negril
The hotel as a whole is good. I had to ask 7 times for 2 additional pillows and new set of towels. I was not happy about that. Food is good and entertainment as well. Great family place with water slides and lazy river.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando FL

Nice and freindly staff

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Clean, lots of food, drinks and activies.
Cons: More Beach towels to be available.
Location: Negril, Dunn River Falls, Magaritaville, Shopping tour, went into town the market.
It was amazing, had a great time. People were nice, everything was close by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2015
If I summarize, it started bad and ended positive. Standard Ocean View Room really does not mean a view of the ocean from the room. You have to come out in the balcony to get an ocean view. After reaching there we realized that what we call an Ocean View in many hotels we have stayed in is really called an "Ocean Front" Room at this resort. No shampoo/conditioner on day 1 and 2. No hot water in the shower for 2 days. The staff was prompt to come notice it and try to fix it. But we had to change our room on Day 3 of our 7 day stay in Jamaica. Beach and pool towel cards was a nuisance. Not sure why this has been put in place especially after the hotel provides a wrist band for all guests. On the positive side: Evening entertainment and food were great every day. We did not miss the Jamaican spirit while inside the all inclusive resort. Very convenient excursion and other trip bookings on site. Travel to and from the airport or tour sites was great - (comes at a cost) If you are not looking for something upscale and fancy, this hotel is fine for you. Otherwise explore elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Great food and atmosphere!

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: They offer tennis lessons! Tony, who was a professional player, taught us some great moves! Very nice guy! Lot's of pools and beach to enjoy!
Cons: having no coffee maker or fridge in our room was unfortunate.
Location: no need to go anywhere but if you want to there are many fun excursions. We took a party catamaran trip which was a lot of fun!
We loved all of the included activities! The food was plentiful and very tasty! The staff was helpful. I wish we would have known to bring big drinking mugs along because they serve drinks in tiny kid size glasses. The atmosphere was beautiful! Highly recommend this resort for the whole family!